We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice & calm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silken Dreams Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silken Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
“Nice & calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My girlfriend and I just returned from Niagara on the lake. This was our 2nd visit and will not be the last. We were many hours late arriving to this B&B, not realizing the host (Don) is waiting for us. He greeted us with a joke about the golf game he missed while waiting and that he would have lost anyway! (that was a relief) The owner and cook, Don, is a warm and welcoming person, who takes pride in his little town and made sure to make phone calls himself on our behalf to reserve dinners and such. The place is immaculate, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and non-traditional (no eggs and sausage..), but the other couple were too quiet and non-engaging! You can't choose who you're with, I guess.. Also, while the B&B seems far from downtown, it is actually a short 1-mile walk. I prefered that as it is in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. Our last night, we had dinner on the patio which is very cute and romantic. All in all: I would go back and stay with Don and Melody!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
202
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed with Don and Melody for a week and truly enjoyed their hospitality. The breakfasts were top-notch, the rooms were very clean and the location is very convenient. I felt like we were leaving friends when we departed !! They even made us a to-go plate for breakfast(we had to leave early in the morning) that was out-of-this-world !!!!! It is nice to run into innkeepers who seem sincere in their desire to please their guests and grow their business. We will be back !!!!!
Greg

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregfromtheATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was the first time I stayed in a B&B and the experience could not be better. The Silken Dreams is so beautiful and so confortable and we could not find a better place to stay in Niagara-on-the-Lake. The rooms are very nice and confortable.
After a long trip from Ottawa to Niagara to arrive there and be welcomed by such a nice couple as Don and Melody made us feel at home.
The breakfast was very good, everything was delicious, but the best thing was the nice conversation with all the other guests and Don and Melody.
To complete our short stay, Niagara-on-the-Lake is one of the most beautiful cities I have ever visit...the only thing I regret was not staying there for more days!

Thanks Don and Melody for the nice stay! Muito obrigada pela ótima estadia!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia_Eto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Honestly the best B&B I've ever been to. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 days during our visit to Niagara-on-the-Lake and we just wished we could have stayed longer. Don had great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. The food was delicious and Don and Melody were very accommodating. They made us feel at home in their house and the room was beautiful and very comfortable - king sized bed and heated tiles in the bathroom! When it came time to move on to Toronto, Don even helped us book our next hotel, walking us step by step through the best way to find a good deal and giving us information about places to visit in the city. Thanks, Don! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Silken Dreams is spacious and attractive. The "Ocean" room has a wonderful bathroom with a claw tub. What a pleasure! The breakfasts are good, and Don and Melody go to great lengths to meet dietary requirements. They are pleasant hosts, and we spend several periods of time just sitting in the common space front room with them, chatting about everything from the best restaurants in town to Canadian politics. A delightful stay!

Room Tip: "Ocean" room is larger than "Forest". Did not see the third room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My partner and I had a wonderful weekend getaway and stumbled upon Silken Dreams on the web like many travelers do. All great reviews and well-earned. Our hosts were delightful and our room was as clean and comfortable as any 5-star hotel. Don prepared vegetarian meals for us and gave us coupons for local wineries, which saved us a good few dollars. Originally we were going to stay at a B&B closer to the main street (more money) and I'm glad we didn't as this was much more peaceful, which is exactly what we wanted -- near enough to all the activity and a few blocks away to get away from it all, too. Thank you Don and Melody.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

If you are a believer in that American cultural touchstone of freedom of choice then this place is not for you. Here there is no loveless 'breakfast buffet', commonly known in our household as 'search and starve'. No, here you are politely informed that breakfast is served at a set time, because what you get is a gourmet breakfast, a freshly prepared breakfast, one that is true perfection and brought to the table straight from the oven. We had tree-ripened local peaches lightly macerated in a delicate, fruity, sweet local icewine, followed by a dream of an asparagus and ham and cheese souffle (minus the ham for the veggie). If you had room after that there was fresh bread and home-made jams and marmelades, and tea and coffee to your heart's content.
When you see the standard of the breakfast provided, then it's almost too obvious to mention that the rooms are impeccable, the bathrooms glorious, that there is a fridge that provides chilled water, there is a comfortable sitting room for the use of guests. And there is a warmth of welcome that is outstanding even in such a friendly place as Canada. I couldn't imagine a better place to stay, anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainmartini, Owner at Silken Dreams Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and very pleased that you would take the time to write an outstanding review... thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
11.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.8 km away
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
Lakelands Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.1 km away
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfast
Brockamour Manor Bed and Breakfa...
#13 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
In Elegance Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 km away
Britaly Bed and Breakfast
Britaly Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.7 km away
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
627 on King Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 163 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Dreams Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Dreams Bed and Breakfast

Property: Silken Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Address: 46 The Promenade, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy large guest rooms with king size beds, luxurious bathrooms with heated floors. Located in a quiet area of old town, wake up to a gourmet breakfast served using locally grown produce, then savour the delights of the backyard alongside the relaxing waterfall and pond. Every effort will be made by your hosts to make your stay memorable and restful. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silken Dreams Bed And Breakfast Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing