We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is excellent but just can't justify the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

There are several reasons why you should stay at the Oban:
- you're not a B&B person
- you like the basic service offerings of a spa on hand
- you like genuine and polished service
- location is important to you
- you like an unquestionably clean room/atmosphere.
In short, the Oban has class and is a delightful place to stay for an evening or two. But it is a very hefty price when you can stay in B&B's for a third of the price. The Oban is a really nice hotel but personally I'm a value guy and I believe the Oban jacks their rates because there are few similar games in town. I would pay 200/night there but I paid almost double that, hoping it might somehow feel worth it. They did their best but I just don't feel like the price was justified. If you don't mind B&B's, like my wife and I, then just do a B&B for a fraction of the price. I booked Oban as an anniversary gift and my wife nearly choked when she unadvertently saw the price. If money is no object then it's a nice (although not spacious - that might be the kicker - $350 for 200 square feet) hotel in a good location, and the service at the front desk is near perfect, if not overboard!
If you're mindful of value, just do a B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paxton74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Paxton74,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us in October 2011. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your getaway with us and hope it was a beautiful autumn weekend.

We would like to offer input and clarify our summer rates (May to October) for weekend are indeed around $350 per room and include continental breakfast for two. We are now offering winter rates from $150 per room (Sunday to Thursday) and $195 per room (Friday/Saturday) also including continental breakfast for two.

We are striving to offer value to our guests and continue to offer a variety of value added packages.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next special occasion getaway.

Sincerely,
Celia Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

A great place, cosy, heaven of tranquility. What a contrast with the "Las Vegas" Niagara Falls has become. Use the free B&B maps from the hotel to visit the extensive area: potteries, antiques barn and of course the wineries. Although not up to french or Australian, NZ, still worth a try, and for those who love it, of course the icewines. Ideal for those seeking a spa, or a game of golf at the oldest golf course of Canada, just accross the road. We did not try the restaurant, but looks great. We wanted to try the Angel Inn pub. A great Main street with nice shops (all year Christmas shop), but the crisis has left some traces, shops being for rent.

Complimentary breakfast was very nice, and great smooth jazz background music.A beautiful fresh rose on the bed at night, great quality linens, magazines in the bathroom, etc, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Pvanhove,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your insightful comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Oban Inn in October 2011. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed the many unique offerings and shops of our historic town including the lively Angel Inn pub nearby.

We appreciate your enjoyment of our improved complimentary continental breakfast offering, our additional services and will continue to pursue feedback from our guests.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Celia Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Oban Inn is situated very close to Lake Ontario in Niagara on the Lake, Canada. It is walking distance to the town center and the lake. If you want a peaceful, relaxing vacation in a beautiful, clean town, then you should stay in Niagara On The Lake. The Oban Inn has a great breakfast and the rooms are small but comfortable. The fitness center is above average and the pool is nice. I highly recommend visiting the numerous wineries around the region and Canada has perfected the art of making ice wine. Niagara Falls is just 30 minutes away and Toronto is about a two hour drive (I suggest the GO train since Toronto traffic can be brutal). If you want a nice place with a view of Lake Ontario, I would definitely choose the Oban Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Larry126,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us in September 2011. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the location of our Inn and it’s setting within our historic town of Niagara-on-the-Lake.

We appreciate your enjoyed of our improved continental breakfast offering and happy you were able to enjoy our fitness and pool facilities.

Great recommendation to take the GO train which offers service to St. Catharines or Niagara Falls.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to The Oban Inn again soon!

Sincerely,
Celia Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We (myself and 3 siblings with our spouses) took my mother to Oban Inn to celebrate her 80th birthday. Celia and staff did everything possible to make it a special 24 hours. They help me arrange transportation to and from our wine tasting, they suggested a quiet spot in the inn that the 10 of us could use for toasts and other craziness to mark this occasion. They set up our table in an alcove so we could enjoy ourselves, without bothering their other guests. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Dad11,

It was wonderful to have been a part of your mom’s 80th birthday celebration with us at The Oban Inn in October 2011. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon for many more celebrations.

All the best!

Sincerely,
Celia Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We had the pleasure of visiting the Oban Inn again at the end of summer and were not disappointed in any way. This is the kind of place where they welcome you back like you are coming home! Don't listen to the other reviews about breakfast...people complain about the continental breakfast that is included in their stay, but if they prefer they could go down the street to other hotels that cost way more and include nothing. The breakfast we had was more than enough for any eater, pastries, fruit, cereal, toast, juice, yogurt.... continental is not meant to be more than that people!! Like I said - if you want a hot breakfast, go to the other hotels and pay $350 for your room, and add on another $50 for your hot breakfast. No thanks!

This time we were not able to use the spa or dining room, however the room was clean, as always, and the staff - completely wonderful. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meebjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Meebjt,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again this year at The Oban Inn!

We sincerely appreciate your enjoyment and positive comments regarding our continental breakfast offering. Maintaining our high standards of quality in product and service is important to us. We continue to make improvements and welcome any additional feedback.

Be assured that our team is truly committed to ensuring each guests a memorable, enjoyable and affordable stay!

Can’t wait to welcome you back again in 2012!
Sincerely,
Celia Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Beautiful room, very nice facilities, great location, friendly, helpful staff all helped to more than meet our expectations. We had a suite (the Oban Suite) in the adjacent building which was quite spacious, especially the very modern and stylish bathroom with the beautiful tub for two placed in the middle like a porcelain sculpture. While the living area decor was traditional, it didn't go over the edge into "granny's lace doilie" territory.

The garden area is very nice and secluded, with a large hot tub and a small pool. Although the pool didn't seem to be heated (it was probably low 70's) I was really pleased that it was still open and enjoyed numersous refreshing swims in it, alternating with the hot tub. The tub is quite large and deep and could fit 8 or so comfortably, but wasn't really very hot, more like bath water temperature. In spite of this, we really enjoyed it and enhanced the experience with a bottle of prosecco in an wine bucket that the staff brought to our room with ice.

We had dinner in the restaurant - good food, reasonably attentive service. The continental breakfast is adequate, perhaps not as elaborate as one might expect given the room prices. A Holiday Inn could do better!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Small hotel in a great location very close to the lake Ontario and the main street. Generally comfortable. Good menu for dinner in a cosy dining room but let down by both main courses being cold on arrival at the table. Breakfast was good quality but selection could be extended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObanInn, General Manager at Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Ernest M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Oban Inn during your visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake.

We are sorry to hear your dinner with us did not meet your expectations and hope that our team was able to correct this oversight during your stay with us.

Please be assured our team values your feedback and will ensure we continue to improve to maintain our high standards.

Our complimentary continental breakfast offering has been upgraded since beginning of October 2011 and we continue to seek additional feedback from our guests.

Thank you again and hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Celia Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.2 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
2,119 reviews
0.3 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
497 reviews
0.6 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,236 reviews
0.9 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,575 reviews
0.8 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant

Address: 160 Front Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#10 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $158 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled serenely in the heart of wine country and historic Old Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake, minutes to theatres and attractions, The Oban Inn overlooks Lake Ontario and the Canada’s oldest golf course. With 26 tranquil, luxurious guest rooms and elegant dining surrounded by delightful ponds and lush English gardens and the creation of the beautiful new OSpa, The Oban Inn has become a celebrated wellness retreat. State-of-the-art exercise room, outdoor hot spring and infinity lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Inn, Spa And Restaurant Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Oban Hotel
Oban Inn, Spa And Restaurant Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing