We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and atmosphere was perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaw Cafe & Wine Bar

Shaw Cafe & Wine Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Wine Bar, Canadian, Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value and atmosphere was perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Great value. Romatic setting and tables are far enough away from others so you don't feel cramped

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank FrostbittenCdnBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    146
    122
    111
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and drink, nice decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Alot of fruit flies, which ended up in our wine! Service was excellent, however.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank waneki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I can sometimes sort of accept paying too much when the food is wonderful...but not when it's real boring and plain! The only difference between having a burger there or at Mc Donalds is the staff (the girl who served us was very nice, as she served us our glasses of wine, she noticed there was cork in it and immediately took it back) and the Truman Show-like setting.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank BeaBloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I went here with my husband and our cousin his wife and 2 yr old daughter for lunch, usually cafe fare, but one thing we loved was the beer tasting order. You recieve 8 little samples from local breweries, the four of us adults loved this it was like being in a candy shop for us and really set a great tone for our stroll down this adorable little street.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jos_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Pleasant Relaxing Atmosphere, Not Overpriced or Pretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We visited Niagara-On-The-Lake in late July, and strolled by several restaurants before choosing this one, which had a lovely landscaped and floral exterior and outdoor seating. It was a beautiful warm summer's night and the menu looked relatively mundane, and not overpriced, comfort food seemed on the menu. We had travelled all day and needed good solid comfort food and a relaxing environment. We got all we could ask for in this restaurant, pleasant wait staff, good food and a not overly expensive bill at the end. The following night we went out to a very upscale, highly rated restaurant that was considerably more expensive, and to be honest I was not overly impressed with it (see other reviews) and felt that I enjoyed my meal at the Shaw Cafe & Wine Bar more. This is a good option for dinner in Niagara-On-The-Lake, where there are many choices for a meal. For us this one was just what we needed, quick, filling, tastey food, in a lovely setting and not a huge bill to go with it!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bleuemoon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaw Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Shaw Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing