We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very happy with my stay here!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very happy with my stay here!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I've been staying here a week, and still have another week to go. I am very happy to have chosen this place. The room is a large suite, almost like an apartment (livingroom, kitchen, seperate bedroom). The rooms are recently renovated, they are decent, and very clean, and the service is excellent. Also, I find place noiseproof, I don't t hear any noice from other rooms (even though it's pet friendly) or from the traffic outside. I was a little concerned at first that the check in is on the 4th floor, as I felt people could just come in off the streets and roam the hotel, but they lock the front doors at 10pm (only those with hotel cards have access) and after a week, I realize that really there aren't any concerns, they monitor. They have great free breakfastes every day (much better than a traditional continental) and they have 2 or 3 nights of what they call Manager's Socials, which is basically a free supper as well. And the food room is large enough, so it doesn't get over crowded. The hotel is centrally located to many things, and really, I don't think you could get a better spot. 5 minutes walk to the Parliament, about 7 minutes to the Rideau Centre, about 10 minutes to the Byward Market, about 20 minutes to the Nature Museum etc.. Liquor store is about a 4 minute walk, convenient store is about 2 minutes away, and if you want to do a small grocery (since there is a kitchen in the room) it's only about 5 minutes away. Or, the hotel will do your grocery for you for free. The gym and pool are also decent. This is not a luxurious high end hotel, but it's clean, comfortable, nice, and the for the price and what you get (including the location), this hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    350
    106
    33
    7
See reviews for
310
119
28
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel has recently been renovated. Great location, nice looking hotel and the staff is great. They offer a full complimentary breakfast in the morning and on certain evenings they have snacks. Definitely a place to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Guest Services Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read you wouldn't hesitate to return. As the Residence Inn by Marriott prides itself on being "a home away from home", we try to offer all of the conveniences you would need during a short or long stay. I know all of the associates from each department take pride in providing exceptional and helpful service. I am happy to pass this nice comment along!
Thank you for making us aware of the noise from the dishwasher and exhaust fan. I have brought this to the attention of our Maintenance Department and hopefully a small adjustment can be made.
I do hope we have the chance of welcoming you back next time you are in Ottawa.
Kindest Regards,

Sarah Bolton
Guest Services Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

While staying in Ottawa for business, I was looking for a convenient, affordable hotel and this fit the bill. Complementary breakfast was excellent containing both hot and cold choices in abundance. I had a nice studio room with a kitchenette so was able to cook in my room or not as I chose. There are number of resturants within a very short walk as well as a mall in one directioin and a downtown shopping and convenience stores nearby. Staff was friendly, helpful and prompt when something was requested. I would not hesitate to stop their again.

The only downside is that the dishwasher was a bit noisy as was the exhaust fan, and the neighboring showers could be heard in the morning. As I was by myself, this didn`t really bother me much, but could prove annoying for families where one is trying to listen to the TV or radio while the dishwasher is running. i just ran it while I was out.

Room Tip: I was in a high up room on the front of the building, but did not find the traffic noise the least b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travlinclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

I stayed in a suite with a king bed that needs to be updated. It is a nice big bed, but very old and not comfortable. The room was huge and had a full kitchen and living room and large bathroom. It was very clean and the staff seemed helpful. I would stay here again once they change the mattresses.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesandalsnegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
724 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel is located in a very good location, close to Parliament Hill, the Byword market and the Art Gallery. We had a room reserved for three (ourselves and our son) which was supposed to have one Queen sized bed and a sofa bed. When we checked in at about 3:00 PM they assured that the sofa bed would be made and ready. However, when we went to the room, the sofa bed had no sheets and was not made. We informed the front desk and then we went sightseeing. On returning after 11:00 PM we were distressed to find the sofa bed still not ready. We called the front desk, and they immediately upgraded us to a much larger room with two queen sized beds. We were quite impressed with that. We were even more impressed the next afternoon when we arrived to our room to find a box of chocolates, an apology card from the manager and inside the card a $50.00 gift certificate to a nearby restaurant! We thought the hotel treated us more than fairly.
The upgraded room was great as it had a separate sitting area with a television. The complimentary breakfast was quite good although the breakfast area was very busy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Guest Services Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you very much for your recent comments reflecting your stay with us. We were sorry to read that your first request was not met regarding the sofa bed. The fact that the front desk turned this situation around quickly for you speaks volumes as to the service they constantly strive to provide. We are happy that your stay ended up being a great experience for your family. The One-bedroom suites are perfect for a family travelling together as it allows that extra space to relax and unwind.
All of us at the Residence Inn by Marriott hope you will return during another visit to the city!

Best Regards,

Sarah Bolton
Guest Services Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

When you are booking a Mariott Residence Inn you know what you can expect. This one is in the middle of Ottawa. The location is perfect, everything is in a short distance. Only if you want to go to the Byward-Market where a lot of bars and restaurants are you need a few minutes more. The rooms are big and clean. Breakfast is included and ok, you have what you need but nothing more. If you are in Ottawa for sightseeing the hotel is definitively a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeye-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I booked this hotel for a business trip after discovering that all other options were either sold out or cost prohibitive.

The lobby is located on the 4th floor which is a bit unusual but no big deal. The parking garage is horrible... very cramped & hard to manuever, almost hit the walls a few times while going around corners, dark and very low ceilings... don't plan on driving a big SUV down there! The garage elevator was also out of order during our visit which was a minor inconvenience but added to the distaste of the parking situation!

While they didn't have any King rooms available, the one bedroom suite w/ double beds was huge, with a full kitchen, huge living area, desk, flat screen, sofa, table/chairs, a big bathroom & separate bedroom area with another flat screen. I never even touched 2/3rds of the room but it would be perfect for a bigger party or for an extended stay. You can tell that the hotel is older but the room was clean and adequately equipped. The beds were a bit on the hard side but the multiple pillows (four on each of the double beds) made up for it.

Free morning paper outside your room in the AM. Breakfast was busy, free yet fairly average, choices included fruit, yogurt, cereals, eggs, sausage, coffee etc... Centrally located, close to Elgin Street bars/restaurants and about 1.5 kilometers from Byward Market, Parilament etc...

Would I have preferred Fairmont Chateau Laurier (twice the price) or The Westin (sold out), yes... but the Residence Inn ended up being an OK alternative for a short business trip.

Room Tip: Book a suite if you want to spread out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drgnfly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 66 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Lord Elgin
#19 of 66 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown
Byward Market Area
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 66 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
Address: 161 Laurier Ave W, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5J2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing