We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal”
Review of Play Food & Wine

Play Food & Wine
Ranked #8 of 2,785 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$86
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Byward Market Area
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Family meal”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We loved Play! We came with our two kids ages 12 and 15. We ordered 5 tapas for 4 of us and it was enough for a meal without feeling too full. The red deer sausage was delicious! My kids loved the baked Alaska and Creme Brûlée for dessert. Great service too!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank spadakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    410
    100
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Small Plates”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

I did quite a bit of research before selecting this restaurant when we visited Ottawa and it did not disappoint. Our party (of five) came for lunch on a Sunday. We were early, so the place was quite empty. It did fill up a bit later. The deco was simple and clean.

We were promptly seated by the window. The waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and wine/beer. They offered "small plates", each around CAD$15. But at lunch, you could have any two plates for CAD$22 (what a steal)! Beer and wine were also reasonably priced.

We picked five different dishes and had two orders for each to share. The fried frog legs, grilled hanger steak, and duck breast tacos were all excellent. The pork belly was ok, but a bit too fatty for my taste. Clam with cucumber was only average. The portion size were very good and we were quite filled up.

Only one person of our party had a sweet tooth and she ordered the Pure's gelato. She enjoyed it.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 25 February 2017

My sister and I share a birthday and now that we're both retired usually have our birthday lunch together, though February weather is a bit chancy. Our Google Search for good lunch restaurants in Ottawa produced a TripAdvisor 10 best list which is how we ended up at PLAY this year. Wow! Great choice! Loved the Pork Belly and Hanger Steak. Loved the Baked Alaska with chocolate mint ice cream and the Crème Brûlée. Liked that there was a recommended wine with each main dish. Jason, our waiter was perfect ie attentive but never interrupting our conversation. And, we got candles on our desserts Lovely!

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mldlavigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

The food and service are consistently very good and because the tables are not crowded together, the ambiance is rather quiet and conducive to conversation

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Mariette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's alright for what they give you”
Reviewed 24 February 2017

They have a poor wine selection since they're either too young, cheap or sweet. However, the dishes are pretty good other than the fish dishes (I tried six dishes and only the fish dishes weren't that good).

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Play Food & Wine also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Play Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing