We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surpise near Hog's Back falls in Ottawa”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Culinary Conspiracy
Ranked #1,263 of 2,786 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A surpise near Hog's Back falls in Ottawa”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was taking my kids to visit Pirate Adventures near Hog's Back in Ottawa and we decided to stop by the small facility near the falls for a bite. I admit I was not expecting much, as the location (pseudo-touristy) suggested elevated prices for mediocre quality. I ordered a veggie wrap and the kids wanted chicken tenders with fries, for prices somewhat higher (but not much higher) than a regular fast-food outlet. What a pleasant surprise the food was! In the words of my eldest son, "this food is AWESOME!". The chicken tenders were outstanding and the veggie wrap was equally good. Unfortunately I do not visit Hog's Back, or nearby Mooney's Bay, all that often; otherwise I would be coming back asap. As it stands, I will make an effort to drop by the main restaurant on Industrial Avenue. I hope they can make the Hog's Back location survive long enough for my next visit, next summer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Culinary delight tucked away on a busy street”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife suggested this new place to me, trying to expand my hamburger horizons. Small place, lots of lunch time prep going on in the kitchen for their catering service. Hamburger was excellent, hand made with local beef. Nice draft beer to accompany. Service was acceptable, not in your face. Will certainly add to my list of a good hamburger place. Reasonably priced with soups and salads available.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very good food for the value”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a small take out place of specially made daily dishes. From vegan, vegetarian to fish and meat lovers. There is something for everyone. The place is divided in two. On one side savoury dishes and the other sweet. There are a few tables inside to eat and on their front veranda (not in winter). The food is prepared fresh daily and is very good. It is located on the northeast side of Rideau St. in an old victorian house.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank danielle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick bite”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Nice soup and sandwich combos, home-made at a reasonable price. I like the colourful plates they use to serve the food in! They do catering, but I have not tried that yet.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ScaredySquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I have been eating here off and on as a treat for years now. It has never disappointed me.
The food is always great and everything else that goes with it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingDanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Culinary Conspiracy also viewed

 
Stittsville, Ottawa
 

Been to Culinary Conspiracy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing