We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Surprises are Pleasant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All Surprises are Pleasant!”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We recently spent a night at the Davy House for my spouse's birthday. We had never stayed there before, but are regular visitors to the area.
No one likes "surprises" when staying at a hotel or B&B. But this is the exception!
The first pleasant surprise was that Jeff and Flo ran a restaurant in the past that was well known to us. The next pleasant surprise was the room (1843) - absolutely gorgeous, from the king bed to the spacious bathroom. And the pleasant surprises kept coming - very friendly hosts (even the guests were friendly), relaxing hot tub on the deck (a cozy robe + my winter boots made for quite a sight walking thru the common rooms), enough parking for all the guests, a wonderful pre-breakfast (yes, a pre-breakfast) followed by an incredibly delicious sit-down breakfast.

We will definitely be returning to experience all the pleasant surprises that Jeff and Flo and the Davy House have to offer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
493
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We met with friends at Davy House during Icewine Weekend. We enjoyed touring the nearby wineries, and our stay at Davy House was simply fantastic. We were in the lower level suite (Rm. 1844), which is in the addition to the original house. It is hard to believe that this is an additon, as Jeff and Flo were meticulous about matching finishes to the original dwelling, including floors, doors and hardware. We had a comfortable seating area which easily accommodated four people, a bathroom with a heated stone floor, ample closet space and a separate sleeping area with a very comfortable king bed. Breakfast was wonderful, with granola, homemade scones, muffins and a variety of coffees available in the sitting room at 8:00 AM and a marvelous hot breakfast served at 9:00. We were just steps from the Main Street shops, theaters and pubs, but in a very quiet and private neighborhood setting with ample off stree parking. Jeff and Flo were wonderful hosts and very engaging in conversation. It was a delightful stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMHIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a night at the Davy house during the ice wine festival in January 2012. The house is spotless, the rooms are great, and and Jeff & Flo are extremely welcoming. It was our first time at a B&B and chose the Davy house because of the rave reviews - I can't echo the positive comments below enough. Jeff and Flo provide a perfect atmosphere as they are extremely welcoming and easy to talk to while remaining cognizant of giving you your personal space and never making you feel out of place. Other than Jeff & Flo, the best parts about the house were its vicinity to downtown NOTL, the AWESOME hot tub, and the house and breakfast were great. Have nothing bad to say. Also - the place is very organized and they usually answer your questions before you even have a chance to ask them!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

What a delightful, beautifully appointed B & B! The property was one of the nicest we have stayed in. The festive decorations were gorgeous and the rooms and house as a whole oozed a warm and cosy atmosphere. Flo and Jeff were lovely and especially helpful and concerned when I had a dilemma with a lost/stolen wallet. Since found!
I would not have any hesitation in recommending Davy House and I would certainly love to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiedeb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

An incredible place to stay!!! Highly Highly recommended!

As a side note, we actually met the proprietors, Flo and Jeff in Cuba, in March 2011. We discovered that we only live 20 minutes from each other in Niagara, Canada. They "casually" mentioned that they run a B&B in NIagara on the Lake. We promised we'd try and stay one night......

I highlight "casually", since it reflects their modest personalities, while arguably running one of the Finest B&B's in the country.

The house is SPECTACULAR!! The Rooms, the Food, proximity to the Olde town center and the theatres. Its all near by. We didnt use the hot tub, but heard from other guests that it was a great spot to relax with a glass of local wine. We do not have food allergies, but Flo and Jeff can accomodate those issues.

Everything is perfect. No minor detail is left out.

We plan on returning in the spring or perhaps the fall to stay again......

Joe and Stacey

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoefromStCatharines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

First, let's just say that we echo every positive comment that has come before us. We chose Davy House as our B&B where we met our friends for a very enjoyable Icewine Festival weekend. When we returned home after the weekend, we were asked what was the highlight of the trip. Our answer....the B&B where we stayed.

Warm and personable hosts, a beautifully kept and decorated house, and breakfasts that were the best meals we had while away. Our room was on the main floor, right across from the very comfortable guests' lounge where converstaion with our friends and other guests was easy. This is also where you start your morning breakfast with yogurt, granola, fantastic muffins, scones and coffee. Then you enter the dining room for the hot course, excellently prepared and beautifully presented. The location could not be better.....just off the main street, walking distance to everything in town.

Absolutely perfect from start to finish. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TODuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at this beautiful B&B this past weekend. We enjoyed it very much for several reasons. First, Flo was very easy to talk to and I didn't feel like I was bothering her with my questions while booking. After that, we were pretty much in awe of the property as the comfort and decorating were second to none! I was continually looking around at all of the interesting art and unusual crafts. We stayed in the suite on the lower level and loved it. It was warm, roomy and inviting. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, beautifully presented and very satisfying. Flo does the cooking and Jeff helps with the serving and they both seem to enjoy what they are doing. It was a real pleasure to stay at Davy House and we will certainly tell others about it. Thanks Flo and Jeff, and A&D.

Room Tip: Don't let the fact that the suite is in the lower level bother you. It is so comfortable, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.2 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.5 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.5 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.1 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.8 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Davy House B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Davy House B&B Inn

Property: Historic Davy House B&B Inn
Address: 230 Davy Street | Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Historic Davy House B&B Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive, Romantic, Intimate and Cozy all describe our Heritage Home. A tasteful blend of Canadiana Pine mixed with Charming Decor and lots of Character. Meticulously Maintained and located right in the Heritage District of Niagara-on-the-Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Historic Davy House B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Davy House B&B Inn Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing