We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It 'aint the Ritz but I'd stay there again happily”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It 'aint the Ritz but I'd stay there again happily”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I would tend to echo the majority of previous reviewers about this hotel. On the plus side it is incredibly well located and strolling distance from everything in Ottawa, it is good value and is clean and comfortable. On the downside it is somewhat dated decour and the two lifts can be slow at peak time. I found the staff perfectly helpful if not falling over backwards with enthusiasm.

A WORD OF WARNING! There is currently a major building site adjacent to the hotel (facing the Canal/Arts Centre). The first room they put me in was on the 9th floor overlooking it - and the noise was deafening! Work starts before 8am and finishes 4pm. I asked for a room change and was moved to the other side of the hotel without fuss (there is still a fair bit of traffic noise - but you're in the centre or town after all). So if you are planning on leisurely lie-ins or need to work in your room, and you wind up facing the building site, you will not have a good stay. I'd definitely ring ahead to ensure you are facing the street.

Two more things (i) as a European - I found the rooms spacious and comfortable. I think US travellers have grander expectations in terms of size and opulence. (ii) There is a cracking little cafe immediately to the left of the main entrance (as you leave) which does excellent and extremely good value breakfasts.

Room Tip: As above - not facing the building site - you want to be facing Albert Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    243
    226
    98
    60
See reviews for
198
194
46
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterrborough Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We chose this Hotel due to the fact it was close to Downtown and in walking distance to the Parliament Buildings. LOVE the fact that the whole hotel is SMOKE FREE! The lady who checked us in was very pleasant. We stayed in a room with a King Size bed for 2 nights. The room was spacious and beautiful. While we were at the hotel we even use the hotel restaurant. Which is called the bibliothèque. Great spot for breakfast. The only negative thing we could say was the parking, very tight quarters, wish this was free due to the inconvenience. All and all a great stay. We can see ourselves staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The staff at the hotel were welcoming and did an early check in for us. The suite was clean but worn - carpets and couch show the age (wear and tear and stains). Nothing housekeeping can do about this - the bath, kitchen, and bed were all cleaned well.

The living space, dining area and kitchen had sufficient space. The bedroom had two queens but was sized for one - had to squeeze sideways between the bed and closet. Lots of closet and drawer space.

No noise from other rooms but across from a major bus stop (both sides of hotel - one way roads) so be prepared for early mornings. Heaters have noisy blowers. The bed didn't feel comfortable at first but wasn't bad once you settled in. Lots of pillows and extra blanket.

The location is excellent - 5 minute walk to parliament, 7 - 10 minutes to market/Rideau Centre, 3 minutes to NAC. And, as I said, the bus stop is only steps from the door. We didn't have a car so I don't know about parking. No restaurant on-site. There is a breakfast/lunch restaurant attached but no dinner.

Even though it isn't a fancy hotel, it was comfortable and convenient with helpful staff. I always do early a.m.s so bus noise was fine. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnie1canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Chose this hotel because price was good for location. You get what you pay for. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, there were blood stains on comforter. Bathroom looked soviet era. No conditioner or hand lotion, only two bottles of terrible "conditioning shampoo". Exercise room was a dirty old hotel room with treadmill, exercise bike, and weight machine. The parking garage was a dilapidated (cones placed around fallen debris) and very tight. For some reason the front desk required you leave car keys with them even though this is not valet park. Television was an old Daewoo with broken remote, the advertised photo showed modern flat screen. Noisy location, worst night of sleep in my life. Front door dead bolt would not lock. Originally booked two nights but canceled second night and found great hotel down the street. Much better hotels in area for a little more money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Rooms: We paid extra for a fridge and there was a small mini fridge that didn't work. The air was extremely stagnant and previously a smoking room. The bedding looked like they were dirty or stained. We may have been in an older room but the condition of the room was not acceptable.

Location: Location was great.

Value: for the price, I won't be returning.

Reason for stars: I would give it a 1.5 because the staff was courteous. We called down right after going to our room to tell them that we would not be staying our 2nd night. The staff didn't even ask why we were leaving. I take it we weren't the only people leaving. I probably won't be returning unless it is for a free night and I'm in a pinch for a room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feedthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Clean, Cheap, no problems. I was only in Ottawa for about 12 hours and wanted something cheap as i knew i would only be in hotel for a quick sleep. Staff friendly, no restaurant mid week but i didnt care, very good price for this City. i recomend forsure if you on a budget

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaBob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We were a family of three people to stay in this hotel in October 2011. I liked almost everything about it. First of all, it is situated at only 5 minuted walk from the Parliament Hill. Then the room that we had was extremely spacious: one bedrooms with two double beds, a small kitchen with a microwave oven, coffee making facilities and kitchen ustensils, and a living-room with a convertible sofa-bed, one small table and one big one with chairs around it (I guess, it could be practical for a small meeting on a business trip). The room was nicely decorated and looked very tidy. Breakfast was not included in the room rate, but there was a cafe in the same building as the hotel, serving perfect breakfasts in a cosy breakfast-room (hotel guests have a 10 per cent discount there). Unfortunately, there was no restaurant in the hotel serving lunch and dinner, so, though tired, we had to go out in the evening to eat somewhere. Also the access to the parking space was very narrow, and it took us a lot of time to take our car out on our departure day. Apart from this, I liked the hotel very much and would recommend it to everyone who is going to visit Ottawa.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
0.6 km away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
0.7 km away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.0 km away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.2 km away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Property: Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Address: 88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 152 guest rooms and 10 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing