We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and service”
Review of Play Food & Wine

Play Food & Wine
Ranked #8 of 2,785 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$86
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Byward Market Area
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed 14 March 2017

A nice evening with the family to celebrate a birthday. Small portion but fun to share with other and taste a bit of everything. Wanted to try it for a while and wasn't disappointed

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TreeOfLife73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    411
    100
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not disappoint!”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We live in Northern NY so "escaped" the US for a few days. We researched restaurants and decided to try Play Food & Wine our first night. The idea of small plates and wine pairings sounded wonderful. We didn't have a reservation so we're given the choice of sitting at the bar or upstairs overlooking the kitchen. We chose the latter and had soooo much fun. The chefs were wonderful chatting with is and making recommendations. The food was marvelous!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant - Cheese and Drinks”
Reviewed 9 March 2017

A nice little lunch here. Excellent cheese and drinks to choose from. Cannot complain about this place. Also had good steak.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Tal_Hameed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved the concept”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We went for lunch and enjoyed the lunch special of 2 dishes for $22. This is a perfect place if you want to share and especially good if you want to try a few plates but dont have a huge appetite. Service was good . Wine choices by the glass were good. Food was excellent

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Us14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Play was delicious as usual and the staff were great. Nice lunch with family tasting each other's small plates. The gnocchi with blue cheese was lovely. The halloumi made a very nice appetizer.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank wombats62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Play Food & Wine also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Play Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing