We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Great...Rooms not bad...there are better places in Ottawa to stay...”
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Reviewed 8 February 2012

First the positive: This is a modern hotel in a perfect location. The room price is reasonable. Its right across the road from the Rideau shopping center, about a 2 min walk to the Byward Market and 5 min walk to the Rideau Canal and Parliament.

However, I have seen reviews on Tripadvisor with the exact same issues we had on our last stay and it is crazy that nothing has been done to improve. The renovations of the front lobby are nice but guests doesn’t stay in the lobby, they stay in their rooms.

I travelled with my family and we are ALL frequent travelers both for business and leisure (across Canada/States/Mexico and Europe), and in all my travels and stays a hotel have I been in a position as ridiculous as I was in at Novotel Ottawa Hotel.

Travelled my father, sister and her husband. We reserved 2 suites. I stayed in one room on the hide a bed, my father had the King size bedroom. Fortunately, we were given the suite we had, it had a sliding door to close off the bedroom and we had an actual door and lock on the bathroom, so there was a sense of privacy. My sister and her husband stayed one floor up, in a smaller suite (small price per night) open concept and no bathroom door.

We had a suites so thought it would have everything we would need, hair dryer, couch (hide-a-bed) ,tv, office desk – but for some no explained reason, there was no bureau in our room. No where to put our clothes besides the small wardrobe in the livingroom when you first come into the room (and I am not going to hand up all my cloths). I am also not going to leave all my clothes in the suitcase on the floor (there wasn't even a metal suitcase stand to place the suitcase on) , so as to not have to bend down each time or sit on the floor to go through my suitcase, as result all our clothes were on the office desk, on the bed, the chairs and coffee table.
The next day my father spoke to an agent at the front desk and explained the situation to him, his comment "well this is more of a hotel for business men" He was insulted. As he habeend in business for over 30 years and never heard of such a thing. The front desk manager came out and acknowledged the crazy comment and stated he could move us to another room that had a bureau. Issues: 1) I am not going to move a room 2) why can’t they move a bureau from this” other” room to my room? 3) Why don’t all rooms have a bureau?

As a business traveler, personally, it makes travelling so much more enjoyable when you can unpack and make your room a haven from the stress and chaos of the day. But when you have no choice but to throw all clothes, all around the room, it does not make it haven.

It was very warm in the rooms and the A/C didn't really cool it down - fortunately, we had lower windows that we could open up to get freash air into the room or I don't think I would have slept.

Then there was the “fire alarm” that went off at 4 AM in the morning!! However, I want to complement the hotel on its security system, with in room speakers giving us information that the alarm went off in basement and not to panic, we don’t have to evacuate and more information will follow. Finally after about 1/2 hour, the night manager came on the speaker, turned off the alarm, stated fire department arrived and all is clear.

The following morning, it would have been nice to get a thank you for your inconvenience, free drink at bar, certificate (percentage off next stay) no just a letter in our room (see attached) sorry for inconvience.

I have stayed in other Novotels but won’t be returning to the Ottawa one.

Room Tip: Do not take the water off of the sensor pad - or you will pay $4.50 CAD per bottle of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank celticgirl_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear celticgirl_PR,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Ottawa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

This is a very modern hotel in a perfect location. The price is very reasonable... In my opinion, one of the more affordable hotels in Ottawa. Its right accross the road from the Rideau shopping center, about a 2 min walk to the Byward Market and 5 min walk to the Rideau Canal and Parlement. The rooms are a little on the small side, but there is enough space. The bathroom doors don't give a huge amount of privacy, so if this is an issue for you, that's something to keep in mind. The hotel has room service, a pool, fitness center and a restaurant... We didn't have a chance to try any, but they all looked nice. I would reccomend this hotel, and will stay there again for sure on our next trips to Ottawa.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Montreal Quebec
16
Reviewed 2 February 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ottawa
12
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Very dissapointed. I was expecting something much better such as Novotel Paris or even Montreal. No such luck.

The design of the hotel seems to have been an after thought of construction. It is connected to an adjacent suites hotel. I think it was originally a twin tower and it didn't work and they made rooms.

There is no elevator access to the parking. Not convenient for luggage.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Location is just steps from Parliament, great restaurants and short distance from ViaRail. Rooms are very nice and quiet but the customer service for rooms and business is outstanding. Competition wanted double the rates for everything. Good job guys, i will be back.

Room Tip: Smile and they wlll offer anything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Like every one else, the location is excellent! It is easy to get to and from 417. Although the parking lot leaves a little to be desired, many of the spaces would only fit a compact car and the elevator only serves one level. It might be better to park across the road at the Rideau Centre parking lot.As has been noted the rooms are compact but are adequate.The swimming pool and hot tub are a nice feature, however a good distance from the elevator. A co-ed steam room would have been nice rather than separate. I found the staff both friendly and effecient .
Good value for a downtown hotel, especially if you are able to take advantage of their specials.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here during NHL Allstar Weekend Jan 2012. The staff were helpful. Location was excellent for shopping & site seeing. 2-3' from the Rideau Centre. The hotel has an unusual layout. The floors are much like a maze with narrow corridors. The rooms are very plain and small. Very little drawer space. A few mirrors on the bedroom/desk wall would give it a larger feel. Bathroom & shower are fine. Room service was prompt with tasty food. The pool was a nice size. Overall the best feature of this Hotel was the location & price. Because of the small rooms - you will not want spend much time in them other than sleeping.

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank avalon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
2,154 reviews
Lord Elgin
#8 of 68 in Ottawa
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#17 of 68 in Ottawa
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Address: 33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#22 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $160 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 282 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $28+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing