We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in NOTL”
Review of Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchid Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in NOTL”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I surprised my fiance with a weekend getaway at NOTL and chose Orchid Inn because of the reviews. I am a clean freak and will shy away from a spot if there is even one bad review. I am so glad I chose Orchid Inn. From the beginning, Cindy was outstanding. She accommodated a much-earlier check-in, and each day was so gracious and helpful with our plans and directions. She is one of the kindest innkeepers I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Breakfast was OUTSTANDING – each morning we had the best selection of fresh fruit, along with an egg dish and a sweet on the side such as her amazing coffee cake which we received on the last day. I would stay here over and over. The only tiny downside was the location, we would have loved to stay in the heart of downtown, but it was close enough where it didn’t ruin our experience. Thanks Cindy and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5uck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
108
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Being from NL and unfamiliar with the NOTL area, we depended on reviews to help us choose our accomodations. We could easily see why Orchid Inn was so highly rated! The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated, and it was in a quiet area of NOTL. The owner who greeted us was very friendly and full of information on what to see, and took the time to answer our questions. Breakfast was served in the dining room at 9, and what breakfasts they were!! Absolutely the best breakfasts we've had in B&Bs! Healthy, and so filling you almost didn't have to worry about lunch at all! We highly recommend the Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The service was absolutely wonderful - Cindy was so nice! Our room was lovely and breakfast was amazing. We also had dinner at the Ginger Restaurant and it was the best meal we've had in ages. We won't stay anywhere else in Niagara now that we've found this place!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy_canadian_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This was our first family trip with our 2 month old daughter, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience at the Orchid Inn. We got the large King suite and it was just perfect - super clean, nice fireplace and couch to unwind at the end of the day, and to top it all off, you get an amazing gourmet breakfast in the morning to start your day. Cindy was great, and even accommodated us when we were late for breakfast every morning (having a 2 month old will make you late for everything). The value for money is just incredible - you wouldn't get this kind of service at a hotel, even if you were paying more than double the price. I would highly recommend the Orchid Inn to anybody going to the NOTL region.

Room Tip: Room # 5 is huge and has a really nice little couch and fireplace area to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justindustrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elgin
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My girlfriends booked two nights away to celebrate my birthday and retirement. The Orchid Inn was an excellent selection and Cindy (the owner) was more than welcoming. Showing up later at night she was very accommodating and prepared tea for us on our arrival. The room decor was very nice, rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable. The whole atmosphere of the Inn had a serenity to it. The two mornings we had breakfast in the dining room which also had lovely decor and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Cindy goes out of her way to make everything just perfect. After she had everyone's breakfast served she had the time to sit with us --- we enjoyed her conversations as much as she enjoyed ours. Location was excellent -- two minute drive to the main downtown or a 15 minute walk. The wineries are all fairly close by and if you book a wine tour they will pick you up at the Inn. Niagara-on-the-Lake is a beautiful place to go and spend sometime . I will have no problem recommending the Orchid Inn and will be booking soon to go back for a weekend away. I would like to extend many thanks to Cindy once again. Unfortunately the Ginger Restaurant was not open on our stay there but I will be back to the Orchid Inn and to try the Restaurant . Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryannes894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I and two teenagers stayed at the Orchid Inn for two nights over Easter. Both rooms were spotless, with excellent bathrooms and lovely fireplaces in the bedrooms. The beds were very comfortable, and we were happy that we could open the windows, as is was mild enough out.The breakfasts both mornings were served at 9am, and were delicious, and not run-of-the-mill. Omelettes with asparagus and cheese one morning, and gourmet poached eggs the next. Both days the breakfast included fresh squeezed orange juice, freshly baked breakfast cake, and fresh fruit, along with a good endless cup of coffee. The service was very friendly and efficient, by the owner herself. We also elected to have dinner at Ginger, the Inn's restaurant, on Saturday night. The meals were excellent, as was the service.

Room Tip: We had a front corner room with light from the bathroom window and two large windows in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Orchid Inn to celebrate an early Valentine's Day and my birthday and we were so pleased with the room and the excellent, friendly service we received from Cindy, the owner. She is very personable and you can tell she really takes pride in her establishment, which she should, it's a beautiful place! We enjoyed walking along the lakeshore to the downtown area, it was truly beautiful. The Inn was nice and quiet and we loved the fireplace and the big soaker tub, it was very nice and the price was so reasonable, especially for 2 nights! We will definitely stay here again, planning on coming back in the summer time. Cindy is truly wonderful, her service was impeccable and she makes the most amazing breakfasts ever. We really enjoyed our stay and we want to thank you Cindy for your wonderful hospitality :-)

Room Tip: Room #7- Luxury Queen- very nice, the only room with a big soaker tub. Love the fireplace too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.3 km away
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Copper Dreams Bed and Breakfast
#84 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
77 reviews
0.4 km away
Butler Creek Hot Tubs and Suites Bed and Breakfast
Butler Creek Hot Tubs and Suites...
#92 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
181 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
BranCliff Inn
BranCliff Inn
#7 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
528 reviews
1.3 km away
Finlay House
Finlay House
#54 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
168 reviews
0.8 km away
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 164 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Inn

Property: Orchid Inn
Address: 390 Mary Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 9-room family run Inn. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms, fireplace, and television. Complimentary wi-fi included with room bookings. Fully served breakfast included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Inn Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing