We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My spouse and I spent a couple nights at the Arc and were happy with our experience, although there are a few things that they could improve. The room was larger than I expected. We were upgraded from a queen to king room, but I still expected a tiny room. Everything was clean and unlike other reviewers, I could not hear my neighbors at all, which was nice because I am a very light sleeper. A noteworthy drawback was the staff service specific to the front desk (the doormen and valet workers were great). Many of the receptionists were not incredibly nice and a couple of them were rather smug. The other issue we had was with the thermostat in our room. It seemed to be out of whack, either too chilly or too hot... Not a terrible incovenience, just a little annoying. Overall, not the best place I've stayed at but a nice/average experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ast66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough and complimentary review of ARC The.Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and appreciate your constructive comments, using feedback like yours and other reviewers on TripAdvisor we continue to evaluate areas for improvement. Should your travels bring you back to Ottawa we look forward to being of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed at ARC a few weeks ago for the first time. It will not be my last. I was highly impressed with the proffessional, friendly and efficient staff that I encountered throughout the hotel. The rooms though not large are very well decorated and complete with all the amenities that a travel like myself looks for when on the road. The beds are comfortable, the water pressure in the shower was very good and the room, hallways and foyer are clean and well maintained. I also had the pleasure of enjoying a drink and meal in the restaurant/bar. The food and service were both exceptional. Ask for the Chef's almonds, they are fantastic. I average 75 nights a year in hotels on business, I will definitly be returning to the ARC next time I'm in Ottawa. Well done to the staff and management.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

ARC The.Hotel is thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We appreciate your business and your taking the time to leave a recommendation of our property. We do hope that we will be your home away from home in Ottawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We were welcomed with a bubbly, chocolates and smiley faces. The whole hotel had a friendly feel and has an artistic touch. The breakfast/brunch menu was different, well presented and enjoyable. The room was cosy.

Confederation park, Parliament, Rideau Canal and Byward mark are all within a walking distance. Would love to go back.

Amex deal made it even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JagaPravasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for your complimentary review of ARC The.Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel services, as well as, our unbeatable location. We would be honored to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Have recently returned from a short business trip in Ottawa and had the pleasure of staying at The Arc Hotel. Staff were extremely friendly, room was tastefully decorated and very clean. Because it was a working trip, I opted for room service and food and presentation were wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel for business and/or pleasure travel!

Room Tip: Opt for the deluxe King - the room is quite a bit larger than the Queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellewaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for your recommendation of ARC The.Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are happy to hear that you would return on your next trip to Ottawa. We will look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My team and I had the pleasure the use THE.ARC for a business workshop - we are regular clients and fans - and once again the experience was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience at ARC The.Hotel and would like to thank you for leaving a glowing review. We will look forward to being of service again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was our second business event in Ottawa, and having experienced excellent service the first time, we decided to come back. The service was excellent and the Catering and Event Sales Manager (NT) was completly devoted to our needs. Having done all of the reservations for this large group was very time consuming, and her spontaneous responses and availabiltiy was very well appreciated. She is sweeter than sugar.....
The hotel is immaculate and the private diner menu was very elaborate. Our out of town clients appreciated the efforts ;-)

Thank you (NT), we will be back...
This Hotel was like finding a pearl in an oyster...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniaConfidential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

We are delighted to hear that your group had such an enjoyable experience at ARC The.Hotel. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to leave your feedback and we hope to have you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Our office planned a xmas cocktail at the ARC lounge, and the events coordinator was extremely accommodating in preparing a parred-down menu for our group to ensure we would have quick service, and the kitchen could cope quickly in the event of large orders. Unfortunately we had a much smaller group attend due to weather, but that did not deter the quality of service and or limit the designated area they had reserved for us.The food was delicious, prices were reasonable (prices included tax and tip to simplify), and overall we would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

ARC The.Hotel is thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a recommendation of our property and we do hope that you will return on your next office event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
417 reviews
The Metcalfe Hotel
#20 of 68 in Ottawa
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#28 of 68 in Ottawa
1,496 reviews
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Address: 140 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $155 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa
ARC The Hotel Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing