We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”
Review of Ashbury House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashbury House B&B
Ranked #7 of 53 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Checking into Ashbury House is like a stay with old friends. Charmaine and George are incredibly warm and welcoming hosts and provide detailed and personal service to guests.

Bedrooms are charming, comfortable and well appointed and you will linger over sumptuous breakfasts, excellent coffee and sparkling conversation.

Ashbury House is simply a home away from home!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BreakfastinBedJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

My wife just returned from a trip to Ottawa, where she stayed at one of our favourite B & B's: Ashbury House. She cannot stop talking about it, making me regret not having made the trip. We have both stayed here many times and each time it better than the next. George and Charmaine are Olympic-grade hosts, rooms are more than comfortable, and the breakfasts! Did I mention the breakfasts? George and Charmaine are very accommodating, and have personally intervened to help us out when we needed it during our visits to Ottawa. Do not miss this place!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SameUU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Your host and hostess take the upmost care of your schedule and your likes and dislikes as best as they can. The atmosphere is casuallly friendly but not intrusive. Snug as a bug in a rug in the Glebe you are close to restaurants and some good shopping. I love that you were close to a grocery store too. Your hostess will make you her signature to die for apple pie. If you like to dance the Fred Astaire dance school is just a couple of blocks away. I highly recommend Ashbury house .

Stayed: September 2016
Thank PeterC2327OL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We arrived at Ashbury B&B slightly later than intended to a note on the front door welcoming us and guiding us to our room. The house is beautiful and on a quieter street! Our room was exactly what we were looking for... and we were tickled to find fresh pie waiting for us in our room. The room and bathroom were very clean, and the linens/towels all fresh! Breakfast was delicious, and Charmaine and George were incredibly welcoming and gracious. We will definitely be coming back to stay at Ashbury B&B on our next visit to Ottawa. It was an absolute pleasure and the making of our trip. HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kochcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We had a wonderful stay at this remarkable B & B. Charmaine and George are so hospitable (and the apple pie is really good!) we couldn't have found a better place to stay. The breakfasts were gourmet meals and very accommodating to any food preferences.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mymowat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

What a beautiful home! Charmaine and George are friendly warm hosts. We had a wonderful couple of days in Ottawa in large part because of them. Charmaine is a great chef. Her breakfasts were absolutely delicious. In the afternoon she brought up a slice of fresh apple pie. Yummy ! Our granddaughter graduated from Carelton University and it was so comfortable to have a home to come back to when we were tuckered out lol. You will absolutely love your stay. We highly recommend their beautiful Bed and Breakfast

Room Tip: We had the Mulberry Room It was very comfortable and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

George and Charmaine are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. They are polite, friendly and enjoy talking. I stayed here with my colleague and we didn't want to leave. I recommend staying here if you are ever spending nights in Ottawa.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 68 in Ottawa
1,507 reviews
Rideau Inn
#10 of 53 in Ottawa
64 reviews
The Glebe / Dow's Lake
Angela's Bed & Breakfast Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbury House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbury House B&B

Address: 303 First Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range: $105 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide B&B accommodation as well as a furnished family apartment with kitchen. All guest rooms have ensuite bath rooms. Guests rave about the quality of the experience at Ashbury House, the comfort of the rooms including the beds, gourmet breakfasts, inspiring conversations, apple pie, Ceylon tea and antique furnishings. Ashbury House has been featured live on TV.An example of guest feedback: "Thank you again for an absolutely perfect stay at Ashbury House. I think you go beyond the exceptional in your hospitality and I know this is the rule and I was not an exception because the cab driver asked me about my stay. When I responded with superlatives, he told me it was the same with every fare he picked up there." Joan – California ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashbury House B&B Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing