We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,017)
Filter reviews
1,017 results
Traveller rating
735
190
54
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
735
190
54
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar byward market non alcoholic drinks complimentary glass of wine welcome drink walk in closet mini bar modern hotel rain shower corner room parliament hill upon check valet parking floor to ceiling windows valet service walking distance free weights
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,017 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I spent three days at the Andaz last week. Our dog enjoyed herself very much. The entire staff was terrific and went out of their way several times to help us.

Great hotel room, great safe location. We ate out every night but spent at the rooftop lounge. Great walking area - the neighborhood, Rideau canal, Parliament buildings . We will return again soon.

Room Tip: Hight rooms have better views - our fifth floor room was quiet with the windows shut
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelK3187, Public Relations Manager at Andaz Ottawa Byward Market, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi John K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We're lucky to have such wonderful visits from our guests with pets. We're so pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your time with us, and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is in an excellent location for all the main sites in Ottawa. We were able to do everything we wanted to in 3-4 hours all within walking distance. We had a very spacious and comfortable corner room. This is a very modern hotel with minimalist furnishings but we had a good size walk in wardrobe and good size shower on suite ( no bath). Everything very clean. Safe, fridge which have free soft drinks and coffee machine. Surprised that there were no USB charging points next to the bed but there were a couple by the fridge including HDMI. The bed is comfortable, however our stay on a Saturday night was interrupted in the night by other noisy guests and shouting from the street in the early hours of the morning until around 4am. Not the Hotels fault but the area with all the bars and restaurants nearby. Breakfast is from a menu which includes a small buffet table. No bread however and coffee is extra.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came in for my birthday dinner, the food and service were extremely fast and was not a disappointment. After finishing our meals we headed for the rooftop patio which was super nice little pricey on the drinks but you get what you pay for ! Highly recommend

Stayed: July 2018
Thank george123423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelK3187, Public Relations Manager at Andaz Ottawa Byward Market, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi george123423,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It sounds like you had a wonderful birthday at Feast + Revel, and then at our rooftop lounge, Copper Spirits and Sights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great experience at the Andaz Ottawa Byward Market hotel. The service was excellent. The room was so comfortable. Will stay at this hotel on our next visit to Ottawa. The staff offered options for less expensive parking, and helpful suggestions re: restaurants;

Room Tip: good view, good walking distance to market and Parliament Hill
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in Room 512 (notice the use of Braille in my picture) at Canada’s only ‘Andaz,’ Ottawa’s ByWard Market Hotel at 325 Dalhousie Street. “Andaz” is Hindi and translates to English as Style, a commonly used word that describes something amazing. If Andaz, you are at your prime, and cannot get any higher. We could get a few floors higher, but it was a terrific experience just the same, from the moment we checked in at a small desk near the front door (immediacy featured here) to a cheery hello and welcome drink to a slick, modern room with a comfy King bed to spectacular views from the rooftop lounge (crowded at night) - of Parliament buildings, the National Gallery, Notre Dame Basilica and ByWard Market itself. And when you look at the market area from Parliament Hill, you see that the Andaz towers amongst the other buildings.

It’s an ideal location to access open air markets, museums, chic boutiques, restaurants, nightlife and historic avenues, close to the University of Ottawa, Parliament Hill and motley attractions. There are 200 contemporary guest rooms and suites with a full range of luxury amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi, minibar with non-alcoholic beverages and snacks (replenished daily) and the aforementioned welcome beverage upon arrival. There’s a restaurant, rooftop lounge and lobby bar. The Fitness Center is open 24 hours daily.

And, for those who cannot do without ‘Cuddles,’ the hotel is “Pet-Friendly,” with weight restrictions for Cuddles, only dogs weighing up to 50 pounds or two dogs under a combined weight of 75 pounds are permitted. The ‘Pet Program’ offers dog-friendly amenities such as a doggy bed, doggy bowls, and doggy cookies. I saw only one such catered-to furry creature during our stay, and it looked like it could have used the gym located in the rooftop fitness center featuring a spectacular view of downtown Ottawa.

The gym boasts elliptical machines and treadmills with LCD virtual trainers and iPod connectivity along with seemingly archaic free weights and core exercise equipment. The hotel is so fitness oriented that if you decide to hit the streets for a run, they will happily provide mapped-out walking and jogging routes that allow one to enjoy the sites of the Parliament Building and the Rideau Canal while building cardiovascular fitness.

The bathroom was clean, bright and inviting and I enjoyed its rainfall shower and also the comfy, spacious bed with 400-thread-count linens. The bathroom offered a vanity with large mirror, and for the ladies or perhaps some men (who knows anymore?) a lighted make-up mirror on an extended arm. The shower stall features textured glass, and toiletries were ‘Turkish Fig’ by Purple Urchin whose names are intriguing yet unknown to me. My spouse enjoyed the walk-in closet. The closet contained automatic entry lights, a full length mirror for pre-meal and post-meal scrutiny, a safe, iron and board as well as fleecy white robes.

We enjoyed a superb view on the fifth floor but I would recommend getting upward as high as possible – room-wise that is, to enjoy the wonderful views of the Gatineau Hills, historic buildings, and ByWard Market from your window. The Wi-Fi was quick, the Minibar (replenished daily) with snacks and non-alcoholic beverages and there were unlimited local phone calls.
The thermostat was easy to control. A decided bonus for me. Water and pop in the small fridge is free as well as a few snacks, but use the nearby LCBO to purchase beer or liquor. Staff were quite friendly always with smiley greetings.

There are tons of restaurants and cafés mere steps away, but we enjoyed breakfast on site and it was delicious. The rooftop restaurant with great views was crowded at night but well worth a visit. There are several recessed areas with seats and cushions around romantic glassed fireplaces. We would gladly return.

$35 a night for valet parking is pricey, but downtown parking is at a premium. Security-wise, one must use your room card to operate the elevator.

One last note – I really enjoyed the artwork throughout the hallways, featuring nature and First Nations art and many courtesy of the Canada Council For The Arts.

Room Tip: Get a room high up for the great views.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews