We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,170)
Filter reviews
1,171 results
Traveller rating
455
522
143
39
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
522
143
39
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenbyward marketparliament hillone bedroom suitetim hortonslarge living roomwithin walking distanceparking garage isfree breakfastottawa downtownconfederation parkwasher dryersofa bedbit datedexcellent locationyogurtthe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,171 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Our room was very large, however it has not been renovated in a very long time. I am surprised it still has it's Marriott flag. The air conditioning unit was so loud that it woke us up numerous times during the evening. We ate breakfast one morning, but it was so crazy, hectic that we decided to skip the complimentary breakfast and go elsewhere the next morning for a more relaxing meal.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Thank you very much Jodi B,

We appreciate your honest feedback, and it very fair and informative to any potential guests considering a stay with us.

We do hope to begin our renovations in the new year, and the final plans are being reviewed at this time. We are excited to see what the future holds for us, and we expect that we will see some changes that will improve all aspects of our hotel (including the a/c units and breakfast room).

Breakfast in the summer can be extremely busy. We work hard to keep food coming out, however we can run out of seating (especially in the last hour of service). We advise our guests that an early breakfast is generally more relaxing and less busy than a last minute breakfast.

We hope that you enjoyed our convenient location and found the staff friendly and the rooms to be clean. Until our renovations are completed, we focus hard on finding the right team to deliver the best service we can.

Should you have any further questions, or I can assist in anyway, please let me know.

Regards,

Douglas Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
douglas.crosbie@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

This is our 2nd time staying at this hotel. The suite is nice and modern. Fairly clean except the sofa and the cushions of the sofa. Having a kitchen and breakfast is included are nice for travelling with a baby. We can make his meal in the room. We don't need to take an extra trip to get breakfast and can easily go back up for his nap after breakfast. Food is okay. It doesn't have a ton of variety nor blew us away but it was as expected as others offer "free" breakfast. It is not that far away from everything. It's only about 20min away from anywhere we need to go.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Dear Ivan H,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, and for returning to the Residence Inn Downtown Ottawa! We hope you had a relaxing time on your trip.

Should the need arise to return again, please feel more than welcome to contact me directly for assistance. We appreciate your loyalty, and look forward to seeing you again someday!

Regards,

Douglas Crosbie
Guest Services Manager
douglas.crosbie@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018

This hotel is excellent for families as it has big beds, a sofa bed (in a one-bedroom suite), a kitchen. It is clean enough but, overall, facilities are dated. It is located about 5 blocks south of the Parliament Hill and the hotel serves breakfast. Breakfast next to the hotel reception area on the fourth floor can get crowded though. Underground parking is available for $23/day with in/out privileges.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Serendipity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Thank you very much Serendipity8,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. Your feedback should be helpful to any guests considering a stay in our hotel. We are currently in the planning process for our renovations, and hope to see this begin in the new year.

Regards,

Douglas Crosbie
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018

This hotel is seriously outdated. It could be a historic period hotel … if the 80s was a period. We stayed in a one bedroom suite containing two queen beds and a pull-out couch. The pull-out couch had threads hanging out of it. The furniture was a random jumble spanning the 1960s to the 1980s. The only appliance from the current century was a flat screen TV. The wifi was limited to 5 devices - not much use when there are 4 people in the room. I called the front desk to get an authorization code for more endpoints … but it expired within 24 hours. The bedroom had a door, but we couldn't close it because there was only one thermostat in the entire suite.

On the positive side, the staff were generally pleasant. The breakfast buffet was typical for a Residence Inn, although the juice machine was very diluted (one morning, the apple juice was visually indistinguishable from water).

The Marriott website rates this as a category 5 hotel, but I've seen better rooms in a Best Western. Obviously the rating is due to its location. Apparently I booked at a peak period - it cost me over $300/night all up.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bcleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Dear bcleopard,

Thank you very much for your feedback, and I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations for both Marriott and for our hotel.

You are absolutely correct that our hotel is due for a refresh. We are working on plans, and we are all very excited to see some major changes ahead. Until then we work hard to keep everything clean and presentable, and find the best staff to ensure that we are providing value to our guests. I do hope that you found this to be the case.

Should you ever return to Ottawa we would love to have you back to see what changes have taken place.

Regards,

Douglas Crosbie
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018

We stayed here for one night during our recent trip to Ottawa. I have stayed previously in Gatineau and liked it, but this time we wanted something closer to the downtown as we wanted to visit all the places we could not previously due to parking issues.

The hotel has its own parking garage, with a fee of 23 CAD per night, not bad for downtown parking. The parking tag asks to remove the car by 1 PM but the staff was very lenient about it and we cold park till later on our checkout day, no issues at all. May be because the hotel was full.

Check in and check out were easy. We stayed in a suit - as we were 5 people (3 adults + 2 kids). Presence was kitchen was bonus. Living room and bedroom were spacious and clean. Bathroom clean, nothing special but no issues as well. Two TVs in both rooms. There was a sofa bed in the living room, we tried to convert it to bed but did not seem comfortable at all and gave up on the idea of using it. Breakfast in the morning was usual as any continental breakfast. The internet was free as a marriott member.

The best part about the hotel though - you can walk to all the places downtown - the embassies, parliament, the canal and the river cruises and the restaurants. You can walk to all the places without breaking a sweat! Both the kids were fine and happy walking around.

I think it is good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chittal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear Chittal R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Ottawa, and our location made it easy for you to get around.

If you should ever have the need to return, please feel more than welcome to contact me directly for assistance. It would be my pleasure to assist you with your plans.

Cheers,

Douglas Crosbie
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews