We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
243
280
110
42
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
280
110
42
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small mall mall across the street outdoor pool shoppers drug mart carleton university lots of parking restaurant downstairs room was clean and comfortable easy access excellent hotel front desk staff fitness center convenient location close to downtown great place to stay staying at this hotel hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 696 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for two nights as we were in town for a friends wedding. Everything was going smoothly until the second day (a Saturday). We ordered room service for lunch as we were getting ready for the wedding. My partner ordered a burger and after eating half of it, took the bun off and found a fake diamond that probably came from an earring or a necklace. We called the restaurant and asked for the burger to be taken off of our receipt - I was told they would call the room back in a few minutes but they never did. We had to ask the lady at the front desk to reconcile our bill when we were checking out the next day. They did take the charge off of the bill, but not one person apologized for the incident. The other issue we had was that we were on the ground level and there was some type of event in the conference rooms below us in the basement on Saturday night. We could hear people on microphones until 3:00 in the morning which didn’t allow us to have a good sleep. The rooms are not very sound proof for this. I’m sure if we were on a higher floor, we wouldn’t have been bothered. The swimming pool was located right outside of our room and we could smell cigarette smoke most of the night. I’m not sure if people were smoking by the pool or inside the hotel, but it definitely smelled gross. The staff were nice at the front desk and the room was in okay condition, but I will definitely look for another hotel the next time I’m in Ottawa and I will let friends/family know about our experience.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jessicamountenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niran A, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear jessicamountenay,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologize for the poor experience you had during your recent stay with us. I am truly disappointed to hear that we were not able to address the issue with your food order when it was first brought to our attention. I am also surprised to learn that people were using the microphone till 3AM which understandably disrupted your sleep. I will certainly follow up on your feed back to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking with the exception of 3 designated areas which are clearly marked and pool is not one of them. Regrettably we occasionally have individuals who ignore these by-laws and smoke anywhere they find it convenient. When ever we see anyone smoking in a non-designated area, we would redirect them to the appropriate spot. We take pride in delivering a superior experience for our guests and regret that we weren't able to do so in your case. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves so that we can provide you with superior hospitality and a comfortable stay which we are well known for.

Sincerely,

Niran Abeysinghe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

This hotel had all the basics you need for a short trip. It is slightly far outside the city so probably best for those travelling by car. Hotel facilities cannot be faulted everything was clean and up to standard.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niran A, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear Michelle J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with us. I am glad to hear that we were able to meet your needs during your short trip to the nations capital.By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Niran Abeysinghe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Not really city centre but if you have a car it’s a great hotel with free parking. There is a drug/superstore directly across the road and it is right on the bus route into town - perfect. The rooms are dated but huge and I mean huge. The beds are comfortable and it is very clean. A little on the noisy side but what hotel isn’t? All in all excellent hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank scatterbolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niran A, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Dear scatterbolts,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay. Yes the bus stop is right in front of the hotel which is such a convenience for any traveler who do not wish to take their car. One bus will take you to down town Ottawa. We are glad that you chose us to be your home away from home and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Niran Abeysinghe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Bus stop in front of door for quick access to downtown. Quiet neighbourhood with mall across the street and close to hospital too. Rockin Johnnies across the street has a great breakfast menu and price. Beautiful hotel and staff. We will stay again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niran A, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Paula D,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent experience with us. I am pleased that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Niran Abeysinghe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

We were greeted by a friendly and helpful woman (Sherri) who provided some awesome info on local happenings. When our AC stopped working they had maintenance there in literally seconds and got our unit up and working. We enjoyed a swim in the clean and perfect temperature pool! We ate at the restaurant, served by another friendly staff member and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Sagewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niran A, Manager at Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Dear Sagewitch,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent experience with us. I am happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectation. It is very rewarding to hear that such wonderful comments about your stay and great feedback about our staff. Yes, sherry is awesome with providing information about attractions, restaurant etc. She is truly a fountain of information. Great that you were able to enjoy a dip in our heated outdoor pool and was able to grab a bite in our restaurant.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Niran Abeysinghe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews