We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love going to Applewood Hollow”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Elmira, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love going to Applewood Hollow”
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We spent another amazing weekend at Applewood Hollow from october 31 to Nov.2. This was our second and definitely not our last visit to this haven of peace and tranquility.

The accommodations are wonderful, the host and hostess inspiring and the food was amazing. There were four in our party and all of our needs were met.

We will definitely travel again to visit Applewood Hollow and have no reservations with recommendation this exquisite spot to anyone.

  • Liked — hosts, food and accomodations
  • Disliked — nothing, everything was amazing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
81
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2008

As frequent visitors to the St. Catherines/Niagara region, this was undoubtedly one of our best "stays". Nestled in the heart of wine country, this B&B offered a chance to get away from the busy-ness and relax among gardens and well-decorated rooms. The owner's (Jane's) passion for simplicity, natural beauty, warmth and hospitality permeated during our two day/evening stay from the time we arrived, during the delightful stay in the room, and breakfasts ---which were delicious! It's hard to decide what we enjoyed the most --the beautiful gardens and private deck? The fresh waffles and berries? Fresh & hot coffee in the morning? The serenity of the Willow Room? The perfect balance of privacy and friendly conversation? We would highly recommend this B&B and hope to stay again next year.
T&L Little/Sault Ste. Marie ON

  • Liked — hospitality, privacy, location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSMLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2008

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast. There is no doubt that we would stay at this immaculate B & B again. Although we did not have the pleasure of meeting Brian ( we arrived late and had to rush off to see a play at the Shaw Festival - just minutes away), we did have a great breakfast which included locally grown produce and were entertained by our gracious hostess - Jane. We had a wonderful time - the gardens are just breath- taking and the view of the woods and back gardens from our room and private patio was serene. The decor and art work was aesthetically pleasing. I would highly recommend a stay at this beautiful, relaxing B&B!

  • Liked — clean, wonderfully decorated, great bed
  • Disliked — does not apply
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank margarettravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Erie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

This was our first experience at a B&B. We recieved a gift certificate for the stay as a wedding gift. Prior to this we were not really inclined to try a B&B.

My oh my were we wrong. Jane's location is second to none, close enough to Niagara on the lake attractions but far enough away to make you feel as if you are in the middle of no where.

The history of the area, specifically the house itself, the scenary, the meals, the atmosphere. What can I say. We will be back. Very clean, modern but with a country feel to it. Please consider this B&B especially if you are first timers like us. Please do not hesitate to e-mail me for any questions.

Jim
Mississauga, Ontario.

  • Liked — perfect mix of country in the city
  • Disliked — no TV, but in retrospect I'm glad there was not at TV. I had to learn to relax without a remote control in my hand!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bflojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

This is a very nice setting not too far away from Niagara (about a 10 minute drive) so not exactly in the town center but that's fine as it can get busy there in summer. Hosts were lovely, considerate people that care for more than their quests and themselves, but also for the many guestworkers who work in the area's fruit industry. Room spacious and clean, bathroom ok. Breakfast nice with delicious homemade yoghurt, vegetable quiche and the usual danish. Open and welcoming atmosphere. Would stay again in this nice area and at this nice property.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wasbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2008

We have been to Applewood Hollow at least a half dozen times over the past few years! It was our first vacation together, he proposed there, and we went there for our honeymoon this past October! Jane is fabulous - the house and private rooms are wonderful and relaxing ... and you can't forget Augie (she does a wonderful job of greeting people!) We love it and are planning on going back again this spring!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RedDaisyDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovinku
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

I took my fiance` to Applewood for a little birthday getaway. We drove up from Cleveland after seeing nothing but positive reviews on this site. The home itself is very inviting, right off a back country road, it was exactly how I pictured it from the photos provided. The downtown area was roughly a 5-10 minute drive. The house itself has two available rooms that share a main kitchen and entrance. Nobody was staying in the other room when we were there so we had the whole wing to ourself. The room was spotless and was a very nice size. Main area, fireplace, and bathroom are on the lower level. You will then find steps leading up to the bedroom loft area. The one and only thing we didn't care for was that there was not a television downstairs in the main area. This meant watching tv from the bed only. It would have been nice to sit on the couch by the fireplace and pop in a movie.

Each room has a sliding glass door that leads to a deck and backs up to a very large forest. We took a stroll into the woods and across a stream and located the old family cemetery that Jane had told us about.

The breakfast was absolutely amazing. By far and away, the best breakfast I have ever had. Jane asked us when we would like breakfast and it was hot out of the oven right on time.

Overall, this was a great place to stay. We plan on going back, but hopefully for a longer trip.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovinku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
3.7 km away
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfast
A Vineyard View Bed and Breakfas...
#52 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
98 reviews
3.8 km away
Old Town Country Landing B&B
Old Town Country Landing B&B
#59 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
27 reviews
3.9 km away
WeatherPine Inn
WeatherPine Inn
#38 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Cobblestone Bed and Breakfast
Cobblestone Bed and Breakfast
#99 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
14 reviews
3.4 km away
A Lil Bit Of Eden
A Lil Bit Of Eden
#75 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
50 reviews
3.3 km away
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
Carbonnel Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast

Property: Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2230 Four Mile Creek Rd, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Applewood Hollow Bed and Breakfast, a custom designed home inspired by our love of music, art and nature.At Applewood Hollow you’ll enjoy the privacy of your own three room suite which opens onto our woodland garden terrace and the forest beyond. In the summer you’ll wake up to the sounds of Baltimore orioles, cardinals, mockingbirds and a wide variety of songbirds as well as the occasional visit from ducks in our fish pond.Only a four minute drive from the old town of Niagara we are conveniently located close to the bike paths and winery route. If you’re artistically inclined feel free to bring your sketch pad along and enjoy our gardens and the woodland scenery. History lovers will have access to a wealth of information from our personal library as well as some of the stories from Palatine Hill, a nearby site that housed one of the first mills in Ontario and the Servos family cemetary which still remains.Experience the beauty of all four seasons at Applewood Hollow! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applewood Hollow Bed And Breakfast Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing