We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
White Oaks Conference Resort & Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Landing Inn(Queenston)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
WeatherPine Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$364
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Landing(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince of Wales(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$261
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Oaks B&B(Niagara-on-the-Lake)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Colonel Butler Inn(Niagara-on-the-Lake)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
215
10
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
10
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmy husband and ieggs benedictwine tourperfect hostsgreat beddinner reservationsrelaxing staybreakfast was amazingthe main streetcharming b bthe location is perfectgreat weekendhowiehowardwineriesnotlsuggestions
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 227 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Happy Howard is always excited to assist with recommendations. Service was always with a smile and always took the extra step for calling for restaurant reservations, even to drive us to our first winery, after we missed our tour shuttle, which was much appreciated!

Location is 2 blocks from main shopping street.

Breakfast was delicious! Howard and Yolanta made me an eggs benedict lover!

Thank you for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah201173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Historic Lyons House for the second time...and we definitely plan to visit again! The B&B has an excellent location, is beautifully decorated and is always meticulously cleaned. However, the best reason to stay at the Lyons House is the hospitality of its owners, Howard and Jolanta.

We first stayed at the Lyons House during Niagara-on-the-Lake's Ice Wine Festival. Howard and Jolanta warmly welcomed us into their home and provided excellent advice about restaurants and wineries in town. They were extremely friendly, helpful and flexible (for example, breakfast was served on our schedule, not theirs). On our last morning, they showed us videos from NOTL's first Diner en Blanc, and we booked our next stay almost immediately.

In our second stay, we saw that Howard and Jolanta's friendliness, hospitality and flexibility are the rule at Lyon's House, not the exception. As always, our room and the common areas of the house were extremely well-appointed, well-maintained and clean. Howard once again served up fantastic breakfasts on our schedule. And as before, he provided us coupons for free tastings and tours at local wineries. Best of all, Howard and Jolanta invited us to join them in their garden for a pre-dinner gathering before the Diner en Blanc. While it's common for B&B owners to invite guests into their homes, rarely do they invite them to spend time with their friends. We were honored to attend their gathering and had a wonderful time.

Finally, after the Diner en Blanc...and after we had retired for the evening...Howard actually washed the dishes that we had brought from home for the dinner. He certainly didn't need to do that. But it is typical of the warmth and friendliness of both hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocketMan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our stay at Historic Lyons House B&B was fantastic. It was like combining the best of the best - food, hospitality, tour guide, location and accommodations!!.

The hosts (Howard & Jolanta) were very helpful in organizing our days in Niagara-on-the-Lake with great advice and must do activities. Strongly recommend you check in prior to organizing anything!!
The breakfasts where great with a different meal for the four days we stayed there. The presentations and flavours of the meals where 5 stars.

As far as the location, walking distance to the main shopping, areas, theaters and resturants. It was great to leave the theater and just walk less than 10 mins to the room. The room where spotless and very well decorated with historic furnishings. The right size to move around and clean up.

We would recommend the place without a doubt. We would re-book if back in the area!!

Room Tip: Sir John was the best room!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJGrixti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuddy, Owner at Historic Lyons House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed having you at our B&B and we are happy you had a great stay in Niagara on the Lake. Although Calgary is far away, we hope to see you sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We loved our time in Niagara on the Lake and the wonderful stay at the Lyons House was memorable. Howard and Jolanta are a very special couple who were very helpful, provided great recommendations re: restaurants, activities, itineraries and everything Niagara. The house is very comfortable and impeccably maintained. The breakfast was superb and will definitely go back!

Very importantly, we came as boyfriend and girlfriend and left as an engaged couple- thanks for the lovely location recommendation for his proposal and the beautiful congratulations after!

Very charming place, well located and just lovely :)

Room Tip: Ours was the St Jonh's suite- beautifully furnished with a lovely cosy feel
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuddy, Owner at Historic Lyons House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for your review of Historic Lyons House and congratulation again for you engagement.
We wish you a happy life together and prosperous future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our stay at Historic Lyons house B&B was beyond anything we expected! We weren't expecting the 5 star breakfasts we recieved every morning, or the exceptional friendliness and charm that our hosts espoused! The decor in this B&B was just in and of itself a piece of art! We are most definitely without a doubt referring family and friends and eager to return for our next trip to Niagara on the Lake! Thank you again for making out stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ange548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuddy, Owner at Historic Lyons House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for reviewing Historic Lyons House. For sure you can meet many interesting people in Bed and Breakfasts. Meeting these people is on of the reasons we love to operate our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews