We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed here for one night, just passing through town. The room was clean and very comfortable and since we are travelling with our dog they put us in a ground floor room very close to a side exit. This was convenient however made for a bit of a noisy night. We could hear the door opening and closing constantly all evening. We also found that the hotel wasn't very sound proof when it came to other guest's doors closing - they were very loud also! Other than that it was not too bad, the location was great, right next to the highway, and the Mexican restaurant that is just across the highway is delicious! (used to be a Mexicali Rosa's but is now called Habaneros)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMaegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you so much for letting us know, our maintenance team has solved the problem of the doors slamming. I will pass on your comment about Habanaros Mexican Restaurant, they are fantastic. I am happy you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Great reception staff and always a cheeful greeting. Love the white on white decor and bedding, no surprises for sure with this style!
Rate is quite good and with breakfast competitive enough to return regularly on business
Room layout is great and very comfy with everything you need for a great stay.

Location is pretty convenient on 17 highway and restaurants are not far away. Avoid Don Cherry's and Kings Chinese Buffet yuk.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Not cheap but it is nice & new & the breakfast is good & included. No complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is a good location next to the Trans-Canada Hwy for business or people in transit across Canada. Stayed there before and the rooms are clean and staff friendly. Lots of parking for all size vehicles and even four special parking spots for PCR Platinum members. Tim Hortons and a Mexican restaurant are about a 5-min walk away but if you want lots of food options within a short walk stay downtown or at the Hampton Inn 10 min drive West in North Bay near the TC Hwy if thats what you want. I stay here for the PCR points and drive where I want to eat.


Rates are too high all over North Bay due to its location on the Trans-Canada Hwy so this HIX starts at $128-$160 CAD depending on the season. But along the TC Hwy you have to sometimes pay more to get a nice room that is clean and in a newer hotel (this ones less than 6 yrs old I believe). Complementary HIX breakfast is typical but they really need to go back to sausage for the meat as the ham is terrible.

Negatives - No upgrade or extras (welcome gift) for Platinums, Rates are way too high for an HIX and Hampton Inn is a bit lower and a comparable facility if you check around.

Room Tip: Due the nature of a high volume of travellers on the Trans-Canada Hwy book well in advance or you co...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here on April 14th 2012. After coming back from dinner, went back to my room and then decided to go down to the front desk to get some snacks. I went to pay for my purchase and put my wallet on the counter to get some change out of my pocket to pay for it. When i got back to my room, i realized i had left my wallet on the counter at the front desk. I went down to the front desk immediatly and told the person at the desk. They said noone had turned it in. When i was paying for my purchase i did notice an employee come up to the desk behind the person that was serving me. They didn"t let me check the cameras to see if anything was on it. The money can be replaced, all my ID and pictures not so easily. To the person who took itI hope this happens to you someday so you can feel what it's like. To the hotel staff, you could have been much more helpful. I will not be staying here again that's for sure! Rick Bourdeau Port Elgin Ontario

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank horses50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear horses50,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Picked this hotel based on reviews.
After a 5 hour drive arrived here and was "ungreeted" by an unfriendly front desk. Not mean or angry, just "ho hum".
Was looking forward to a greeting of any sort, not here not today.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edulinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you very much for this comment and let me assure you that this is not the norm here at the Holiday Inn Express. We put a great emphasis on our welcome when our guests are arriving at our property and I am sorry that your experience was not up to par. We will revisit the importance of this part of the guest experience with all of our team. Thank you once again for the comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel provides a clean and adequate place to stay with easy access in North Bay. The rooms are well kept although ours had a musty smell even though the room, furnishings and facility was newer. The beds were average but sufficed as the price was reasonable. The facility is well appointed with new furnishings. The pool and fitness areas are smaller but clean and equipped with towels. Breakfast was average and has a pancake maker and the room also serves as a lounge with sofa and larger flat screen TV. The staff are very helpful. I believe suites are available. Our room had two queen beds, flat screen TV, desk with internet (cable not provided). The hotel is wireless. The is a small business centre to use public computers. There is also a small snack shop where you can purchase 3 items for $5.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jumpinround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Bay hotels
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
4.6 km away
Best Western North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton North Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
4.5 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
2.8 km away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Address: 1325 Seymour St, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range: $135 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay.Enjoy comfort while you stay in our all new Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of North Bay, Ontario, conveniently located only nine kilometers from the North Bay Jack Garland Airport (YYB). Get ready for family fun at our North Bay hotel, located just off Highway 17 with easy access to several area attractions including the Lake Nipissing Waterfront, the Northgate Shopping Centre and Memorial Gardens. Also nearby are the Capitol Centre, Osprey Links Golf Course and the Chief Commanda cruises. If you want even more ideas, a tourist info centre is just next door to our North Bay hotel. Travelers on business will be impressed with our accommodations in North Bay, Ontario. Conveniently located along all highways leading to North Bay, this fully non-smoking hotel is only minutes away from bus, train and airport transportation with fast highway access to all areas surrounding the city. Our North Bay Airport hotel is within close proximity to businesses such as Boart Longyear, Atlas Copco, Cementation, Bombardier, Goodyear, Sandvik and many others. In addition, meeting rooms with business services such as free high-speed, wired or wireless Internet access are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North Bay
Holiday Inn North Bay
North Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing