We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Save
Ottawa Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour
174

Book in advance
from
US$28.54
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Rideau Hall
from US$28.54
More Info
from US$65.59
More Info
from US$92.60
More Info
from US$45.00
More Info
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
322
241
53
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
322
241
53
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews governor general trees planted tent room official residence rose garden visiting dignitaries nelson mandela open to the public queen elizabeth ii guided tour nice grounds canadian history prime minister street parking excellent tour beautiful building guard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 628 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

Rideau hall is the official residence of the governor general of Canada. It is free to visit and there are guided tours each day in English and French. It is a very unique place with lots of beautiful grounds to explore. I highly recommend the tour as you learn so many facts that you would otherwise miss. We were also impressed with the tree garden. Most of the trees here were planted by great leaders and people from all over the world. The tree pictured here was planted by JFK. There are plaques which tell you who planted each one. If you are here at the right time you can see the changing of the guard as well.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Franklinmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2019

There’s probably no place like an historic site to give you a glimpse of a city's history! Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2019

This place is great to visit. Not just the Hall itself, with all the history but the whole grounds. We love looking at all the famous world leaders who planted a tree on the grounds. I'd go again

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank dgordon2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2019

We would like to thanks for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at Rideau Hall, and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2019

We went on the Sunday of the Labour Day Weekend. There were guided tours of the residence throughout the day. You simply go and sign up (free of charge). They run the tours in English and French every 20 - 30 min. The tour is about 1.5 hours long.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Thank you for providing details of your experience of Rideau Hall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2019

We recently toured Rideau Hall under the guidance of Jacob , our extremely well informed and personable guide. He brought the story of this important building to life. Well worth the hour spent and I would highly recommend the visit.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KimVisitorServices, Assistant at Rideau Hall, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Thank you for taking a few minutes to write a review! Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and we will pass along the compliments to your guide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2019

Nice shopping centre but perhaps most of the expensive shops gathered in one place.Particulaly good when it is raining as there are some good cafes there.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank dacsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews