We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Happy with my Choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaw Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shaw Club Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Happy with my Choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

For the price we paid and the service we received, I believe you couldn't find a better deal in Niagara on the Lake! I booked a double queen room in the annex section of the Shaw hotel for my friend and I for a girl's 2 night getaway during the week. The Shaw is located on the end of the main strip so most of the shops are very close. They have a very cozy lounge with a fireplace, keurig coffee machine and free movies to choose from. They were very kind and gave us our room early and upgraded us to a room in the renovated section at no extra charge. The beds were very comfortable and the room was modern and also had a mini fridge. Nice touches with free continental breakfast in their onsite restaurant (fantastic!) and shuttle service if you want to visit other restaurants, etc., nearby and don't want to drive (after 4 pm.) Besides breakfast, we had a lunch and a dinner at their restaurant, Zees, The food was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel154982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    168
    32
    13
    16
See reviews for
57
625
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here for a night during Family Day weekend and had a great time! Our King Annex room included a Jacuzzi, flat-screen TV, fireplace and king-sized bed. I thought it was really cool that the Jacuzzi was in the bedroom (instead of the bathroom), which meant that you could watch TV while relaxing in the tub! There were cup-holders to place our plastic wine glasses on, making the experience practically perfect.

We ate dinner and breakfast at Zee's Grill and the food was very good! We ordered lamb and lobster poutine for dinner and a couple of hot egg dishes for breakfast. I was surprised that the juices at breakfast contained added sugar, and the coffee wasn't very good. I think if Zee's was to offer fresh squeezed juices and either Starbucks or Balzac's coffee the experience could be as perfect as the Jacuzzi set-up. Just sayin'.

There is a coffee maker in the lounge where you can make yourself a Timothy's coffee while relaxing in front of the gas fireplace. They've got a nice selection of Disney films and chick flicks that you can borrow for the night. After a long day of walking around downtown Niagara-on-the-Lake and sampling several wines, watching a light movie from our over-sized bed was a great way to end the day.

Tip: If you are planning to visit the wineries check in at the Shaw Club first. They have some vouchers for free tastings at local wineries.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany-Frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Enjoyed our stay here.

Rooms clean, modern, huge comfortable bed. Well-appointed with glasses, corkscrew, nice bathroom amenities. (In a "superior king.)

Nice welcome treat of a bottle of Trius (decent bottle - not the plonk some places provide) and brownie.

All staff were friendly, all the time. Cute little lounge with fireplace and Keurig coffee maker. Enjoyed borrowing a free DVD, and loved our fish pet for the weekend!

Included continental breakfast above average; would be nice if the others were included instead of charging $7...but they were good as well.

My only issue was that the walls were a tad thin, and also the rooms hellishly hot - even though heating never on. (windows do open.)

Overall, a pleasant and quiet place to stay in Niagara. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel7YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had such a wonderful visit at the Shaw Club. The decor is modern, the hotel is well kept, the staff is very helpful, and it's so comfortable it's hard to leave! We planned on staying one night but when we were offered an extra night at a discounted price we jumped on it! We had great meals at Zee's grill (including complimentary breakfasts), loved the big screen TV in our room and the accesssibility to the town. We'll be back!

More on my review here: http://www.battleofthebites.com/2012/02/niagara-on-the-lake-getaway-and-reviews/

Room Tip: I believe we had a suite that we booked through booking.com - it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Saw a Sniqueaway deal that I thought would be great to celebrate my husband's birthday. This is a modern boutique style hotel in a good location and great staff. Not much going on during the week and at this time of year which made for a very quiet evening. There was only one other couple having dinner in the hotel restaurant where the food was excellent. The room was nice and had a huge shower and big TV and shelving area with wine glasses, opener and fridge. The lounge has a fireplace and Keurig coffe maker with tea and hot chocolate as well. Not enough people staying that night to put on breakfast but had it at their sister location down the street which was excellent. Niagara -on -the -Lake is a beautiful town. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAmherst_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

What a perfect spot for a get away! Rooms are smaller but modern and spotless. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The young lady at the bar makes the best martinis and the hotel has everything one could want for a "get away". Movies are available/spa treatments are steps away and the restaurant has great meals--it is all there!

Room Tip: If there is a room available with King bed and pullout couch---lovely and larger and so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentalOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I took advantage of a Sniqueaway deal so we only paid $99 a night for our classic king room. The hotel itself is in a great location with sufficient parking. The interior is very modern and well appointed. i really liked the lounge in the lobby with it's self serve Keurig coffee maker. The rooms are well designed to make the most of a small space. I liked the personalized stationary and the incredibly delicious brownie waiting for me. They provide wine glasses, water glasses, ice bucket and water jug. There was a Culligan water cooler just down the hall with an ice machine and pop machine. The robes were also a nice touch as was the little tv screen in the bathroom mirror.

Breakfast was included with our stay and includes toast, cinnamon bun, homemade granola, yogurt, juice and coffee. For the low price of $7.50 you could add an hot item such as french toast, omelet or eggs benedict. On our second morning there we were given the option of the continental breakfast in our room or a european breakfast buffet at the Harbor House as Zees was closed. We opted to go to the Harbor House as we wanted to see the property. (It was beautiful and the breakfast was great)

I would definitely stay here again but I'm not sure I would do it during peak season. Being there when the town was quiet and the snow was falling was a blessing. Also be sure to dine at Zees Grill - the food is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.6 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
0.9 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
12.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Club Hotel

Property: Shaw Club Hotel
Address: 92 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#2 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#4 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#6 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaw Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaw Club Hotel epitomizes contemporary luxury. Designed to feel more like a private club than a hotel, each sophisticated guestroom is individually accentuated with the latest technology and has been designed to ensure unparalleled comfort. Located directly across the street from the Shaw Festival Theatre, The Shaw Club offers full service accommodation and extraordinary dining at its restaurant, Zees Patio & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Shaw Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Club Hotel And Spa
Shaw Club Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario
Shaw Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing