We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Needs a better cleaning crew” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 North Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 North Bay
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in North Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs a better cleaning crew”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This hotel would only meet the most basic standards for cleaniness. The room had a faint, almost urine like, smell when we entered the room. It did go away after running the fan for a while. The room was poorly cleaned and vacuumed. We even found an unknown item (small metal object) between the bed sheets. The service was polite, but the poor cleaning made it difficuly to relax in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    188
    102
    32
    15
See reviews for
201
122
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, On
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Definitely an older motel. However, they didn't have to put a disgusting tea towel in the kitchenette and could have retired or re-upholstered the disgustingly stained chair. The beds were marshmellow-like soft, which some people other than me like. The "suite" was a spacious room.
The continental breakfast was pretty standard - bread, jams/butter, muffin, 2 kinds of cereal, 2 kinds of juice and coffee. Like I said it was a great price ($100 for the one night for our family of five) and I kinda doubt that it would outshine any of the other "tired" motels along this strip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkmtwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

My room there cost about 100 dollars. I was disturbed about six times by someone making a lot of noise running down some nearby stairs in the building and slamming into a wall. The front desk was informed and I was giggled at by a female employee. I spoke to the hotel manager the next day who said his employees were vigilant about noise complaints after I explained that I had been laughed at when I had complained about stupid behavior in the hotels stairwells. My room was large and nice but ruined by this issue. Worth about 30 bucks.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank footloose888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

My daughter and I spent a sleepless night at this motel. The floors must be very thin because we heard people running around and making a great deal of noise for most of the night on the floor above us. My daughter's pillow case had hairs on it which she took to the front desk to exchange for a clean one. We certainly won't be staying in this motel on our next trip north.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willow1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

Very big room,clean.I had a sofa,wich was a little bit "tired" i think.Nice stay in general.

Real good and nice motel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
312 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

I stayed here for business, the rooms aren't bad, nothing to get excited about, they are clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast in the morning is your average continental breakfast. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay that is clean this would be it. Overall it is average.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klein3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

This hotel is right on Lakeshore Drive, a very busy road. Our room was surprisingly big since it was under one of the 'turrets'. It had a large bar fridge and also a microwave which I did not expect. However, our room was on the ground floor facing the road and right by the door into the lobby/breakfast room. We could hear the front desk clerks on the phone and also the door opening and closing most of the night. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel facing the parking lot. There are several restaurants within walking distance, including a very good fine dining one called Churchills. Expensive but highly recommended. All in all, this hotel is not bad for the price.

  • Liked — reasonable price
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Bay hotels
0.7 km away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
7.4 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.7 km away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#6 of 25 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 North Bay

Property: Super 8 North Bay
Address: 570 Lakeshore Dr, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Bay
#3 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 North Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Lake Nipissing, The Waterfront, Memorial Gardens and West Ferris ArenaSuper 8 North Bay hotel is located on the shores of beautiful Lake Nipissing with easy access to Trans-Canada Highway. Our hotel near the waterfront area offers easy access to area attractions and dozens of outdoor activities for any traveler.Start your day off right with free SuperStart continental breakfast. Be sure to take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet, guest laundry, valet service and 24-hour front desk service. We offer free parking with cold-weather hookup and ample space for large vehicles. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available at our pet-friendly hotel. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight North Bay
North Bay Super Eight
North Bay Super 8
Super 8 North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing