We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Home away from Home!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

When I am away on business my hotel has to be clean, good value and have lots of space! I do not want to sit on the edge of my bed to do my work. Albert on Bay will fulfill all your needs. The apartment is spacious, it is very clean, internet is free and the last unit I was in had been upgraded which was nice. The hotel has a small grocery store off it's lobby which carries all the things you will need for you full size kitchen. The hotel is also a block and a half from one of my favorite restaurants, The Baton Rouge. The only complaint I had this trip is the front desk staff was not very friendly. You get your first impressions from the staff and while this person did not do anything wrong she was not very friendly, nor did she welcome us back to the hotel after supper like other hotels do. This has not been the case in the past but it was this trip. It shows you how one incident can colour your impressions of a property.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tempoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    662
    102
    36
    18
See reviews for
1,016
677
87
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed for one night in a 2 double bed suite. The suite was the size of a 1 bedroom Appartment with a living room and kitchen ... It looked exactly as it appeared in the photos. Room/bathroom were very clean. Location was great. Lady at check-in was a bit intimidating haha but I can live with that.

P.S. parking is $22 with tax ... Average for downtown Ottawa hotels. Parking was underground.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hammer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the Albert at Bay Suite for one night and really enjoyed our stay. The price was very reasonable for a very large,beautifully upgraded room. There was a full kitchen, seperate bedroom and two bathrooms. It would be very suitable fo a family. There was a balcony but it just overlooked another part of the building. The front desk attendants were very friendly and helpful. We tried the hotel bar the Black Bear, and staff there were great too. Try the strawberry daiquiri if you go; it's delicious! The only thing I disliked was the 15 min walk into town since it was cold when we went. This wouldn't be a problem at all in summer. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city so you don't end up with a room facing the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa3333333333333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was surprised how reasonable the rate could be for such a large room. The hotel is clean and the rooms are very well put together and on the large size. It is a good walk to the market and stuff but the room and cost more than make up for it. I stayed there for business but will now stay there for pleasure. Staff was friendly. There are some rooms with no real views at all, looking into the parking, but others have a view onto the street. Makes no real difference unless you are planning to sit out. Despite the hotel being very full it was amazingly quiet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank easy-traveller-mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Surprisingly spacious suites, a destination point for long term stay. I only stayed one night, however if I needed long term stay I would choose this hotel. Price was right, I paid $99 for the night.
Living room – dining / work area spacious, bedroom with door.
Master bath shower, roomy enough single sink…may get a little crowded for 2.
Other bathroom has a tub, no hairdryer. Spacious
Both well lit, could use a shaving mirror.
Hairdryer 1600 W, and the model of dryer was good because you don’t have to hold the power on to dry hair. Therefore it’s “female friendly”
Bath & Bodyworks bath products in both washrooms. Shampoo, conditioner, body soap (bar) and hand soap. Towels are decent, hand towels a little rough, bath towels were softer.

Bedroom – queen bed, very comfortable with good pillows. Separate TV and lots of closet space.

Noise level – you can hear traffic outside, it’s not so soundproof however was quiet enough at night.
Kitchen fully equipped including dishwasher.
Generally the room was very clean, though I did find one pc of dirty cutlery in drawer. (steak knife)
Balcony – large, patio furniture available (though I didn’t request)
Balcony had not been swept, cigarette butts and a couple of pieces of broken glass. Not filthy, just not swept between stays?
Staff – very friendly, warm welcome. Inquiries answered promptly.
Well equipped room with 2 cordless phones. Good alarm clock / ipod dock.
Internet connection was good, though first security code didn’t work, however quickly resolved when I contacted reception.

Bear Paw – Bar & Grill was perfect, salad bar and decent selection and quality of food. Standard – nothing spectacular, but very pleasant and conveniently located at lobby level. Lucky weather was great, and patio was open.
Easy stay for smokers !
Parking lot, underground, I had no trouble finding a good spot near the elevators, felt secure as you need room key to enter garage and to access elevators.
This is not really an upscale hotel, the building itself is old and can use some esthetic updates, ex window treatments. Nothing was “broken” , leaves me feeling that it’s well maintained and clean.
The plumbing was weak, shower was fine but water pressure for both toilets was weak. Upon arrival, I was passed a notice advising that water would be shut down from 11:30 PM – 5:30 AM for maintenance, perhaps they’re working on this?
Bottom line, a very comfortable stay. It’s always a treat to stay in a spacious suite as opposed to regular hotel room.
Temperature control in room was fine, I didn’t need to make adjustment. Patio doors and windows can be opened as well for fresh air circulation, however watch the noise level during day. Noise was simply bus, general traffic. Ottawa is not NYC, therefore no honking etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingunderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My fianceé and I booked this hotel for a mid-week vacation to see some of the sights and sounds of the city of Ottawa (we stayed from March 28-31st). I cannot say enough of how SPACIOUS and CLEAN the suites were. From the moment we walked in the door and saw the fully equipped kitchen (yes, they have cutlery, utensils, even dish towels) to the huge living room area and kitchen table, to the two separate FULL bathrooms, we were impressed. All furnishings look new, and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. This is a fantastic hotel, and is central to so many things (Spark St. pubs, Parliament buildings are a short 15 min walk away, as is the Rideau Centre). We never had to call the front desk for anything as everything was always found in our rooms.

This was my fianceé's first time in Ottawa but I have been here numerous times (mostly for business). It is the best hotel I have stayed at in Ottawa to date. If you like the ability to cook your own meals on your schedule, this hotel cannot be beat.

Thank you so much Albert at Bay Suites!!! We will be back!

Byron & Simone

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Albert St are probably quieter, as the bus stops quite frequently on Albert St. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank byrong21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed two nights end Feb 2012. Suite was large, TV in bed and sitting rooms. Kitchen large as was bath. Comfortable large bed, modern furnishing. Three phones in suite, one in kithchen had the messages. Sitting room had hide-a-bed. Excellent value, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
284 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Property: Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite
Albert At Bay Suite Hotel Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing