We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid room 222”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sterling Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avoid room 222”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I arrived late on a Friday evening, and the check-in went without a hitch and the receptionist was very friendly. I walked into room 222 and upon walking in the room looked lovely, until I went all the way into the room and there was a very loud noise . This noise was so loud that standing by the bed you could actually feel the floor vibrations. I'm not one to normally complain but I knew there was no way I would be able to sleep with this noise. It was like having a freight train or airport right beside the hotel.

I went down to the reception and asked to move, he explained they were fully booked and that they couldn't move me that night but they would send someone to the roof and see if they could fix the problem, ( the furnace?) I said that would be appreciated. He was very friendly and came to the room and acknowledged that this was a big problem and told me that he could move me the next day and that this has happened before and that it usually stops around 11pm. I'm not sure why it could, but I didn't have much choice at that point. He said that he was very sorry and that the manager would acknowledge this and do something about it.

Let's just say the noise never stopped and would constantly change so I couldn't get any rest. I went out to the couch and read my book just to get some quiet. It was so bad it gave me a headache. It was a horrible, so avoid this room! I did get a new room the next day and it was great!! I do realize the floors are squeaky and somewhat warped, but both rooms were very clean and looked great. I feel sorry for the person who got that room the next night.

If you have any problems, forget about hearing from the manager. There was not even an acknowledgement for the inconvenience. I understand I had a great deal through Group On but considering I would have rather stayed home the first night it really was not a good deal.

All in all I would recommend the hotel if you can avoid room 222. Also the hotel restaurant AG was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Britnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    389
    145
    56
    44
See reviews for
51
1,301
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Amazing hotel, unique decor & wonderful service! This was our second stay within 3 months since we enjoyed it so much. The couples massage at the spa is a must!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I should have known from the call I placed to book the hotel. I asked the woman who answered the phone where the acommodation prices were listed on the website. Her response was that she was really busy and I should look on the website(?!). I explained that I was already on the website and couldn't find them and she said "I don't have time for this right now, call back later".

This was our second time at Sterling. The first was fantastic and that's why we went back. Unfortunately there was a problem with loudly squeaking vents in our room on the second floor so we asked that it be looked into while we were having a spa treatment. After the treatment we found nothing had been done and had to chase down someone and ask. Apparently there had been a shift change so nothing was done. The manager said he would show us another room but all he did was send someone up with keys to a room with exactly the same problem. After some arguing we ended up in a room on the first floor but were told we would have to move for our second night.

There were also issues with the spa - they ended up giving us two seperate treatments by the same person when we were each supposed to have our own, so we both received a half-assed job (the mud wrap consisted of 5 minutes of slapping some mud on about 3/4 or my arms and legs and a bit on my back and a 5 minute scalp massage - not worth $120!). When we spoke with the manager prior to having these services we were told to go down to the spa and they weere calling someone else in. We would not have gone had we known they would have one person do both services. And they had the nerve to charge us full price for this! We were also supposed to get a %15 discount on spa services and this was a bit of a hassle because the spa said we could speak to the manager and the manager told us to speak to the next manager the following day.

The main issue we had, was that if someone had been apologetic or actually looked like they cared about us, we would have had a different experience. We just found that the staff were dismissive, unhelpful, and did not care about our needs, (or even what we paid for) at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great hotel! Doesn't look like much from the outside and doesn't have too much going on around it, but it is definitely worth it! No view of the falls from the room, but once you see them, do you really need to see them from the room? We were there when it was fairly cold so it wasn't close enough to things to walk, but I think if the weather was nice it wouldn't be a bad walk to most of the attractions (not the falls.) If I went again I would definitely stay here again - hands down! Loved the shower (although the steam shower wasn't quite for me.) The room was very clean and I loved the fireplace. The bed was pretty hard so I understand the others' complaints. My boyfriend and I both loved the bed and slept very well so I guess it's just what you prefer.

*note* We did stay in the off season. I think things are always better then. :)

Room Tip: Loved room 215!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addicted2trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Have stayed here a few times now, and had a chance to try different rooms. The steam shower is fantastic. The breakfast is a nice touch. This is a nice relaxing quiet spa like hotel, but has the benefit of being within walking distance to all the hectic touristy stuff of Niagara Falls. Highly recommended for couples and anyone looking for a relaxing quick getaway from the city

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zelienople, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just returned from 3 night stay. Bought a 2 night voucher from Sniquieaway and added another night. This place is very uniquie, with each room being different from the other. Our room 211 was very nice and spacious with a king sized bed, fireplace, a jacuzzi big enough for 2 and a wonderful rain shower!!! Wet bar and a refridgerator that worked. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay this is the place to be, when we were there it seemed to be mostly adult couples. The staff were all very personal, courteous and friendly!!!

Did not have time to eat in the AG restaurant, but will try to make time on our next visit since it is ranked #1 Restaurant in Ontario!!!

Just a short walk to all the attractions of the falls area.

My boyfriend suprised me with a 4 hour limo ride to the nearby wineries of Niagara on the Lake!!!! Which I do highly recommend taking the short drive to NOTL definitely a must see with all the wineries, quaint shoppes, and eateries!!!!

I recommend this Hotel if you are looking for a personal, relaxing, quiet, unique place to stay the is different for the ordinary hotel chain.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shellshock18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Sterling Inn. We stayed in a beautiful room on the first floor with a steam shower. Boy was that heavenly! We didn't get a chance to eat in their restaurant but the menu looked great! The only problem we noticed (the NEXT day) was that our sheets had some kind of stain on them and the comforter had a small hole in it. The breakfast in bed was so-so, nothing to write home about. Everything else was awesome and we'd still come back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCsMoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.5 km away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
1.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.5 km away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Property: Sterling Inn & Spa
Address: 5195 Magdalen St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn & Spa Niagara Falls, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing