We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,394)
Filter reviews
1,395 results
Traveller rating
545
511
206
93
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
511
206
93
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel glass of sparkling wine valet parking great boutique slater street downtown ottawa byward market rooms are small bottled water parliament hill business district valet service queen room comfy bed central location upon check major attractions
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,395 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2018

ARC is a lovely boutique hotel in downtown Ottawa. Walking distance to Parliament, the Market, Rideau Centre, Bank Street, Financial District - it's in the perfect location.
The hotel rooms are cozy with comfortable beds and good quality linens. Very clean and quiet with all the amenities you may need.
Front desk staff were very friendly, helpful and greeted us with a glass of champagne. They were more than happy to assist with dinner recommendations and assured us that if we needed anything, they would be eager help.
Valet and housekeeping were always full of smiles.
Room service is quick and very good. The lounge also has great menu items that are cooked to perfection. The lounge is also a nice spot to stop by for a good cocktail. The bartenders are very good.
Would be happy to return to this hotel soon.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennsAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, Front Office Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear Jnafire86,

I would like to thank you for such a wonderful review. We really value our guest's feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I will be pleased to share it with the team and colleagues. We pride ourselves in providing unparalleled customer service. We definitely look forward to having you back again in the near future. I will make sure to relay your kind words to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018

As part of our stay, we had a whiskey tasting. our host, Martin, did a wonderful job in presenting the general information on scotch whiskey and explaining how to approach the individual whiskeys. The atmosphere in the room was perfect and the food accompaniments were all delightful.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, Front Office Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Dear gavin m,
I would like to thank you for such a nice review. We really value our guest's feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I will be pleased to share it with the team and colleagues. We definitely look forward to having you back again in the near future. I will make sure to relay your kind words to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

Fire alarm went off very early in the morning and no-one came around to let us know what to do. yet the note that was left at the door later in the morning apologized for having to evacuate the building. We didn't evacuate at all; as I said we weren't even told what was going on.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank msonntag2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, Front Office Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Dear msonntag2018

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at ARC The.Hotel and rest assured the importance of our guests safety and security is paramount and above all else to us. The fire alarms were activated at 5:20am and as with any fire alarm it is expected for all guests to evacuate the building, the fire department were in attendance and ensured that the building was safe and secure for guests to return shortly afterwards. It is regrettable that you chose to not evacuate your room when hearing the fire alarms as when these are activated this is the signal for guests to leave their room or hotel and proceed to the evacuation point which is highlighted on the back of all hotel room doors.
Not soon after, guests were allowed to return to their room and a letter was posted under guests doors and we arranged complimentary coffee which was placed in the Lobby to apologise for the inconvenience, however, we would never apologise for ensuring our guests safety by having guests evacuate the building as I state again the safety and security of our guests is primary concern. Respectfully when fire alarms are activated this is the signal for all guests to evacuate the building and guests should not wait to be told otherwise.
We do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming back to ARC The.Hotel in the future
Warmest wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

We stayed at the Arc for 2 nights June 30 and July 1.The location is great, walking distance to the Parliament Building and all downtown amenities. Lucked out finding parking 4 blocks away because Slater street was going to be closed for Canada Day celebrations.
The front desk people were all very nice and friendly. Loved to be greeted with freshly baked gourmet cookies.
Our corner unit room was very small, could barely walk around the bed. The bed was next to the window and the air conditioning unit. It was very uncomfortable sleeping with the cold air blowing on you but because it was very hot in Ottawa, we had to keep the air on.
We will consider staying there again but will make sure to get a different room.

Room Tip: Don't get a corner room next to the air conditioner unit
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B1551YN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, Front Office Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Dear B1551YN,

I would like to thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate our guest's feedback, I am sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet all your expectations. We strive in providing our guest with the best customer service a hotel can offer. We hope to welcome you in the near future and live up to your expectation. Please contact the hotel or myself directly at Flariviere@arcthehotel.com to make your next booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Living in Ottawa, I had always thought this would be a great hotel. Having left and returned and staying here, I was right. The lounge is great, the rooms spacious, and location can't be beat. Right near Sparks Street and Parliament, you can't ask for a more interesting place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JamesSPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, Front Office Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear JamesSPC,

I would like to thank you for such a nice review. We really value our guest's feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I will be pleased to share it with the team and colleagues. Thank you for choosing Arc The Hotel as your preferred hotel in the capital city Ottawa We definitely look forward to having you back again in the near future. I will make sure to relay your kind words to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews