We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
65
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsmagnolia suitedelicious apple piefamily apartmenthome away from homeexcellent hostsbed and breakfastnext morningparliament hillglebeaccommodationscanadauniversity
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 73 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2016

Our original 5 night stay at this great B and B stretched into 8 nights, and the owners could not have been more welcoming and flexible. They went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Apple pie to die for - thanks Charmaine. We stayed in their third floor apt which is ideal for small families wishing to self cater some meals, as there is a complete kitchen, and spacious living/dining room area. Excellent stay, and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Top floor apt has bedrooms (one master and one with two twin beds)- very comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdgNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2016

We had a wonderful second stay at Ashbury House. Once again, they were warm, welcoming, organized, friendly and accommodating. This time we had the family suite. It was the perfect amount of space for our family of 5. It made a lovely base from which to explore Ottawa for the Family Day Weekend. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2016

Ashbury House is brilliantly situated in the heart of Ottawa, an easy walk from interesting storefronts on Bank Street and not far from museums, art galleries, theatres and excellent restaurants. The inn itself is comfortable and welcoming. The hosts are part of what makes the place not-your-average hostelry. She is a former World Bank executive in Washington. He is (according to her) the founder of the Canadian space programme. In any event, they make for very chatty and interesting innkeepers. The first breakfast looked great but tasted less than; the second breakfast was fine. But our hosts more than compensated. The house itself is old, with a terrific history, and a well-worn shabby chic decor and appeal. Lots of fun.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 881map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2015

Ashbury House makes you feel like a family friend from the minute you arrive. A mention of bagels produced them on the next morning's menu. Our cozy, light-filled room featured a VERY comfortable bed. The neighbourhood is at once a quiet residential area within a few blocks of bustling shopping and restaurants.

We will happily return on our next visit to Ottawa

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laverna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2015

We had a fantastic experience staying at Ashbury House. George and Charmaine, the owners, were just lovely, and they did everything they could to be helpful and accommodating. The house itself is beautiful: rooms and common areas are tastefully decorated with period furnishings, but the B & B is well maintained and fully updated. The breakfast was fantastic, and Charmaine's amazingly delicious apple pie in the afternoon was an added bonus. Charmaine and George are interesting people who do great work, and we really enjoyed talking to them. They are probably the friendliest, most inviting B & B owners we've ever encountered, and they went out of their way to assist us when we needed to leave luggage upon arrival and check out. They seem to truly love what they do. The Glebe neighborhood where Ashbury house is located is the perfect place to stay in Ottawa; there are shops, restaurants and bars just around the corner, and the walk to the downtown area was easy and pleasant. This B & B met our needs in every way, and I would highly recommend it, without hesitation, to anyone. Ashbury house is lovely and offers superb, high-quality accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJLBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews