We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
256
380
152
59
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
380
152
59
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen separate bedroom parliament hill within walking distance underground parking rideau canal byward market elgin st downtown ottawa bit dated minute walk own meals location is excellent indoor pool hot tub well equipped kitchen living area
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 877 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

This place has a few pluses but fails on one of essentials: air conditioning. The air system here is central air and that means when it reaches your room the temperature is what it is. This means no matter how many complaints you make they physically can't do anything to improve the situation in your room.i personally complained twice. The second time I told the desk I'm gone all day, so you have all day to fix it. Well the only fix was to open the screen door to the balcony late late into the night.

On the plus side the place was very clean if not slightly dated rooms. I want to adopt the cleaning staff and take them along with me. For rooms with kitchens, that was not what I expected for a place that would present a challenge to keep in great shape. Very nice rooms/place to stay.

It's difficult to deal with the no air problem especially with it being freakishly hot out side for this time of year. The lobby is greatly cooled but I think they would protest if I tried to sleep there, but then again when you are paying the high in season rate shouldn't you expect to spend it in comfort? This was a deal killer for me.

One thing I did like was the level of sound proofing in the suite. Being here for five days I never had to hear anyone around me. Balcony doors are doubled which does a good job of keeping street sounds out. Due to the hotels location (across the canal from the U of Ottawa ) we had an abundance of frat boy sports team members dominating the hallways/ pool so at least we didn't need to listen to them at night from our room.

For these reasons they don't do better than a 3/5.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuiteCartier, Public Relations Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Mac,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you pointing out your concern about the A/C unit in your suite and we have notified maintenance to look into this further. We are happy to hear that the spacious suites and in-room amenities were well appreciated during your stay with us.

We have passed your comments along to our Executive Housekeeper, so she can share with her team. They are professionals and we are so happy to see their efforts be rewarded and the impact they have on you, our guests be so positive.

We hope to see you on your next visit to the Nation's Capital.

Warm regards.

Cartier Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

Very nice hotel with plenty of room. We had the one bedroom suite and had plenty of room plus a full kitchen. Cleaning staff were very acommodating as was the front desk staff. Hotel is a little dated but you can't beat the location. Very close to all the sights near Parliament Hill. We were able to walk everywhere. There is parking under ground, however the ceiling is very low. Also had a washer and dryer on every floor which came in very handy for our family. If I had one complaint it would be the air conditioning. It did not cool off our suite very well. We did complain to the front desk and they sent someone down immediately. They said that it had to be turned on, but even after it was turned on it still did not cool off our suite. We also heard other people make this same complaint.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuiteCartier, Guest Relations Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Marla,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our convenient location, fully equipped kitchen and pet friendly policy were appreciated during your stay with us. You had booked our Standard Suite in the residence portion of the hotel where the suites are provided at discounted rates which you were able to take advantage of during your recent stay with us. If you prefer a more upgraded suite we suggest taking a Superior Suite or a Deluxe Suite in the main hotel. Our Sales Department would be pleased to provide you with a tour of our renovated suites the next visit to our Nation's Capital.

Warm Regards,

Cartier Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

I picked this hotel on Expedia. Our room had a double bed in one room and two twins in the next. It had a full kitchen with a coffee maker and coffee provided everyday. the room was a little dated as per other reviewers but clean. The staff was very friendly and we also ate breakfast one morning downstairs in the restaurant. It was a 15-minute walk to the war memorial and Parliament buildings.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuiteCartier, Guest Relations Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Heidi,

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the value for the money in our prime downtown Ottawa location. We are very proud to provide clean and spacious suites to our guests and are glad that you enjoyed that as well as the friendly and helpful service provided by our knowledgeable staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Ottawa.

Cartier Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights here last weekend and enjoyed it very much. We had a one bedroom suite on the 8th floor of the main building. It was clean and comfortable with a full kitchen which we hope to make use of on a longer future stay.

Each room has a mini balcony for two that we enjoyed quite a bit for our morning coffee. The only problem is the a/c venting onto it making noise and warm stream of air.

The hotel is just off Elgin St. that has a wealth of eating establishments within an easy walk. Be sure to walk past the McD's and go down to the Elgin Diner for breakfast.

Highly recommended and we will return.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuiteCartier, Guest Relations Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in Ottawa!


Cartier Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

We read the reviews on this site and decided to give it a try. A few things were positive; it is very close to a fantastic selection of bike paths...amazing! The hotel is also quite central if you want to walk to central Ottawa..it is a bit of a walk, but not too bad, and we have a toddler in tow! The area around the hotel also has a pretty good selection of restaurants- not all super for wiggly toddlers, but nonetheless! The room was okay- we thought we reserved a king, but ended up with a queen..meh, no Biggie. The fridge made a bit of a shudder and bang every once and a while, but again, not a deal breaker. A few things we didn't love- parking is NOT included.It is $30 a day whether you are underground (very low ceiling- our Subaru with a Thule top box wouldn't fit) or above ground. The above ground is the same price and vastly less convenient. It is behind the hotel, only has a small number of spots, and if you have bikes like us, you have to shlep them into the underground parking lot..through the hotel, which means into the hotel, down the elevator and into the bike storage room. If you want your bike out, you guessed it, back up the elevator, etc, etc. You cannot, for any length of time, lock them up behind the hotel , we were told. Ugh. It is kinda problematic with two bikes, a bike seat perched on top of one, and a toddler, let me tell you! The $30 a day for this pain in the butt is a bit hard to swallow. A heads up, you get an old school key for your hotel room door, plus a swipe card for the entrances. With a toddler who likes to hide things, we watched these like a hawk- you pay a deposit for these..I think it was $20. The front desk is usually quite busy....we frequently waited lengthy periods of time.e to ask questions, check in and even check out. Not a big deal, but annoying, and something other hotels have stream lined . We aren't sure if the savings were worth it in the end..it is a bit dated, but has some character. We have stayed in the Sheraton on Albert Street before and found this much better, but a little more expensive. Not sure if we would stay at Cartier Place Suites again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AMJ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuiteCartier, Guest Relations Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to hear that our prime downtown location was well appreciated during your recent stay with us. Thank you for notifying us of your concerns about the room key. Our key system for the suites provides for our guests; security and convenience over swipe cards that are easily deactivated, as well as for our Bike room, due to our fire regulations, and security we ask all our guests to put their bicycles in our designated bike room by the parking area.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to our Nation's Capital.

Cartier Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews