We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$181
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$108
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
US$108
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lord Elgin(Ottawa)
US$165
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
US$106
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$207
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brookstreet Hotel(Ottawa)
US$121
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Les Suites Hotel Ottawa(Ottawa)
US$167
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
62
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelicious apple piehome away from homeexcellent hostsbed and breakfastbank streeteach morningplace to stayrideau canalparliament hillglebeairedaleaccommodationscanadauniversity
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 70 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

Amazing place, and amazing hosts. George and Charmine turned from my landlords to my friends. I miss you and remember you with lot of love. The house will make you feel home with premium rooms and breakfast. Truly supported to make your stay smooth. Congratulations! God bless

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Oswald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2016

As soon as we walked in, Charmaine & George greeted us like dearly missed family. Their kindness continued throughout our whole stay. Breakfast was a delight and the atmosphere was quite relaxed, which encouraged fascinating conversations around the table. Our room was comfortable and Charmaine's signature apple pie, provided in our room, was excellent. Plenty of attractions are within walking distance. All in all, a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Although Charmaine is a delightful, warm, kind and intelligent person who clearly wants to befriend everyone who crosses her threshold, her warm welcome and the good location of the b-and-b are not enough compensation for the shabbiness of the accommodation.

We stayed in the apartment, which had filthy shear curtains, shabby and worn furnishings and an inadequate, ill-equipped kitchen (complete with a years-out-of-date jar of baby food in the cupboard). There was frequently a bad odour in the house.

None of this would be a surprise if the rate was in the budget range, but the high cost (and glowing reviews) had led us to expect something luxurious. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank movienuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George N, Owner at Ashbury House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

The Apartment has received favorable comments from diplomats, executives and families that have stayed there - regarding location, sleep quality, rooms, service, value and cleanliness.

The guest had reserved for 10 days to visit with family but decided to return home after 4 days due to family issues. We unfortunately added fuel to the guest's concerns by suggesting that the discount for the 10-day stay should not apply for a 4-day stay. We agree that there is always room for improvement (and while we're committed to a high standard, we're not perfect). However, our assessment is that the guest's comments also stem from the guest's disappointment in the much-looked-forward-to family visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We visit Ottawa quite often as our daughter attends school there, and so when we discovered Ashbury House, we knew we had hit the jackpot! We are always welcomed like family, no matter how long it has been: my recent visit was the first in well over a year. Charmaine and George make you feel at home the minute you step in: they have lots of travel experience so they are a natural choice for anyone from out of town, even out of country. We have met people from every continent at breakfast, so the conversation is always lively! Speaking of breakfast: it is always generous and delicious. And they are very flexible with dietary needs. On my last visit one of the guests needed to avoid gluten due to health, and that was accommodated with ease.
Ashbury's location in the Glebe is a definite plus: the area is full of great restaurants and shopping, and very close to Carleton Campus. On my recent weekend I hardly used the car at all as everything I needed was in walking or short bus distance.
I highly recommend this B and B and will keep returning until they stop running it.!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter, but as the neighbourhood tends to be quiet, it does not make too much of a difference.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2016

Long day at work, a 4+ hour drive made worse by a delay at the border crossing, a missed turn that added more time--it was all forgotten the minute the door opened at the Ashbury House. George greeted us with a smile and a handshake, then Charmaine appeared with 2 huge slices of her homemade apple crumble pie! Heaven on Earth! I have never received a more amazing, delicious welcome. George and Charmaine are special people--their warmth is genuine, her cooking is spectacular, and the conversation is stimulating. One morning they invited their neighbor over for breakfast--a history professor at the University. It made for great discussion and honestly by the end of breakfast it felt like we had all been friends for years. It takes special hosts to facilitate that. The house is in a great neighborhood, and we were able to walk to the Nature Museum, then walk the canal up to Parliament and the downtown area. We will definitely return to Ottawa (what a gorgeous, friendly city), and when we do, we will stay with our old new friends George and Charmaine.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skrapd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews