We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, charming hosts, delicious breakfasts”
Review of Ashbury House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashbury House B&B
Ranked #6 of 54 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Charming old B&B in the heart of Ottawa's historic Glebe neighbourhood, steps from the Rideau Canal and popular Bank Street shopping district. George and Charmaine are consummate hosts, supplying delicious breakfasts, thoughtful travel advice, and intelligent conversation. We stayed in the smaller ground-floor room with adjacent bath and found it met our needs perfectly. Additional bonuses include access to the gorgeous ground-floor sitting room, and daily visits with the resident elderly Airedale :)

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Ashbury House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2017

We stayed in the Magnolia room featuring a large queen bed and an adjoining room had a single bed plus comfortable chairs, a couch and flat screen TV. The rooms were a little warm at night (in the winter) but opening a window in each room solved the problem. Our host George is a wonderful cook and engaging host. Each morning we had juice, fruit bowl and hot plate ranging from french toast, eggs bene, eggs with sausage, etc. There were no menu repeats during our four night stay. On our last night we were surprised by George's fresh baked apple pie. The B&B is able to accommodate my gluten free needs. We will definitely stay here again, next time we are in Ottawa.

Room Tip: check out the rooms on their website B&B is located in a very quiet area
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M1shaAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Amazing place, and amazing hosts. George and Charmine turned from my landlords to my friends. I miss you and remember you with lot of love. The house will make you feel home with premium rooms and breakfast. Truly supported to make your stay smooth. Congratulations! God bless

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Oswald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

As soon as we walked in, Charmaine & George greeted us like dearly missed family. Their kindness continued throughout our whole stay. Breakfast was a delight and the atmosphere was quite relaxed, which encouraged fascinating conversations around the table. Our room was comfortable and Charmaine's signature apple pie, provided in our room, was excellent. Plenty of attractions are within walking distance. All in all, a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Although Charmaine is a delightful, warm, kind and intelligent person who clearly wants to befriend everyone who crosses her threshold, her warm welcome and the good location of the b-and-b are not enough compensation for the shabbiness of the accommodation.

We stayed in the apartment, which had filthy shear curtains, shabby and worn furnishings and an inadequate, ill-equipped kitchen (complete with a years-out-of-date jar of baby food in the cupboard). There was frequently a bad odour in the house.

None of this would be a surprise if the rate was in the budget range, but the high cost (and glowing reviews) had led us to expect something luxurious. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank movienuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George N, Owner at Ashbury House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

The Apartment has received favorable comments from diplomats, executives and families that have stayed there - regarding location, sleep quality, rooms, service, value and cleanliness.

The guest had reserved for 10 days to visit with family but decided to return home after 4 days due to family issues. We unfortunately added fuel to the guest's concerns by suggesting that the discount for the 10-day stay should not apply for a 4-day stay. We agree that there is always room for improvement (and while we're committed to a high standard, we're not perfect). However, our assessment is that the guest's comments also stem from the guest's disappointment in the much-looked-forward-to family visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We visit Ottawa quite often as our daughter attends school there, and so when we discovered Ashbury House, we knew we had hit the jackpot! We are always welcomed like family, no matter how long it has been: my recent visit was the first in well over a year. Charmaine and George make you feel at home the minute you step in: they have lots of travel experience so they are a natural choice for anyone from out of town, even out of country. We have met people from every continent at breakfast, so the conversation is always lively! Speaking of breakfast: it is always generous and delicious. And they are very flexible with dietary needs. On my last visit one of the guests needed to avoid gluten due to health, and that was accommodated with ease.
Ashbury's location in the Glebe is a definite plus: the area is full of great restaurants and shopping, and very close to Carleton Campus. On my recent weekend I hardly used the car at all as everything I needed was in walking or short bus distance.
I highly recommend this B and B and will keep returning until they stop running it.!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter, but as the neighbourhood tends to be quiet, it does not mak...
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Long day at work, a 4+ hour drive made worse by a delay at the border crossing, a missed turn that added more time--it was all forgotten the minute the door opened at the Ashbury House. George greeted us with a smile and a handshake, then Charmaine appeared with 2 huge slices of her homemade apple crumble pie! Heaven on Earth! I have never received a more amazing, delicious welcome. George and Charmaine are special people--their warmth is genuine, her cooking is spectacular, and the conversation is stimulating. One morning they invited their neighbor over for breakfast--a history professor at the University. It made for great discussion and honestly by the end of breakfast it felt like we had all been friends for years. It takes special hosts to facilitate that. The house is in a great neighborhood, and we were able to walk to the Nature Museum, then walk the canal up to Parliament and the downtown area. We will definitely return to Ottawa (what a gorgeous, friendly city), and when we do, we will stay with our old new friends George and Charmaine.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skrapd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.2 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
1.9 km away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
2.1 km away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#7 of 68 in Ottawa
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
1.7 km away
The Business Inn & Suites
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbury House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbury House B&B

Address: 303 First Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range: $105 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide B&B accommodation as well as a furnished family apartment with kitchen. All guest rooms have ensuite bath rooms. Guests rave about the quality of the experience at Ashbury House, the comfort of the rooms including the beds, gourmet breakfasts, inspiring conversations, apple pie, Ceylon tea and antique furnishings. Ashbury House has been featured live on TV.An example of guest feedback: "Thank you again for an absolutely perfect stay at Ashbury House. I think you go beyond the exceptional in your hospitality and I know this is the rule and I was not an exception because the cab driver asked me about my stay. When I responded with superlatives, he told me it was the same with every fare he picked up there." Joan – California ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashbury House B&B Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing