We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Could eat one of everything on offer and then start all over again.”
Review of The Pie Plate

The Pie Plate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing! Could eat one of everything on offer and then start all over again.”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

What a cute little place. I've passed the Pie Plate many times over the years without stopping. What an error in judgment! The soup, sandwich, salad and (2) pie(s) I consumed were all incredible. The service was very patient and unpressured, despite the many people crammed into the small space.

The only downside for those who wish to eat in is that it ain't the most comfortable. The furniture feels like early Ikea furniture. For a small investment, this place could really look a lot better and be a lot more comfortable.

Despite the lacklustre decor...I will (unfortunately) NEED to stop in to partake in pie consumption every time I drive past this place in the future.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eeeduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    87
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Seasonal Meal!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stopped for lunch - I had the Butternut squash soup with apple - it was excellent, great flavor, seasoned well with smooth texture and fresh. The soup came with 2 slices of bread that were also wonderful for dipping. I had a seasonal think crust pizza with a pesto, sharp cheddar, bacon and apple slices which was so perfect - the crust was thin and crispy. My fiance got a think crust pizza with fresh cherry tomatos, basil, mozzerella and that was also great. We got 2 mini crea, pies to take home - 1 Coconut and 1 Chocolate - they were also excelletn with fresh wipped cream and creamy filling. Total was $50 including tip - not that bad. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Homemade pies - Yum”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Small cafe in old house with lovely light lunches and pies both sweet and savory. Made on the premises. Great for an afternoon snack or to take home

Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Yummy savory pie”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Order special of the day, savory with slightly sweet (pear) pie with thin crust, to die for. Apple rhubarb ok but not the greatest, apple is too sour for my taste. Price is in line with quality (I.e high).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simpangratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what you need for a quick lunch or a good gift”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The pies are outstanding - good for a gift.

The meal are tasty but the portions are not that big - so take some sweet pies out with you. I actually liked the beef and guiness meat pie.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fieldwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pie Plate also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Pie Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing