We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best! A Must!”
Review of Rideau Canal

Rideau Canal
Book In Advance
More Info
US$72.82*
and up
Ottawa Highlights Half-Day Bike Tour
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Best of Ottawa Bike Tour
More Info
US$50.73*
and up
2-Hour Ottawa Express City Bike Tour
Ranked #3 of 267 things to do in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest landmarks in Ottawa, this canal is filled with boats in the summer and becomes the "World's Longest Skating Rink" in the winter.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Best! A Must!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I live in the area. I'm a year round runner and so I either run along the canal in the summer months or run or skate on it in the winter. I love "our" canal.

It is definitely worth walking along the canal in any season. The path are always open.

A real treat is to skate on the canal - "The longest skating rink in the world". Another must is the wonderful pastries called "Beaver Tales".

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,526
    1,136
    168
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mt gilead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique to see Hockey Canadians skate”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Winter Fest on the canal is beautiful. Ice sculpture is a must see. Nice warm city buses on a cold winter day. Dress warm, winters in Canada can be frigid. Skate rental is available to skate the seven mile stretch of the canal that bisects the city!

Helpful?
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Early Spring Not the Best Time?”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We walked to the canal to see the locks and either the frozen water with locals skating on it or, the water flowing with boats traveling along it. Sadly, our experience in late March 2012 was that neither activity was going on. Instead, we saw a nearly empty canal with trash lining it's banks and absolutely nothing happening. Guess we came at the wrong time of year.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mguelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“All we need is winter”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I went a couple times ( summer and winter), in the summer it very beautiful for walking, bicycling or roller-blade. In the winter, It's wonderful for skating or walking on the ice, but to be able to enjoy that , we need a winter...the ice condition depend on the weather all the time, so most of the time the canal is not open or many sections are closed because of the ice condition, It's been very bad this year!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LineBoutinActress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful for biking, walking, jogging...”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I enjoy the canal in the summer months. It's great cruise around, exercise and people watch. The grounds are well-kept and manicured. It's a little piece of serenity in a city-centre.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rideau Canal also viewed

 

Been to Rideau Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing