We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attend this hidden gem.”

Robert McLaughlin Gallery
Ranked #7 of 37 things to do in Oshawa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The RMG is a vibrant, engaging public art museum located in Oshawa's civic centre between City Hall and the McLaughlin Public Library. The largest gallery in Durham Region, the RMG occupies an inspired 36,000 square foot building designed by noted architect Arthur Erickson. Featuring a Permanent Collection of over 4000 works, and four galleries of diverse and changing exhibitions, the RMG holds a significant collection of Modern and Contemporary Canadian art, and the largest collection of works by Painters Eleven in Canada. Creative education programs, an eclectic gallery shop, fun monthly events, inspiring event spaces, an art archive and library, and two art studios are found at the RMG.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Masters old and new, Unsurmountable Inspiration, Friendly and Welcoming. An oasis for the artist and the soul seeker and their guided companions. Trust me, you will leave with future plans and goals.

Thank Fernshadows2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRMG, Public Relations Manager at Robert McLaughlin Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Thank you for your visit - we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"art lovers"
in 4 reviews
"modern art"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 5 reviews
"held our wedding"
in 2 reviews
"great place"
in 6 reviews
"varied collection"
in 2 reviews
"nice restaurant"
in 2 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 2 reviews
"artists"
in 6 reviews
"exhibits"
in 8 reviews
"donation"
in 5 reviews
"event"
in 5 reviews
"core"
in 2 reviews
"admission"
in 3 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

I hear that art is subjective, well most of the displays looked to me like dollar store craft projects that my children work on when the Internet is down on a cold winter morning. It is almost as if the artist did not even try and these are peices that they were unable sell.

The only redeeming factor of the visit was working air conditioning on a hot summer day. But as for art, this is a load of crap.

There were a few peices that I did enjoy looking at, but it was not enough to forgive the lack luster of the entire rest of the visit.

Thank Jonathan_Simmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRMG, Public Relations Manager at Robert McLaughlin Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Thank you for your comment - it will be considered when planning for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2016

Unexpectedly mature standard of curation with a fascinating core collection and intriguing exhibits of contemporary artists. Sure pays to have a big-bucks local benefactor to kick things off! Impressive legacy for the McLaughlin family.
Great gift shop. Far off my usual paths of travel, but I will be back!

1  Thank cafelatte136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRMG, Public Relations Manager at Robert McLaughlin Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016

Thank you for your visit - we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Another "not too miss" attraction in Oshawa, Ontario. A hidden gem for art lovers. Go to their website to check out all the amazing activities this gallery has to offer. Easy parking and access. Staff are amazing.

Thank BeatriceToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRMG, Public Relations Manager at Robert McLaughlin Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2016 via mobile

Organized by Rory. We had a fantastic time. We watched a short film by a college student. We watched an interpretive dance as a lady sang and her voice was incredible. She also played the flute. We enjoyed wandering thru the art displays.

Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRMG, Public Relations Manager at Robert McLaughlin Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Thank you for your review - we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robert McLaughlin Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Robert McLaughlin Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing