We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent high quality B&B, gourmet breakfasts, very relaxed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highgrove Bed & Breakfast

Highgrove Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highgrove Bed & Breakfast
York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent high quality B&B, gourmet breakfasts, very relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed for 2 nights and the breakfasts were great and Bruce (proprietor) very friendly.
Breakfasts were really good, freshly made, superb quality.
Breakfast is fixed at 9am and if there are other guests then the table is shared and when we stayed we met some really nice friendly people.
Be warned that the 9am breakfast will not let you get away to explore before 10am, but as long as you have time then I would reccomend.
Our daughter is 12 yrs old and had a room to herself. It is a quiet place so probably not the best for younger children (lots of lovely art and antique furniture).
Niagara on the lake itself is charming and a great base for the falls, away from the hustle and bustle of Niagara itself.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travisthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Spent a wonderful weekend at Highgrove B & B. Everything was great, especially our beautiful, filling breakfast and the great historic information that Bruce provided us with. Bruce really knows how to make everyone feel like they are at home. I would NOT hesitate to recommend this gem to anyone. John & Kelly

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

We had an emergency while there. The owner went out of his way to help us and the emergency was resolved. The breakfasts are very good, and the arrangements at his B&B are comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semigourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Seneca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

We have been coming to this B&B for over 7 years almost every summer. The rooms are extremely clean, the host is very friendly but not intrusive. The rooms are very nicely decorated and have cable TV and private bathroom. The grounds are nicely landscaped with flowers. The breakfast is out of this world. So gourmet. And the prices are very reasonable. We walk to the main strip of shops and the threatres. They even let us use their bikes for free. We love it !!! I have recommended to family members who also enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desimone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the "King" room. The house is immaculate, and stylish. It is by far the best B&B we have stayed in. Niagra on the lake is an amazing place.Good food, good bars, colourful floral gardens everywhere, and within 20 minutes of the Falls. The Highgrove made a good day at the falls, a great 2 days away.

We ate at Bistro Six One on the main street and The Angel Inn Pub. Both had good servive, and good food.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2009leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guelph
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed here for four nights and loved it! My mother had the Queen room, and my sister and I shared the Suite. What a beautiful and quiet place! Very elegant furnishings in the bedrooms (including a private sitting room in the Suite), and a lovely and comfortable main-floor living room for guests. The breakfast (at the very civilized hour of 9:00) is absolutely wonderful: artistic arrangements of several fruits, fabulous main courses (different every day, of course!), excellent homemade muffins, really good coffee and tea, and very warm, helpful, and friendly service. We will stay here every time we come to Niagara-on-the-Lake!!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuelphValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

This is a nice B&B on a quiet street within walking distance of Queen Street. We enjoyed our spacious King room and bath. Our host served delicious breakfasts that included homemade muffins and a variety of fruit and seasonal veggies. He was most knowledgable about the area, the plays and shops and was attentive to our needs. We also enjoyed the artwork representing several genres displayed throughout the rooms. Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to return to this oasis in future.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.4 km away
DownHome Bed and Breakfast
DownHome Bed and Breakfast
#142 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.5 km away
Antique Slumber B&B
Antique Slumber B&B
#34 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 km away
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Breakfast
Schoolmaster's House Bed and Bre...
#46 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
Mary Street Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.8 km away
Historic Wilson-Guy House
Historic Wilson-Guy House
#56 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.7 km away
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Breakfast
Apple Tree Historic Bed and Brea...
#68 of 165 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgrove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgrove Bed & Breakfast

Property: Highgrove Bed & Breakfast
Address: 236 William Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Highgrove Bed & Breakfast Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing