We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of heaven...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Read House

Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Side of house showing deck area with 2 BBQ's Living room with Gas fire and flat screen TV, Free Cable and DVD Player With Films for a Cozy Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Front of Cottage - Free wifi in the Cottage
Side of house showing deck area with 2 BBQ's
Living room with Gas fire and flat screen TV, Free Cable and DVD Player With Films for a Cozy Night
Kitchen/Dining room
Queen Bedroom 1
Queen Bedroom 2
Twin Room with 2 Single Beds (Bedroom 3)
Upstairs Bathroom Whirlpool Bath and Seperate Shower
Ground floor Washroom with shower
Side of Cottage and Driveway
Shops down the Main High Street in Niagara on The Lake
Niagara On The Lake Main Street
Red Grapes from Local Winery a Short Drive away!
Konzelmann Winery, The Read House Guests enjoying a free tour and taste
Ice Wine and Chocolates!
Niagara on the Lake Ice Wine Festival
1812
1812 War Celebrating 200 years of peace
Fort George
The General Brock Monument
Niagara Falls (Short Drive away around 20 Minutes)
Historical Famous St Marks Church
The Read House can arrange Weddings through Konzelmann Winery the only lake front Winery!
View from Niagara on the lake to the USA
Niagara On The Lake In Full Bloom
The Shaw Festival Theatre
The Court House - Shaw Theartre
The Royal George (Shaw) Theartre
General Simcoe (Founder of Niagara on the lake)
10% Discount to all CDN, UK and US Military
Cleaning the New French Oak Barrels at Knozelmann estate Winery
Food and Wine Paring at The Read House We come to you!!! See our Web Page for prices.
London Bus Tours in Niagara On The Lake and Horse Drawn Carrage Rides
Enough Said, Get away From those Kids You Deserve it Weekend !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KBenne17
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven...”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Comfortable and well located house in a beautiful town set us up for a great start to the Canadian leg of our summer holiday.
This town is so quaint you feel as though you have travelled back in time. People so friendly and helpful noone more so than the house owner who visited and gave us great tips on where to eat and places to visit.
The house is comfortable and adequately equipped. Beds were great and we all slept well. One of the double rooms was a little snug when you had the suitcases in the room but we were only there for a few days so no real problem.
Places that are must visits from here - obviously the Falls (you will be so relieved that you are staying in Niagra on the Lake and not in Niagra as that is really over commercialised by comparison), the vineyards, Golf club for lunch on the veranda and the Christmas shop!
Be prepared for shops and eateries closing early....
A great place to stay for a chilled holiday...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Stairs a bit steep when carrying cases
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lillious
New Hartford, New York
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for better”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Simon and Claire make sure that you have everything you need to enjoy their lovely home. Check in was a breeze. Home was very well organized with everything you could possibly need. We immediately enjoyed the outdoor deck that was right off the kitchen. The front living room was inviting and very comfortable.
Having a bathroom on the main floor and second floor made it very easy to accommodate the three of us. All bedrooms were upstairs with very comfortable beds and oh so quiet!
In 8 minutes you can walk right to the center of town which is as lovely as a painting.
We enjoyed every minute in this beautiful home and would return in a snap!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly owner
Liked least: Nothing-was perfect for our needs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Thank You for your Kind Words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelly071
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here recently for 3 nights and we loved the town which was 10 minutes easy walk with lovely shops etc. The house was more than big enough for 6 of us and the owner was very helpful. It had air con which was a bonus in the Summer heat. The house was clean with no problems. There is a public pool within walking distance which the children enjoyed. The golf club had a lake side restaurant that was very good. Thanks for a lovely stay

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Thank You for your kind Words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wburns77
2 reviews
“Absolute beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful stay. The house is gorgeous, and very clean. Simon the owner was most accommodating, making sure we had everything we needed in advance. The house is also in a great location - close by to convenient stores, Tim Horton's, to the Zoom Leisure Bike Tour company & so much more. We felt so cozy in this place, and the beds are really comfortable too! I would highly recommend booking The Read House! :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Thank you for your Kind Words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
London, Canada
2 reviews
“A really lovely home away from home!”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

From the very first phone call we experienced beyond excellent care from our hosts Simon and Claire Bentall. Our expectations were exceeded when we arrived at Read House. A beautiful home with more than ample room for us, well-appointed and very cozy. The linens are decadent and our only regret is that we did not stay longer. We have now found our new 'favourite' in Niagara-on-the-Lake with the most superb location and hope to return in the summer of 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrific space and lovely layout of the home.
Liked least: We did not dislike anything.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Thank You for your kind Words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tchase123
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My girlfriends and I spent another relaxing weekend at the read house. Great location - close to the shops and great restaurants.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSulewski
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time in a great location”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a great time staying at the Read House. Clean, neat and very comfortable beds. The house in located close to town that encourages you to walk and explore. We also enjoyed the free Complementary wine tastings at several of the wineries- Thank you Simon. The Shaw Festival was the excuse to go to Niagara on the Lake, but the Read House made us feel like part of the community.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable warm feeling of the house
Liked least: Stairs going up
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing