We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Ottawa B & B”
Review of Ashbury House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashbury House B&B
Ranked #7 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2016

The hosts could not be more inviting, helpful and genuinely lovely people. Best omelets ever! The homemade fresh apple pie was a welcome treat. Great location and an overall wonderful stay, would definitely recommend to others looking for a B&B in ottawa

Stayed: April 2016
Thank erisa362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2016

Our original 5 night stay at this great B and B stretched into 8 nights, and the owners could not have been more welcoming and flexible. They went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Apple pie to die for - thanks Charmaine. We stayed in their third floor apt which is ideal for small families wishing to self cater some meals, as there is a complete kitchen, and spacious living/dining room area. Excellent stay, and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Top floor apt has bedrooms (one master and one with two twin beds)- very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdgNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

We had a wonderful second stay at Ashbury House. Once again, they were warm, welcoming, organized, friendly and accommodating. This time we had the family suite. It was the perfect amount of space for our family of 5. It made a lovely base from which to explore Ottawa for the Family Day Weekend. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Ashbury House is brilliantly situated in the heart of Ottawa, an easy walk from interesting storefronts on Bank Street and not far from museums, art galleries, theatres and excellent restaurants. The inn itself is comfortable and welcoming. The hosts are part of what makes the place not-your-average hostelry. She is a former World Bank executive in Washington. He is (according to her) the founder of the Canadian space programme. In any event, they make for very chatty and interesting innkeepers. The first breakfast looked great but tasted less than; the second breakfast was fine. But our hosts more than compensated. The house itself is old, with a terrific history, and a well-worn shabby chic decor and appeal. Lots of fun.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 881map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Ashbury House makes you feel like a family friend from the minute you arrive. A mention of bagels produced them on the next morning's menu. Our cozy, light-filled room featured a VERY comfortable bed. The neighbourhood is at once a quiet residential area within a few blocks of bustling shopping and restaurants.

We will happily return on our next visit to Ottawa

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laverna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We had a fantastic experience staying at Ashbury House. George and Charmaine, the owners, were just lovely, and they did everything they could to be helpful and accommodating. The house itself is beautiful: rooms and common areas are tastefully decorated with period furnishings, but the B & B is well maintained and fully updated. The breakfast was fantastic, and Charmaine's amazingly delicious apple pie in the afternoon was an added bonus. Charmaine and George are interesting people who do great work, and we really enjoyed talking to them. They are probably the friendliest, most inviting B & B owners we've ever encountered, and they went out of their way to assist us when we needed to leave luggage upon arrival and check out. They seem to truly love what they do. The Glebe neighborhood where Ashbury house is located is the perfect place to stay in Ottawa; there are shops, restaurants and bars just around the corner, and the walk to the downtown area was easy and pleasant. This B & B met our needs in every way, and I would highly recommend it, without hesitation, to anyone. Ashbury house is lovely and offers superb, high-quality accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJLBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

You could not have more thoughtful and kind hosts. Charmaine is such a sweet and friendly person and George is a great guy.
We loved the clean rooms with very comfortable beds, a nice new TV, bar fridge and extremely fast wifi.
My sister and I stayed in the Magnolia Suite. We each had our our bedroom and shared a sitting room and bathroom. There is plenty of hot water and excellent water pressure.
Breakfast is different and preselected each day by Charmaine. Each choice was fantastic. The omelette was the best I've ever had and the egg and bacon on a bagel was my favourite breakfast of all time. George's coffee is delicious. The beans are freshly ground and the flavour is perfect.
The location of this B&B is very good also. It's on a quiet street in a safe neighbourhood. There's about a 5-7 minute walk to Bank St. were there are many shops, restaurants and you can catch the bus there to go downtown. Charmaine will give you easy directions.
I look forward to returning here again on my next trip.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Linda597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
The Glebe / Dow's Lake
Angela's Bed & Breakfast Ottawa
Rideau Inn
#11 of 53 in Ottawa
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avalon Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 53 in Ottawa
183 reviews
McGee's Inn
#5 of 53 in Ottawa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbury House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbury House B&B

Address: 303 First Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range: $105 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide B&B accommodation as well as a furnished family apartment with kitchen. All guest rooms have ensuite bath rooms. Guests rave about the quality of the experience at Ashbury House, the comfort of the rooms including the beds, gourmet breakfasts, inspiring conversations, apple pie, Ceylon tea and antique furnishings. Ashbury House has been featured live on TV.An example of guest feedback: "Thank you again for an absolutely perfect stay at Ashbury House. I think you go beyond the exceptional in your hospitality and I know this is the rule and I was not an exception because the cab driver asked me about my stay. When I responded with superlatives, he told me it was the same with every fare he picked up there." Joan – California ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashbury House B&B Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing