We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Save
Ottawa Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour
174

Book in advance
from
US$28.54
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Rideau Hall
from US$28.54
More Info
from US$65.59
More Info
from US$92.60
More Info
from US$45.00
More Info
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
322
241
53
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
322
241
53
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews governor general trees planted tent room official residence rose garden visiting dignitaries nelson mandela open to the public queen elizabeth ii guided tour nice grounds canadian history prime minister street parking excellent tour beautiful building guard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 628 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2019

We stopped off at Rideau Hall as part of the hop-on hop-off trolley tour and spent three hours wandering around. The free guided tour was very interesting and informative. All of the guides were friendly and really helpful. The grounds are worth a walk around, we enjoyed searching for trees planted by the royal family and other world famous leaders. We also enjoyed the changing of the guard at the front gate. Well worth a visit. Take lunch or a snack as there's no cafe on site.

Make a note of where the trolley bus stops as we couldn't find the bus stop when we left the Hall. Fortunately we waved at the trolley driver who stopped for us!

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Canada044
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant outing to the Residence of the Governor General of Canada. Thank you for taking a few minutes to write a review! Your positive and constructive feedback is very much appreciated and we will pass along the compliments to the guides.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2019

We did not tour Rideau Hall but this was part of our walk out to Sussex, the Falls and Rideau grounds. The guard are there and have a smaller version of the changing of the guards. You can follow along quite closely and they are very tolerant of pictures. Just stay out of the way

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank mifh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again at Rideau Hall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2019

It is the residence of the Governor General with free guided tour. The ground outside the residence is a peaceful and beautiful garden where visitors can take their time to enjoy. Too bad we visited the day after the storm and the flowers are destroyed. The residence itself has rich history, our tour guide (Gabriel) is very pleasant and knowledgeable. The residence's history/fun facts is definitely enhanced by his lively and interesting explanation. A very enjoyable experience.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Marieange L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know of your positive experience at Rideau Hall. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit! You are right: every square inch of the residence has its history!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2019

The tour is free. You need to make reservations. The guide was very informative, but I felt that the place was a bit unimpressive. I would not make visiting this place a priority. We took a cab to get there. The driver didn't recognize the place by name. We had to give him the address.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Ricmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2019

Thank you for providing details about your experience at Rideau Hall. I'm very sorry that your visit left you a little bit unimpressed.

I would invite you to contact me at guide@gg.ca in order to discuss your experience at greater length: I'm welcome to hearing any suggestions that you might have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2019

The GG estate is very nice to visit all year around. We visited in the early summer in order to tour the grounds and have a picnic with the kids. The lawn provides a nice place for the picnic and the kids could run free. They also have a small playground for the kids. A nice afternoon outing.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2019

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the grounds and had a lovely outing at Rideau Hall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews