We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An unexpected trip extension” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Suites Hotel Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An unexpected trip extension”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife had a conference to attend in Ottawa, so our youngest daughter and I decided we would also go for the weekend, and we could visit our other daughter who attends the U of O. Now November in Ottawa can be either be quite pleasant, or it can be very cold and sometimes snowy, but we figured it would be okay as we were just going to be indoors most of the time anyway. That unfortunately ended up being all we did do, for almost a week.
Our daughter suffered a serious injury back in high school several years ago, and we knew that she occasionally suffered relapses that could be quite debilitating. These attacks were becoming fewer in numbers, and further apart. This had been a major concern when she accepted at Ottawa, but you have to have faith, and hope that everything would be okay. A few days before our arrival in Ottawa, she unfortunately had another relapse, and this was a bad one.
When we booked Les Suites, we had booked a suite so the girls would have a room, and my wife and I would also have a room. The suite also had sitting/dining room, a kitchen, 2 bathrooms with 1 of those an on-suite, and a washer and drier room. It was more like a condo than a hotel room. The suite was obviously very spacious and clean, but I felt it needed a bit of a face lift. It was very beige with very unaspiring brown artwork. This may have been okay for a weekend, but as our stay was extended due to our daughter’s health, it became somewhat depressing. When we initially realized that we couldn’t leave Ottawa, my wife went down to the front desk to inquire about extending the stay. She was told that they were fully booked, so it would not be possible. We immediately went into panic mode, and started calling other hotels. Luckily, the front desk called and said they would be able to extend our booking, and we would be able to keep the same room. So, despite the sea of beige, the rooms worked out perfectly for us. Because of the extended stay, we definitely made use of the laundry facilities, and the 2 bedrooms was exactly what we needed.
The lobby was undergoing some renovations whilst we were there, which didn’t really disrupt anything, except to get to the small snack bat attached to the lobby meant going outside the hotel a couple of times. The hotel does not have a restaurant, just the snack bar downstairs. It does have an indoor swimming pool that my wife and younger daughter made use of. The hotel is literally next to the Rideau Centre, which again my wife and younger daughter made use of.
For visitors who are new to Ottawa, the street signs do not give you much time to move over to the lane you may need, and traffic is pretty busy around the usual rush hour times. The hotel can be a wee bit challenging to get to the first time you try. Be prepared to loop around and try again, or try approaching from a different direction. The parking garage access is around the back of the building, and the parking spaces are fairly good size.
Just to finish up the story, our daughter ended up coming home with us, and was admitted to Toronto Western Hospital for a few days. She then went back to Ottawa and caught up on her missed classes. She was home for Christmas, and is again back in Ottawa…..fingers crossed everything will now be resolved.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Andrew,

I’m happy to hear that your daughter is doing much better and thank you for posting an excellent review regarding your November stay! Many parents of University of Ottawa students do stay with us and I’m pleased you enjoyed your suite and our fantastic downtown location. I look forward to providing you and your family a warm welcome back on your next stay in Ottawa!

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager
Ottawa Tourism’s Star Team of the Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    423
    147
    65
    44
See reviews for
463
222
41
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last year we decided to take off for the week end and maybe try our hand over in hull. We booked Les suites which turned out to be a great experience.We enjoyed getting dressed up and out to dine and also the spa right on the hotel grounds it self. What a great place if you are going away with friends or family, each can have their own sleeping area in the same room. A kitchen set up for your own meals. Very clean, well decorated, set up like a condo. Love it, great experience and would book again.

Room Tip: Depending on the number of people or couples booking you can book a room with more then one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sherrydawn,

Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review regarding your stay last year! Our fully-equipped suites with 5 appliances affords our guests all the comforts of home. I look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to downtown Ottawa!

Sincerely,



Chris Pierce
General Manager
Ottawa Tourism’s Star Team of the Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I had a short visit in Ottawa. Our stay at this hotel added so much comfort to our trip. The front desk offered us exceptional customer service. For 2 of us, we had a spacious suite with 2 rooms just like a condo. The hotel is conveniently located in Byward. We walked to the market and the Rideau Centre which was only steps away. A cafe on the main floor where they served pretty good coffee was a bonus. Couple evenings we even enjoyed wine in our suite. Ottawa was freezing cold while we were there, it was so nice to explore during the day & to chill at night. We will definitely stay here again next time!

Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yun Hui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Yun Hui,

Thank you for taking the time to post such an awesome review mentioning the service excellence of our Front Desk Team Members! Our location is perfect for our guests who want to walk to the majority of Ottawa’s attractions (historic Byward Market, Rideau Centre, Parliament Hill, museums, hundreds of restaurants, etc.). I look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to downtown Ottawa!

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager
Ottawa Tourism’s Star Team of the Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were married in downtown Ottawa on New Year's Eve and used Les Suites as our 'wedding' hotel. Everything was fabulous. They offered our guests a very fair rate, and communications were always prompt and pleasant during the planning process. Our bride and groom suites were ungraded free-of-charge, we were offered complimentary late check-out, any guest issues were dealt with promptly and politely, and the staff were accommodating without exception. Absolutely wonderful experience!

Room Tip: The suites are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jackie,

Congratulation on your recent marriage! It’s always a pleasure to receive a perfect 5/5 rating and I’m pleased you and your guests had a wonderful time at our hotel. Our Team Members are hospitality professionals and do go the extra mile to ensure all of our guests have an excellent experience. I look forward to providing you a warm welcome back on your next stay in downtown Ottawa!

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager
Ottawa Tourism’s Star Team of the Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Smell clean, was spotless. Full kitchen all equipped. great location. Personnel meet all our demands. Bed,pillow ,linen were perfect. And at a very good price considering the aneminities. i have traveled a lot since retiring and this is the best hotel ever.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slgauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear slgauthier,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community - we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us!

The spacious comfort of our condominium sized suites coupled with a hospitality team that genuinely has a passion for service provides our valued guests with consistently great experiences and we are so proud to know that we delivered that expectation during your stay with us!

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Chris Pierce
General Manager
2016 Star Team of the Year, Ottawa Tourism
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This beautiful and centrally located hotel is the definition of "bang for your buck!". My dad, brother and I were asked if we would like to upgrade our suite to a 3 bedroom suite for a lowered price. It was slightly out of our price range because we only budgeted for what we booked. When we received our keys, Pamela told us we will have a surprise in our room. She gave us the 3 bedroom suite for the same price. She is fantastic and this hotel is sweet! We have been coming to Ottawa as a family every year for 14 years and we will continue to stay at Les Suites.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lucas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Lucas,

I’m so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us! Whenever possible, our hospitality-minded Front Desk Agents will accommodate guests in the best possible suite to meet their specific needs. Our Two-Bedroom Family Suites (with 3 regular beds) are perfect for sharing! I look forward to continuing to host you and your family on future stays in downtown Ottawa!

Sincerely,


Chris Pierce
General Manager
Ottawa Tourism’s Star Team of the Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Les Suites is a great hotel. The suites are huge when compared to your average hotel room with a completely separate bedroom. They are more like apartments with a full kitchen, a large bedroom, dining room table, couch area and two TVs (one in the main room and one in the separate bedroom). The hotel is across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre and the Byward market as well as the transit hub for Ottawa. There is a lot to do in this area. The only thing I would say that I am not a fan of at this hotel is that the layot of rooms can vary and for someone who is a repeat customer like me who stays more than 10 - 15 nights a year it is difficult to confirm the room type you will get. It would be great if you could choose the room type upfront rather than hoping you get the one you like. Some rooms have a kitchen that is more open concept while others are closed off. We prefer the open concept one but this can only be guaranteed if they are available when you check in. I also think it would be nice to have some kind of enhanced selection of room for guests who are repeat customers. Otherwise, the hotel is totally awesome, the staff is friendly and they will treat you well. They are upgrading the lobby currently and renovating areas of the hotel but it was not disruptive to our stay. Thank you Les Suites for feeling like a home away from home. I just wish there was a better way to confirm the room type you get.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an open concept kitchen but you have to request them at check in and they are not gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestSuites, General Manager at Les Suites Hotel Ottawa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Brad,

Thank you for your awesome review mentioning our fantastic downtown location within walking distance to the majority of Ottawa’s attractions! Thank you for also mentioning our friendly Team Members. As you noted, we are unable to guarantee specific suite layouts but do our best to accommodate guest requests on check-in. The one-bedroom open kitchen layout is only available in a limited number of suites (one per floor). I greatly appreciate your continued patronage and I look forward to providing you a warm welcome back on your next trip to downtown Ottawa!

Sincerely,



Chris Pierce
General Manager
Ottawa Tourism’s Star Team of the Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 66 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lord Elgin
#18 of 66 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 66 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 66 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Hotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Hotel Ottawa

Property: Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Address: 130 Besserer Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Suites Hotel Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Les Suites Hotel, Ottawa, you really do have the best of everything-the luxury of a great location and the comfort of spacious elegance. Situated in the heart of downtown Ottawa, Les Suites Hotel is next door to great shopping at the Rideau Centre and surrounded by fine dining and entertainment. Ideally located near major travel routes, government offices, and popular attractions, we offer the perfect location for business travelers and leisure guests alike. Les Suites Hotel boasts spacious One Bedroom Suites (700 sq. Feet) and Two Bedroom Suites (over 1000 sq. Feet) complete with full kitchen amenities, ensuite washer & dryers, seperate living and dining room and private balconies! Arrive Empowered and Leave Refreshed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Suites Hotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Les Hotel
Les Suites Ottawa
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing