We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value, owners, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value, owners, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

For the price, you can't get any better for business around Carleton university. The owners seem very considerate and honest, and are doing their best to accomodate guests in their own home. The rooms are clean, well equipped with wifi, TV (in the atlantic atleast), and all the required linens. People who are not reviewing the stay well are simply not doing their research on what they are getting in this B&B. The personal website of Sunnyside provides the required information and you can call them with any questions (also, reservations are much cheaper through them than any third party websites). I haven't noticed any hygiene or mold issues as others have complained about, and the breakfast is very healthy/tasty.

Unlike hotels, consideration on part of both the owners and the guests will maximize the enjoyability of your stay. It's their house afterall, and as a landlord I can appreciate what it's like to have to deal with unappreciative or disrespectful tenants. They are not getting rich off the prices they charge (Expedia adds a ridiculous amount of overhead to the costs if you book with them, so that money isn't seen by the B&B), so understand that cancellations are a much larger loss than with hotels.

I stayed with my girlfriend for a weekend and as reasonable, appreciative young adults we loved this accomodation. I'd come back just for the fresh made muffins every morning!

Room Tip: Read their website and call them to ask for specifics concerning the rooms so you don't get surp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    0
    6
    6
See reviews for
4
6
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Sunnyside near the end of July. Since we were there for a wedding we needed time to get ready and the hosts were more than accommodating in letting us check in extra early into both of our rooms. The place was tidy and clean and was exactly what we needed for a relaxing couple days in town. The food was delicious (and home made, i might add) and was even served at a time we had requested. The hosts gave us maps and even allowed use of a computer to plan out our daytime excursion into the city. They were kind, friendly, and made absolutely sure that we had everything we needed to be comfortable in our rooms. The rooms themselves (mine was Pacific, her's was Atlantic) were spacious and well kept. The beds were clean and very very comfortable, which was a welcome luxury after a busy day. The rooms were very well priced compared to getting a hotel room. We will definitely be staying here should we come back to Ottawa, so we'll be sure to book ahead and make sure we can get the rooms!

Room Tip: Pacific room is slightly larger than Atlantic, but they are both spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed here roughly a month ago and all I have to say is to avoid this Bed and Breakfast at all costs. The owners are completely disrespectful as I overheard them talk negative things about me after providing "excellent customer service". I stayed at the "Pacific Room" and honestly, the picture is quite deceiving as the basement (yes, basement), smelled musky, with a slight unpleasant odor. Also, you could see what looks like mold around the basement room as well. The bathroom was okay, but honestly if anything the washroom looks better than the actual suite. If you would like to go to Ottawa for a vacation, do not stay at this bed and breakfast because you are not going to have a pleasurable vacation. I should have paid extra money to stay at a hotel. Just as a warning, please find other bed and breakfasts as I'm sure there are plenty in Ottawa that have great service, nice rooms, and honest hosts. The only good thing about this Bed and Breakfast is that it has good food. But so does Tim Hortons.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Confidential_Person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

I booked two rooms for several nights: one for me and my two teenage daughters, and one for my cousin and her husband. When we arrived the owner swiped my credit card in advance for all the charges. The room for me and my two daughters was in the basement and smelled musty; it was cramped and hardly large enough for three people plus luggage. The bathroom had an extremely low ceiling; the mirror was on the floor; the shower head was so low that my 5'7" daughter had to crouch down to be in the spray; and by the time I got to the shower it had turned to a dribble and I had to use a glass to collect water to rinse off the soap. It was late at night and we did not want to disturb the owner to complain, but the next morning we politely said that the rooms were not suitable for our needs and we were going to go somewhere else.

I asked to be credited back for the nights we were not staying; I didn't even ask for my money back for the horrible experience in the bathroom. The owner insisted on keeping my money. After arguing back and forth I left the room in tears; my cousin continued to negotiate. The deal we agreed to was that the owner would credit back the nights we did not stay , and I would not write a review on Trip Advisor or anywhere else.

I am writing now because I just discovered (reviewing old Visa bills) that the owner reneged on the agreement and charged me $702.36. We only stayed one night, two rooms. I have witnesses and the bill to prove it all.

The owners were dishonest in describing the quality of the rooms over the phone; they were dishonest in charging us full price for a dysfunctional bathroom; and completely dishonest in charging us for the unused nights after telling us they would credit them back. Buyer beware. I have never had such a distasteful experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank svkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Very comfortable. Downtown yet far enough South to avoid the cores craziness.

I really liked the layout and had the place to myself!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mia_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Very basic basement room with stark furnishing -nice people but defintely overpriced for what is offered

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank namescreen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Quite neighbourhood, only few minutes bus from downtown. Fantastic breakfast with fresh baked scones and very nice and friendly hosts. What could we ask for more?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lolaruns1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.5 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
4.4 km away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
3.0 km away
The Business Inn & Suites
2.5 km away
Downtown Bed and Breakfast & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 197 Hopewell Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1S2Z4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Bed and Breakfast. Includes a healthy breakfast. Up to date services (Internet, Business service, etc.). Clean. Quiet. Free parking. A 2.5 star rated facility. Three rooms (Atlantic, Pacific & Great Lakes) with queen beds and en-suite bathroom. Three budget private rooms (UW, UF & US) sharing a bathroom in our Annex. Suited best for single and couples. A smoke free property. No pets. Low scent and environment management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Bed And Breakfast Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing