We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLAY”
Review of Play Food & Wine

Play Food & Wine
Ranked #8 of 2,786 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$86
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Byward Market Area
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PLAY”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We where a group of 5 friends stopping by for dinner. Menu is varied and appeals to many different appetites and dietary preferences.
Great food and excellent service. Reserve for a special occasion

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    412
    101
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not the first time I have been pleased with this place”
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I am in Ottawa rarely but each time I try to make it to Play. Located in the Bytown Market it is easy to get to. It feature small plates of excellent food, perfect for lunch, which is when I go. The wine selection matches the food in quality, lots of choice. Service was first rate. It made for an excellent start to our Gallery visit.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed 14 March 2017

A nice evening with the family to celebrate a birthday. Small portion but fun to share with other and taste a bit of everything. Wanted to try it for a while and wasn't disappointed

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TreeOfLife73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not disappoint!”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We live in Northern NY so "escaped" the US for a few days. We researched restaurants and decided to try Play Food & Wine our first night. The idea of small plates and wine pairings sounded wonderful. We didn't have a reservation so we're given the choice of sitting at the bar or upstairs overlooking the kitchen. We chose the latter and had soooo much fun. The chefs were wonderful chatting with is and making recommendations. The food was marvelous!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant - Cheese and Drinks”
Reviewed 9 March 2017

A nice little lunch here. Excellent cheese and drinks to choose from. Cannot complain about this place. Also had good steak.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Tal_Hameed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Play Food & Wine also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Play Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing