We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Prince of Wales

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prince of Wales
Certificate of Excellence
Ancaster, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have visited the Prince of Wales Hotel in NOTL several times over the past few years and have always had an amazing visit. The staff is attentive and friendly, the rooms are beautiful and the food is incredible. We also visited the spa at the Pillar and Post - another of the Vintage Hotels - and as usual, had a relaxing, invigorating visit.
We would highly recommend any of the Vintage Hotels for those looking for a romantic getaway in the picturesque Niagara on the Lake.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBurke96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    264
    127
    61
    15
See reviews for
209
969
15
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from a great weekend at Niagara on the Lake. We stayed at one of the Vintage hotels, the Prince of Wales, there are four or more of them under the Vintage banner and you can dine around if you like. My husband's birthday is the end of march so we usually try to spend it in a place that may be too busy in the summer time this is our second or third in the past 5 years or so. This hotel is very intimate and cozy. We enjoy the beautiful color schemes of the guest suites and the very generous size of the premium king rooms. The Escebeche Restaurant is where we prefer to eat our meals and we usually get to look out on the park and enjoy the people passing by. If you love wine particularly Ontario wine Fred the sommelier is very knowledgeable,if you check out the video on the web site you will even see him polishing wine glasses a testament to his craft. The chef uses a lot of local ingredeints in his menu and prepares them in interesting ways, We had a great Charcuterie plate there with local cured meats which were quite tasty. My most memorable part of the meal was a strawberry creme brule, it has been a long time that I finished an entire dessert after full meal. You must try one. This hotel is an easy and scenic drive to the casino(Fallsview) where we enjoyed a tribute show to Elvis Presley called "Return to Grace" if you love Elvis and who does not you must catch this particular performer, this was our second time seeing him. I have yet to make to the spa or pool because once we hunker down in those comfy rooms we are already relaxed. Oh well there is always next year.

Room Tip: We usually go with premium king suites. We were in 255 but found it a bit noisy sometimes, we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellitlikeitis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We just returned from a Two night package getaway at The Prince of Wales in NOTL and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendy and accomodating, from the reception to the restaurant staff. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and in a great location.We enjoyed 2 breakfasts and a wonderful dinner in the Escebeche dining room. We felt completely relaxed and welcomed by everyone on staff. Our experience at The Prince Of Wales was very pleasurable and we would definitely return to enjoy again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soupyHamiltonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our weekend getaway for our birthdays was great. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The room we asked for is what we got in the main building. It was kept clean and tidy. It could have used a little more light however with the historical value of the building the window was the only size appropriate. The breakfast they served at the restaurant was good, you had your choice on the Sunday to do a'la carte or buffet. Both days we choose a'la carte. The second day the service was very slow, not sure what the issue was, it was busy and what we could see most had the buffet. Our server did keep apologizing for the wait and arranged a late checkout for us, so we would not be rushed to eat. We would visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the park area and be specific on what type of room you wish, main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrajn305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGMPW, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Prince of Wales.
I could not be more pleased to learn how the team exercised their service professionalism in extending a late check out to accommodate the delays in breakfast service. Again, pleased to see that empowerment is working...your feedback is critical. Thank you!
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed here March 9 and 10. We stayed in a King room with whirpool tub and a sitting area. The decor was wonderful, The bed was extremely comfortable and the atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for in a getaway. We had a WONDERFUL dinner at the hotel restaurant which served wonderful food paired beautifully with Ontario VQA wine. The building was beautiful and even in the off season this is a wonderful place to get away.

Room Tip: I don't think you would get a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The POW is my favorite 'go to quick getaway' spot when I need a mini break. And I'm happy to go with my husband, my friends or by myself-it's always a lovely place to stay. This past new year my husband and I booked a weekend getaway there. Upon check in we were greeted warmly by Carlton, the young man running the front desk. When we requested a room change Carlton made the change effortlessly (or made it appear that way!), quickly and gave us an amazing room with no fuss. It made bringing in the new year in NOTL the perfect choice, and I'm off there again because I can't get enough!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDogKingON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Beautiful hotel... good staff .. lovely dinner .. guitarist in the lounge.. very good.. very expensive however.

We checked in on a Friday.. given a suite with a fireplace .. perfect ..

The downside was that there were high winds and whatever equipment is on the roof, rattled most of the night keeping us awake. We reported this on our comment card and to the staff and were told .. they would look into it .. to be fixed.

Probably would not stay there again because of that.. take your chances is my comment.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGMPW, General Manager at Prince of Wales, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the dining and the lounge experience, too. Many of our guests enjoy our Friday night entertainment. I wish to apologize for the disruption in sleep caused by the noise from the rooftop. You are correct that the high winds have made an impact, as this month we have experienced more than one day of excessive winds. (and beautiful warmer days!) These winds have, in fact, caused some minor damage that we had to repair. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I do hope that you would reconsider another visit to our property and to our beautiful town.
Kindest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.5 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,397 reviews
0.8 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,909 reviews
0.4 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,163 reviews
0.3 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
897 reviews
12.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Property: Prince of Wales
Address: 6 Picton St | P.O. Box 46, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince of Wales 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished leisure and business travellers alike seek the elegance and refinement of the Victorian Age embodied in this treasured landmark hotel located directly on the main street of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Otel, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Prince Wales Hotel Niagara Lake
Prince Wales Niagara Lake
Prince Of Wales Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing