We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ... home from home accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 54 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location ... home from home accommodation!”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Went to visit my youngest daughter at Ottawa U and stayed in this homely B&B. My eldest daughter and I were greeted by Richard and Sunny (such a wonderful, friendly dog!) and Richard gave us the tour of his lovely home. We parked our car and were able to walk to the University and in fact did not use the car until we were ready to leave for home. Great location. Friendly host. Breakfast was fresh and home cooked. Will definitely be back for future visits.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louiseh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    101
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
272
40
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We made a two day trip to Ottawa after Christmas, and decided to stay at this bed and breakfast due to the wonderful reviews it received. We were not disappointed. Richard was such a wonderful host, it felt more like staying at a friend's than a bed and breakfast. He gave us a quick overview of the wintertime sights in Ottawa and directions for walking to most sites from his house. He even pointed out the best places from which to take pictures. We had full access to the front sitting rooms on the main floor, and to the dining room for breakfast, in addition to our rooms (we had two rooms). The house was warmly decorated for Christmas, and we especially made use of the cozy gas fireplace in the front room, after an evening walk in the freezing cold. He provided a parking spot behind the building. Everything we would want!

Breakfast deserves a special mention. No smorgasbord of cold cereals and dry muffins, this! We had fresh fruit, the most glorious muffins EVER, superlative croissants, preserves, granola, yogourt. In addition, the first morning we had eggs and the second morning, pancakes (the best I've ever had). Wow.

We stayed in the tower room, and our son in the adjoining room. They were very cozy and warm, even in the midst of a cold snap outside and we spent quite a bit of time in the rooms themselves.

In short, we wish there were a B and B like this in every city we visit! We absolutely recommend it, and you can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlandCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Richard was a great host and when we arrived gave us lots of information and maps to make the most of our sight seeing in Ottawa. We stayed upstairs in a very large room facing the road. It was quiet though and we had a balcony with table and chairs. The shower is over the bath and quite small. We walked everywhere and felt safe. Loved the Byward Market area at night. Breakfast was the same both days with delicious fresh fruit, home cooked muffins and scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debba123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the King Edward Bed and Breakfast this past November. What an enjoyable experience. The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas. I felt like I was walking into the sef of one of those wonderful vintage Christmas movies. The breakfasts were perfect and Richard the perfect host. He made you feel like a welcome friend instead of paying guest. He was most solicitious regarding our comfort checking if there was anything he could do for us. The crowning glory was Sunny. I have two large dogs and we travelled without them. Having a dog "fix" was the perfect thing. He was lovely and so well mannered. He never forced himself on you, but just one little "invite" and he was completely yours for a few minute. I would recommend The Sandy Hill "King Eddie" to anyone and hope that I have not "recommended" myself right into a "No Vacancy" sign the next time we head to Ottawa. I just don't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked beaufiful but it was wonderful to have the large room with the ensuite and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

There are many reasons why I will go back to Auberge...

1. Richard the host is a very nice person and a great host. He and Sunny (his dog) welcomed me in their very special way. He gave me simple small map about the area and informed me where to go for sight seeing, eating, shopping, museums etc; and also show me which way best to go there to get best view.

2. The house is old and gorgeous ! I do love old houses, so this is a right place for me. I was there on December, Richard decorated it with Chirstmas ornaments and he did very good ! The Christmas tree was one of the best I ever see. And oh I love the greens Richard puts in the house, including in my room. My room is lovely, I love it, and it's big.

3. The breakfast is excellent ! I had my best omelette there, with cheese and mushroom. The fresh from the oven croissant and blueberry muffin they make every morning are very yummy. The smell is all over the house ! I had great breakfast time with Richard and the other guests with our talks.

4. The B&B is in good area, I go everywhere by foot !

5. Sunny is a very cute big dog ! I miss him already.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gold144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We were treated like royalty for three nights on our recent trip to Ottawa. The tower room was huge, comfortable and furnished with period antiques. Breakfast was fit for a "King" and included delicious homemade muffins and croissants -- yummmmm !!!
Best of all, Richard was a fountain of knowledge, providing maps, guidance to the major sites and with help from other guests, fantastic restaurant recommendations. Our stay was made even more special by Sunny, the playful and talented dog, and Kiwi, the parrot.
We look forward to another visit and enjoy your new fireplace !!!
Thanks Richard ---- P&C

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cher I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My daughter and I stayed here instead of a hotel and we were so happy with our choice! What a great house! The house was decorated beautifully for Christmas and breakfast was wonderful! Richard was very helpful with calling us a cab and giving us directions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Lord Elgin
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
291 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#8 of 67 in Ottawa
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast

Property: Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast
Address: 525 King Edward Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7N3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Edward B&B is a century-old heritage home in the downtown area of Sandy Hill. It is the closest accommodation to the University of Ottawa. Because of its central location, this B&B is within easy walking distance of all major attractions in the city including Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal, the National Arts Centre, the National Gallery, the Congress Centre, the Museum of Civilization and the ByWard Market. Most guests who come here never use their car because of our location. In its 20th year of operation, this B&B offers unsurpassed Victorian decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge The King Edward Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge The King Edward Bed And Breakfast Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing