We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Swiss Hotel, Ottawa, Canada” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss Hotel
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Swiss Hotel, Ottawa, Canada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Sabina the owner was so friendly; from my check-in late one evening to my check-out two mornings later. Best breakfast ever - traditional Swiss fare with cheeses and breads and home-made muesli. Very clean, quiet, and stylish - great European atmosphere. Also, very central - I walked to most of the tourist destinations. I will always stay here in the future when visiting Ottawa.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    114
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
163
44
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hongkong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Highly recommended hotel with high ceiling good beds and enviable homemade muesli breakfast privileged for guest only. My wife & daughter love it! Sabina has such warm personality she really made us feel at home. The premises is clean and beautiful filled with an air of romance, very well maintained. Splendidly the ipad to each room and a big touch screen pc at the foyer Wifi throughout the premises made my trip more than pleasant with a smart phone at hand keeping me in touch with my office conveniently over the 20 days stay. Bordering uOttawa this hotel is centrally located within the embassy row/ Sandy Hill affluent residences, Byward Market downtown, Parliament Hill and Centre Town with a little bit extra walking. We were lucky there was not much rain but nice cool sunny days though at times the temperature may read from 3C~24C during this fall. I must say this Swiss hotel is a winner in her own category of European taste over here. Book online early (remember breakfast) and enjoy the stay. Some good food restaurants we've tried - Bank St's Pelican Grill, Sparks' Irish Darcy, Elgin's Town & Johny Farina, Byward area, Keg, Fish Market, LaBottega, LeMoulin, Rideau's Cora, Wellington's Hintonburger & Tennessy Willems, Preston's,....and many more.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger ones if available as the price is reasonable if you do not compare with convention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernardcflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

At our arriving at 9 p.m we were greated very friendly by the owner, the check-in went on very fast so that we could go to our room 10 minutes later (Really good 'cause we were exhausted after 8h of flight and 2h driving).
The room was exactly what was shown on the pictures, really clean, good bed, nice products in the bathroom. It got us just a few moments to get the shower started first not wanted to pull to hard on the handle (looked a bit fragile) but you have to ;) (little tip from our side).
Great plus the ipad you can use in the room, connecting you to the world, and your family ;)
We had breakfast on our last morning, and it was excellent as was the service.
Furthermore the hotel is really good located within 10-15min walking from the most tourist-attractions.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heinekoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Can't be beat for cleanliness. Sabrina, the hostess, is very friendly and has taken care of every detail in choosing products for the bathroom and the breakfast buffet. A super market is nearby and we bought some food and wine to consume in the beautiful secluded courtyard.

Room Tip: Breakfast is the only meal served here. There are many restaurants nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

A very lovely hotel in the centre of Ottawa. Only 10 min walking to Parliament Hill, Art Gallery, Byward district, extremly fast internet to watch tv from europe and an excellent breakfast - real Swiss style with real Muesli. Great, great!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arborg, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Had stayed here four years ago and was finally back to Ottawa and had a chance to stay at the hotel once more. Took advantage of a special package and got a bigger room which for the week I was in town was really appreciated. Each room had an Ipad that I appreciated having the use of before I headed out each day. Service was good and forgetting key cards was not a big problem with any of the staff or the owner. Extending my stay by a day no issue either. Love the hotel for its location close to byward market, Rideau centre, bus routes, the university of Ottawa, museums and historical walks. There is a homeless shelter near by and a soup kitchen at a church in the area but in the week I was in Ottawa there were homeless people everywhere and I never felt uneasy walking near the shelter. I found that people in homeless shelter less aggressive and in your face than walking down rideau or in the market. The area around the hotel sees a lot of students walking to the campus and back so one never was alone down some dark unlit street. I enjoyed going up to the Second Cup on Laurier by the university as part of my daily routine. Also the hotel has on the second floor a coffee station where one can make fresh coffee at any time of the day and a regular computer terminal for those tasks where an Ipad just won't do the job. Still a good place to stay in Ottawa.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arborgmadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

As a lone traveller - I needed somewhere confortable, clean and pleasant.
Sabine made me feel very welcome, helping me with the local attractions, ammenities etc. The room was ace too - very clean and modern....and it had an iPad!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#18 of 67 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
ARC The Hotel
#20 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Property: Swiss Hotel
Address: 89 Daly Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#21 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiss Hotel is ideally located in downtown Ottawa in the heart of the Nation's Capital within easy walking distance to tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants, bars, and convention sites. This European-style boutique hotel has modern flair and offers its clients a warm, cozy and intimate accommodation experience with friendly service in a quiet, stress free environment. Each of the 22 rooms has private bathroom, A/C, European style white bedding that is 100% cotton with plush duvets, hardwood floors, free hi-speed wifi internet, an iPad and a Nespresso coffee machine in every room. For business or pleasure, choose from standard, superior, deluxe rooms with a fireplace or our romantic getaway suite with a double Jacuzzi. The hotel offers an optional healthy Swiss buffet breakfast, as well as opportunities for small meetings. The hotel also has a pretty courtyard garden patio for relaxation - a true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Hotel Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing