We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Lyons House
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Historic Lyons House is a beautiful B & B that we will stay at again! Jolanta and Howard are wonderful hosts full of great information about Niagara-on-the-Lake. Howard gave us valuable advice as to where to eat and provided insights to many of the vineyards in the area. THANKS!

Room Tip: Room # 1 has an en suite bathroom....that's where we stayed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAPAJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Happy Howard is always excited to assist with recommendations. Service was always with a smile and always took the extra step for calling for restaurant reservations, even to drive us to our first winery, after we missed our tour shuttle, which was much appreciated!

Location is 2 blocks from main shopping street.

Breakfast was delicious! Howard and Yolanta made me an eggs benedict lover!

Thank you for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah201173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Historic Lyons House for the second time...and we definitely plan to visit again! The B&B has an excellent location, is beautifully decorated and is always meticulously cleaned. However, the best reason to stay at the Lyons House is the hospitality of its owners, Howard and Jolanta.

We first stayed at the Lyons House during Niagara-on-the-Lake's Ice Wine Festival. Howard and Jolanta warmly welcomed us into their home and provided excellent advice about restaurants and wineries in town. They were extremely friendly, helpful and flexible (for example, breakfast was served on our schedule, not theirs). On our last morning, they showed us videos from NOTL's first Diner en Blanc, and we booked our next stay almost immediately.

In our second stay, we saw that Howard and Jolanta's friendliness, hospitality and flexibility are the rule at Lyon's House, not the exception. As always, our room and the common areas of the house were extremely well-appointed, well-maintained and clean. Howard once again served up fantastic breakfasts on our schedule. And as before, he provided us coupons for free tastings and tours at local wineries. Best of all, Howard and Jolanta invited us to join them in their garden for a pre-dinner gathering before the Diner en Blanc. While it's common for B&B owners to invite guests into their homes, rarely do they invite them to spend time with their friends. We were honored to attend their gathering and had a wonderful time.

Finally, after the Diner en Blanc...and after we had retired for the evening...Howard actually washed the dishes that we had brought from home for the dinner. He certainly didn't need to do that. But it is typical of the warmth and friendliness of both hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RocketMan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our stay at Historic Lyons House B&B was fantastic. It was like combining the best of the best - food, hospitality, tour guide, location and accommodations!!.

The hosts (Howard & Jolanta) were very helpful in organizing our days in Niagara-on-the-Lake with great advice and must do activities. Strongly recommend you check in prior to organizing anything!!
The breakfasts where great with a different meal for the four days we stayed there. The presentations and flavours of the meals where 5 stars.

As far as the location, walking distance to the main shopping, areas, theaters and resturants. It was great to leave the theater and just walk less than 10 mins to the room. The room where spotless and very well decorated with historic furnishings. The right size to move around and clean up.

We would recommend the place without a doubt. We would re-book if back in the area!!

Room Tip: Sir John was the best room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJGrixti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuddy, Owner at Historic Lyons House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed having you at our B&B and we are happy you had a great stay in Niagara on the Lake. Although Calgary is far away, we hope to see you sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We loved our time in Niagara on the Lake and the wonderful stay at the Lyons House was memorable. Howard and Jolanta are a very special couple who were very helpful, provided great recommendations re: restaurants, activities, itineraries and everything Niagara. The house is very comfortable and impeccably maintained. The breakfast was superb and will definitely go back!

Very importantly, we came as boyfriend and girlfriend and left as an engaged couple- thanks for the lovely location recommendation for his proposal and the beautiful congratulations after!

Very charming place, well located and just lovely :)

Room Tip: Ours was the St Jonh's suite- beautifully furnished with a lovely cosy feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuddy, Owner at Historic Lyons House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for your review of Historic Lyons House and congratulation again for you engagement.
We wish you a happy life together and prosperous future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our stay at Historic Lyons house B&B was beyond anything we expected! We weren't expecting the 5 star breakfasts we recieved every morning, or the exceptional friendliness and charm that our hosts espoused! The decor in this B&B was just in and of itself a piece of art! We are most definitely without a doubt referring family and friends and eager to return for our next trip to Niagara on the Lake! Thank you again for making out stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ange548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuddy, Owner at Historic Lyons House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thank you for reviewing Historic Lyons House. For sure you can meet many interesting people in Bed and Breakfasts. Meeting these people is on of the reasons we love to operate our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have stayed at countless B&B's and this has to rate among the best. The hosts, Jolanta and Howard, were friendly, warm and very helpful with any questions we had. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. The Lyons House is about 2 1/2 blocks from the center of town, an easy walk to the shops and restaurants. But, best of all, the breakfasts were amazing. One morning we had eggs Benedict and croissants that were to die for; another morning it was light as a feather blueberry pancakes and bacon and another morning, along with some wonderful omelets, there were outstanding raisin scones. Also each morning began with a fruit salad, or yogurt and fruit or blueberries that were sweeter than any I have tasted. All of this was eaten in a beautifully decorated dining room in a charming old home. We were fortunate too that our fellow guests were all very interesting and friendly people, some Canadians, some from overseas.

It was a great experience at a terrific B&B. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sneaks_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.6 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 16 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
503 reviews
0.4 km away
Post House Inn
Post House Inn
#10 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
335 reviews
0.3 km away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#81 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#45 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
232 reviews
0.6 km away
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
254 reviews
1 km away
Highbrook Bed and Breakfast
Highbrook Bed and Breakfast
#25 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Lyons House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Lyons House

Address: 8 Centre St. | P.O. Box 1285, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $262 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Lyons House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lyons House offers fine luxurious amenities, warm hospitality and delicious food. Unique to Historic Lyons House are a grand parlour and dining room with fireplaces and original art created by Niagara artist Linda Hankin. We are central in a district of historic houses, galleries, theatres, boutique shops and fine restaurants. Should you decide to stay in our bed and breakfast nothing would please us more than to have you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Historic Lyons House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Lyons House Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing