We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Business Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Wish I'd known about this place sooner. Rooms are very large, great tv, computer and printer, large kitchen space. Only complaint would be its a little loud so bring ear plugs or turn on a fan for white noise.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

The suites are huge, (apartments) but the perking is a hassle as the garage is small and hard to navigate if you have a full size car, the elevators take forever and the breakfast room is so small and crowded your uncomfortable eating there. Plus side is there is a computer and printer i your room plus wifi

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mailro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

A fantastic place for those on business and those wishing to have an inexpensive hotel in downtown Ottawa. Free breakfast, free laundry, free computer in room and spotlessly clean. We'll be back!

Room Tip: No need to bring laptop. Computer in every room with high speed. Rooms extremely large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Business Inn is located just off one of the main north-to-south drags of Ottawa. It is located near several pubs, casual eateries, and a wine store. Parking is available in a lot for about $11 per night and underground for about $15. The rooms are clean and huge! Complete with a comfortable bed, clean bathroom with name-brand toiletries, kitchenette, flat screen and computer, we were left shocked by how great of a value TBI was. The location is a bit south of the market area, but the walk was very pleasant and we were able to see the Rideau Canal and several government buildings along the way. We were there during the last day of Winterlude, too, so there were many people out and about-- it was very nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel-- safe area, clean, pleasant staff, comfortable in all ways.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is the second stay at this hotel. The price is extremely good and this time we had a huge one bedroom suite with fully equipped kitchen (stove and oven as well as a micro and large refrigerator), large flat screen T.V. in the living room as well as one in the bedroom, a computer with printer and paper and free internet access. The hotel was clean and quiet and the staff very helpful. The included breakfast was much more than is found in most hotels. Parking was extra but the price was not exorbitant. The hotel is very centrally located to the downtown area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great location and huge rooms. We stay here every time we are in Ottawa (usually once a month or so) its like our mini home away from home. But wish they would fix the shower taps in 1102 ;) dial faicet kept turning itself, weird, but went from a comfortable temperature to extremely hot quickly.. No fun with soap in your eyes! Lol.
Will continue to stay here anyways cause you can't beat the location, rooms, staff and local nightlife.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thenrthrnboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights during September 2011. Generally were were extremely happy with this choice.
Service was great, we arrived early and were allowed to check in. We were also allowed to check out late as we had an afternoon VIA Rail train out of Ottawa. Staff were also helpful with recommendations and information.
The room we stayed in was huge. Almost as big as our apartment. It was a large open plan room with bed, living/TV area, dining area, small office and kitchen. The attached bathroom was a decent size too. Beds were clean and comfortable.
Included in the stay was free continental breakfast each morning, free access to the internet from the office in the room, and free laundry facilities, all which came in very handy.
Location was OK but we found ourselves spending most of our time near the parliament buildings or Byward Market areas, about 15-20 minute walk from the hotel. There were some good restaurants nearby but not much else.
Price was great too. We booked early but got an decent rate. Considering the inclusions and the size of the room it was excellent value for money.
Overall I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.2 km away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
1.4 km away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#12 of 68 in Ottawa
804 reviews
0.6 km away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 68 in Ottawa
415 reviews
4.9 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Business Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Business Inn & Suites

Address: 180 Maclaren St | at Elgin, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range: $104 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Business Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread your paperwork over large desk tables, relax on the comfortable living room sofas and wake up refreshed in a king size bed. If your family is traveling on business with you, our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens and household amenities to satisfy their needs as well. Located at the central hot-spot of Ottawa. Locals and visitors enjoy dinner, dancing and live music. 24 hour diners, Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and the ByWard Market are within walking distance, making The Business Inn the perfect location when staying in Ottawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Business Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Business Hotel Ottawa
Business Hotel Ottawa
The Business Inn & Suites Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing