We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveller rating
82
322
282
108
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
322
282
108
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parliament hill byward market rideau canal short walk an older hotel limited parking within walking distance two blocks two queen beds war memorial bit dated small kitchenette huge room central ottawa other attractions living room sparks street
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 855 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Nice, older hotel right downtown. Room was clean, quiet and on 9th floor. Elevator very fast, staff friendly. Pick up a map of downtown at front desk and staff is happy to answer any of your questions. No fan in bathroom and bathroom quite small but room size was adequate.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Hotel based on your recent visit with us this fall. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your accommodations. We will most certainly pass along your kind comments to our staff, as they will appreciate knowing they had a positive impact on your overall stay. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again!

With thanks and kindest regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017

I stayed here on a family vacation touring various cities and had a suite and 2 rooms on the 5th floor. The location is great as it is close to major attractions and walking distance to some. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds, smart kitchen and bathrooms. In fact, the rooms were fine but the corridors are in need of a face lift or a change in carpets, as a minimum. If driving, the parking is offsite at a building diagonally opposite the hotel which was an inconvenience for us. Did not have much time to see around the hotel at their other facilities.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during you recent visit to Ottawa, and for taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments will be shared with the Management team, so that we can look at the areas we can improve upon. We hope for the chance to host you again during your next stay in Ottawa...

With thanks and kindest regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

We stayed at this hotel for a few days. We chose it mainly because it has a suite which was just large enough for 3 adults and 3 children. It also had a kitchenette, so we could make some food ourselves and save some money. The accommodations were nothing spectacular, but certainly for the price they were very reasonable.

The location is fantastic: well within walking distance of Parliament Hill and other central sites. For tourists, it would be very difficult to find a better location than this.

The parking is somewhat tight, so you may or may not get a spot depending on when you arrive. We had to leave our keys at the front desk so they could move our car if needed.

The bathroom was ok, but somewhat on the small side, and the tub drained very slowly. They sent someone to fix it while we were there, but we did not notice a great improvement.

The staff seemed friendly and helpful enough.

If you are looking for top-end service and facilities this is not your place. If you are looking to stay in a good location for cheaper than most other hotels in the area, this would be a great option. In our case, it was also one of the few places we could find that could accommodate 6 people.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stabdys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience based on your recent stay with us this summer. We are indeed a 3 1/2 star rated hotel, which is primarily based on the number and types of amenities that a hotel offers. Our amenities may be quite basic, but we do our utmost to offer clean and comfortable rooms with friendly service in a terrific location, and it sounds as though we met those expectations. We hope that you were able to enjoy everything that our location has to offer, and we hope for the chance to host you again during your next visit to Ottawa!

With thanks and kindest regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

Location was great but hotel is badly in need of a major upgrade. We were on floor 8, the room was small, carpet throughout looks old and tired, bathroom was very average with signs of rust everywhere. Rooms were cleaned but garbage was NOT taken out, generally it was like a rabbit warren trying to find a room. Only good thing was that staff were very friendly and helpful however not sure why they would want to work in this dump. Would not recommend.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MelodiousMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your accommodations. This winter we began a project to update our guest rooms but were only able to complete 76 out of our 155 rooms before the peak travel season began. However, work will recommence after Grey Cup at the end of November so we can make our Spring 2018 completion date. We are confident that our guests will enjoy the updates we've made, and have already received some great reviews on the renovated guests rooms and hope you will consider staying with us again so you can see the improvements first hand.

Kindest Regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 15th to17th good location near parliament building, Rideau canal and Byward market and close to hop on hop off bus. room faced main road , it seemed every bus in Ottawa came down this street, clean and tidy rooms but not luxury, friendly laid back staff

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DavidD6912HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during you recent visit, and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on your experience. The Hotel is spanned by the 2 main downtown bus routes, though when the underground transit system is completed in the next while, the amount of street buses may subside somewhat.

We are pleased to hear that we met your expectations, and hope for the chance to host you again soon.

With thanks and kindest regards,
Sherri Macki
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews