We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place to stay”
Review of Ashbury House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashbury House B&B
Ranked #6 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We arrived here early afternoon and Charmaine wasn't in the least put out and provided us with hot drinks and apple crumble while we sat on her front porch until our room was ready. We had booked the Mulberry room but Charmaine had decided to upgrade us to the apartment which takes up the top floor of the house so we had a very spacious suite. This comprised a large lounge and dining area, kitchen, bathroom, balcony plus one double and one twin bedroom. the B & B has off road parking for all guests and is situated on a pleasant residential street. Charmaine's breakfasts offered something for everyone and there was plenty of it. It was all served at the very large and elegant dining table downstairs. Both Charmaine and George are very hospitable hosts. The B & B is within very easy walking distance of Bank Street where there is an exceedingly frequent bus service to downtown Ottawa. You can purchase bus tickets at the nearby grocery store. We took advantage of this and left our car on the B & B parking lot for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKMaggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2016

George and Charmaine make you feel comfortable since the arrival, such a lovely and kind couple. Our room was big, cozy and the bed was fantastic. It has an excellent location near Bank St. and Carleton which was great for us. The breakfast is wonderful with fresh fruit and bacon! George and Charmaine were always available and helped us a lot during our stay since we were moving to Canada and needed a few tips about the city. We'll definitely recommend to all our friends and relatives visiting the city.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We booked before my partner sadly passed away but i decided to make the trip anyway as we were intending to visit a friend who lives nearby.

I'm really pleased that I decided to go. Breakfasts were amazing, the company lively and interesting and Charmaine and George looked after me brilliantly.

You have to try the warm apple pie, it's delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0DJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Charmaine and George make your stay perfect. This B&B is located close to 417 and close to public transit to get downtown.
The rooms and beds are comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. We like the Magnolia Suite which has a door between 2 separate sleeping areas.
This B&B doesn't have central a/c, but our room had in room a/c and fans so that was fine.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Linda597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

I still die for Sharmaine's Crumble Apple Pie
Omg!!! Never had one better in my whole life...
Beds are so comfortable, I basically have been in all their rooms.
Georges and Sharmaine and amazing hosts, always giving tips about places, where go out, to eat and much more
They are always available even for a chichat, how cannot feel home staying at their place.... Impossible!
Can't wait to go back and have that amazing pie besides my ned on top of my night table and that tasty breakfast in the morning
Thanks again to have make me so great memories about Ottawa guys
Cheers, Andrea

Stayed: July 2015
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Location is excellent, right in the Glebe area, with lots of unique shops and eatery. Charmaine and George made you feel like a part of their family. And their breakfast is like a five star restaurant.
Most people are repeat customers, like us. We would never stay in a hotel whenever we comes to Ottawa.

Room Tip: Magnolia is a two room suite, good for family stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank muffin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

This small historic house in the central Glebe area offers a B&B run by the most charming and friendly couple. The rooms are very comfortable, although the bathrooms are tiny. The breakfasts are amazing. Over three mornings, we never had the same menu.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank artslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George N, Owner at Ashbury House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Two of our bathrooms are on the small side. The other 4 are regular sized bathrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#27 of 68 in Ottawa
1,507 reviews
Rideau Inn
#10 of 53 in Ottawa
64 reviews
The Glebe / Dow's Lake
Angela's Bed & Breakfast Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbury House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbury House B&B

Address: 303 First Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range: $105 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide B&B accommodation as well as a furnished family apartment with kitchen. All guest rooms have ensuite bath rooms. Guests rave about the quality of the experience at Ashbury House, the comfort of the rooms including the beds, gourmet breakfasts, inspiring conversations, apple pie, Ceylon tea and antique furnishings. Ashbury House has been featured live on TV.An example of guest feedback: "Thank you again for an absolutely perfect stay at Ashbury House. I think you go beyond the exceptional in your hospitality and I know this is the rule and I was not an exception because the cab driver asked me about my stay. When I responded with superlatives, he told me it was the same with every fare he picked up there." Joan – California ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashbury House B&B Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing