We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous trip back to the Ottawa Westin”
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Ottawa
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous trip back to the Ottawa Westin”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We returned to the Ottawa Westin for the first time in almost 15 years on the last weekend in Feb! We were promptly upgraded (thank you so much!) to a deluxe king room on the 16th floor with a stupendous view of the Parliament buildings and the Chateau Laurier. Just loved it! We enjoyed turning the comfortable reading chairs around and just drinking in the incredible view. Beautiful modern contemporary decor. The room was very spacious with a very comfortable king bed and beautiful bathroom. Loved the shower!!!

Many hotels are dog friendly but the Ottawa Westin is truly dog friendly! We felt so welcomed by the friendly valets at the front entrance and all the staff at the front desk. Lots of dog lovers work at this hotel! From the delivery of the Heavenly dog bed to the dog dishes, it was special attention that we really appreciated.

We enjoyed dinner at The Shore Club restaurant attached to the lobby. It was certainly on the high end for cost but the service was outstanding and dinner was delicious.

We will definitely be returning soon to the Ottawa Westin and not letting another 15 years pass by!

Room Tip: A higher floor room has wonderful views in any direction but the Parliament buildings/Chateau Laurie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieVan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear KatieVan13,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us from start to finish, and that you were able to enjoy our beautiful views in your upgraded deluxe room.I look forward to welcoming you (and your dog!) back to the hotel in the near future.

Be well,
John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    595
    213
    84
    31
See reviews for
415
506
97
822
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Westin is absolutely amazing and would definitely stay here again!

Check-in was quick and efficient. Room was large, clean, and modern. View was spectacular!

Convenienve of being close to all amenities in downtown Ottawa and the hotel is connected to the Rideau Centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The decor is very modern and sleek. The rooms are very comfortable and new. I stayed on the 22nd floor and had a nice view of the city. It's connected to the mall--bonus, two Starbucks--bonus, and many of the tourist attractions (canal, Byward Market, Parliament, etc). The service was very good as well. It's just too bad that the wireless was really, really spotty. My iPad (wi-fi only) was not useful for email/browsing on such a weak network. They provide a cable so you can connect directly to the router--only useful for the laptop, not for the iPad.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spunkinspades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear spunkinspades,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to read that you were fond of our modern décor, and that you enjoyed the views from your room and the amenities nearby. I apologize, however, for the inconsistency in the wireless signal during your stay. Several of our signal towers were down, which unfortunately resulted in inclement service for a short time. I assure you this is not the type of wireless service we typically provide, and we worked diligently to restore the wireless service as soon as possible. I am happy to report that all towers are functioning properly now, and our wireless internet is functioning at optimal levels.
Once again, thank you for your comments, and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Be well,
John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked a night away for our anniversary and really chose the right spot. Jr. Suite was wonderful. Large, great view, very clean. Took our son for afternoon swim prior to him going to a friends for sleepover. Our room was not ready, but they gave us a key to pool room. Busy weekend as it was family day so our room was not quite ready in time. We were quite surprised to have special delivery to our room with card for our anniversary. (chocolate covered strawberries were delicious, thanks Kim.) Would recommend that room to anyone! Fantastic.

Room Tip: High up room on corner, fantastic. Although check if it is too close to elevator as it was slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Cynthia J,

Thank you for your comments! I am honoured that The Westin Ottawa was your destination of choice for your anniversary celebration. I am thrilled to read that Kim helped to make the occasion even more special, and I hope to welcome you back for many happy anniversaries to come!

Be well
John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here for 1 night at the end of Winterlude. I used to come to the Westin with my family over 20 years ago and it's as nice as I remembered.

The staff was amazing, emailing us before we arrived asking if we needed anything. I asked for a humidifier and it was already in our room when we checked in. The room was massive (we got upgraded from my status) and very nice.

The pool was smaller than I remember (but I was 10 back then) but my wife noticed it was salt water which made her happy. They have squash courts too which I didn't know.

The location is great, 5 min from Byward market, attached to Rideau Centre. Easy walking distance to Parliament hill. We walked to Jacques Cartier Park across the bridge for the Winterlude snow park and it was about 30 minutes.

Parking is expensive at $20 with no in/out privileges or you can pay $32 for valet and in/out is ok.

Didn't try the restaurant as it was much cheaper to eat in the mall or at the market.

All in all, a great experience again.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our first time in Ottawa during Winterlude. The Westin is the perfect location for skating on the canal (literally across the street). The rooms are gorgeous and luxurious with excellent service. Salt water pool and top notch gym is great. Spa is right next door or you can enjoy in room massages. Shopping linked indoors via a bridge to a huge shopping centre and local Byway market is one block away with local shopping and goods. Excellent restaurants nearby within walking distance from haute cuisine to cheap eats. Don't miss $4.89 made to order italian sandwiches at local italian specialty market and beavertails on the canal. The ice sculptures, ice slides and fun in the park and a 15min drive to Quebec to the casino. You can walk to the Parliament Buildings and dress warmly if going to Winterlude and enjoy.

Room Tip: High floor with view of canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupleWhoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Wonderful weekend with my family, outstanding service with every associate we came in contact with. the room was comfortable and spacious highly recommend the westin

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCLCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear SniperMonkey,

Thank you for your comments! I am thrilled to read that you were able to enjoy the Winterlude festivities, and of course that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again, perhaps for one of Ottawa’s summer festivals! If during your next stay you would prefer toiletries with a more neutral scent, simply notify one of our guest service agents and we would be happy to accommodate.

Thank you once again for your review, and be well,
John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Lord Elgin
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#12 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Ottawa

Property: The Westin Ottawa
Address: 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is near Parliament Hill and the scenic Rideau Canal, historic sights and world-class shopping at the adjoining Rideau Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Westin Ottawa
Westin Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Westin
The Westin Ottawa Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing