We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Small”

Robert McLaughlin Gallery
Ranked #8 of 35 things to do in Oshawa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The RMG is a vibrant, engaging public art museum located in Oshawa's civic centre between City Hall and the McLaughlin Public Library. The largest gallery in Durham Region, the RMG occupies an inspired 36,000 square foot building designed by noted architect Arthur Erickson. Featuring a Permanent Collection of over 4000 works, and four galleries of diverse and changing exhibitions, the RMG holds a significant collection of Modern and Contemporary Canadian art, and the largest collection of works by Painters Eleven in Canada. Creative education programs, an eclectic gallery shop, fun monthly events, inspiring event spaces, an art archive and library, and two art studios are found at the RMG.
Reviewed 4 November 2016

This is a very small gallery so please do not try to compare it to the downtown Toronto ones. It is always clean and well maintained and most of the time very few people if any in the gallery. It has extra services like framing that you can have done there.

Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Robert McLaughlin Gallery
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2016

The RMG seems to be a secret in Oshawa! For such a thriving and growing community, the RMG seems to be a welcomed surprise to those who discover it for the first time. Good collection of masters old and new, good collection of Canadian art, great venue for art shows and First Fridays music bring in such good energy. For Kids --- they have so much activity and camps for families and kids alike. Come visit.

Thank msweet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Though I wasn't such a fan of Abstract Art, I really enjoyed sitting to watch a video projected on three walls. I finally understood what the Art Installation on the Roof of the RMG is. It is entitled COUPLAND, which consists of 11 circles of different colours to represent the Painters Eleven. It derived its name from Douglas Coupland of the said group. Visiting the RMG helped expand my vocabulary. There were unusual words which I've encountered from some of the artworks. What a very enjoyable experience! The best part of it all, you'll just donate to enter the Gallery and taxes are not charged for the merchandise/souvenirs in the Gift Shop. I would like to come back some other time to see other works of art in future exhibits.

Thank bluzshadez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRMG, Public Relations Manager at Robert McLaughlin Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thanks so much for your visit and your kind words! We have much more information about the works you visited on our website so visit us online to learn more. Please follow us or subscribe to our e-newsletter for more information about our upcoming exhibitions and events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Took my elderly mother with me. No one provided a tour. Hardly any real paintings. No art history of the masters. Lots of empty spaces. Very big waste of time. Art lovers stay home. Nothing here for you. Even our small Whitby Art gallery has more to offer!

Thank wildwilliefromwhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRMG, Public Relations Manager at Robert McLaughlin Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thank you for your comment - it will be considered when planning for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Masters old and new, Unsurmountable Inspiration, Friendly and Welcoming. An oasis for the artist and the soul seeker and their guided companions. Trust me, you will leave with future plans and goals.

Thank Fernshadows2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRMG, Public Relations Manager at Robert McLaughlin Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Thank you for your visit - we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robert McLaughlin Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Robert McLaughlin Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing