We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
215
126
37
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
126
37
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator bircher muesli nespresso machine byward market eggs and french toast heritage building small hotel hardwood floors european feel downtown ottawa rideau centre third floor walking distance attending a conference limited parking parliament hill rooms are modern
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 402 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2018

I am a first time visitor to Ottawa. The neighborhood where the hotel is located is somewhat sketchy, but this is Canada, so it is not like you are taking your life in your hands. It is just dirty and close to student hovels. The area is very walkable, close to Byward Market, uOttawa, Downtown, and even Gatineau. The rooms, while not super large, were quite comfortable. WiFi worked well, and for the most part, things were really quiet allowing us to feel very rested. Our room was on the 3rd floor (top floor of the building) and it hsould be noted that there is no elevator in this hotel. Thta may be an issue for some, but it wasn't for us. Also, we lucked out and managed to get a parking space at the hotel (there are only 4 or 5) with a small fee, and opted for the breakfast on one morning of our stay. Breakfast was very good, quite filling, and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you very much for having stayed with us. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts here for other travelers. We are certainly pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and your overall stay with us, and we wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

This is a gem of a small hotel. Our stay started with a warm welcome; it is a comfortable and very clean auberge. It is in a great location, in easy walking distance from the city center center and many of the sites. The breakfast buffet was the best! Great coffee and food which included a variety of breads, fruits, cheeses, jams,yogurt, cereal and hot food such as french toast, and eggs.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank billyDquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

We cannot thank you enough for the kind words regarding your most recent stay with us! We are so happy you enjoyed your time here (and our breakfast!), and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Excellent Swiss hospitality was evidenced in the design of the bedrooms, about six different kinds of bread freshly baked by the owner, eggs cooked to order, fresh fruit, cheeses and Muesli. None of the standard dried-out breakfast that is so often experienced down town. There is even a small patio outside for breakfast on a warm day. This boutique-style hotel may be small and without a lift but I'd prefer to enjoy pleasant food and a personal touch than be herded through an impersonal large mass-catered dining room at an exorbitant price. It's only about a 10 minute walk from the parliament in a quiet neighbourhood near the university.

Room Tip: No lift so choose a ground floor room if you have an accees problem
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

We are very thankful that you chose Swiss Hotel for your most recent stay in Ottawa! We appreciate your taking the time to write the review (and we are happy you had a chance to enjoy our breakfast)! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Starting with a warm welcome, this ideally located hotel proved to be a great find. Short walks to many restaurants and the city center with Parliment, museums, etc.,and boat rides. Do pay extra for the generous & delicious breakfast. Appreciated the robe provided.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chloe55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

We thank you choosing Swiss Hotel, and deeply appreciate your taking the time to write this review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you should your path ever bring you through Ottawa again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018

We have travelled to Ottawa many times. Once we found the Swiss Hotel, we have never stayed anywhere else. The owner is lovely and helpful (even when we arrive late after 11pm). The rooms are spotless, full of character, and comfortable. The location can't be beat. We have stayed for breakfast many times and have enjoyed homemade muesli, european charcuterie, cheeses, fresh breads, as well as traditional offerings (eggs). We have eaten inside as well as out on the patio. The hotel does not disappoint. The parking is perfect (assuming that it hasn't been taken as there are not many spots). I really can't say enough about this lovely hotel. We will be there again in 2 days and can't wait!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 100dreamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabina S, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

Thank you so very much for the lovely review! It was a pleasure to host you once again, and we look forward to doing so for your future travels to Ottawa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews