We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Money, money, money.”

Currency Museum of the Bank of Canada
Ranked #67 of 255 things to do in Ottawa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the most comprehensive collection of Canadian notes, coins, and tokens in the world as well as currency from other countries. The Currency Museum is just a five minute walk from Parliament Hill. Free Admission.
GTA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Money, money, money.”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

It is a very small museum. There is no fee. You enter the front door where an employee behind the desk will give you some pamphlets and tell you where to start. This is a self guided tour. You walk at your own pace. I learned at one point in time, people where using sea shells and stamps as currency when coins were not available. There is a vault within this museum, where they display countless coins and bills. Tip: You will learn how to spot a fake bill from a real bill. Of course, you can always google this information online. This museum is a short distance alway from the Parliament Buildings.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank GTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cute Little Museum”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We popped in one afternoon when we were in the neighbourhood for something else. I wouldn't rush there, but it was reasonably interesting.

Helpful?
Thank ChairmanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
148 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Currency museum.”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It's a must. great little museum. We all enjoyed learning about the coins, learning which are actually made in Ottawa and which are made in Winnipeg. The kids all agreed that they would like to visit the other mint in Winnipeg if they ever get there.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank MississaugaTEACHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, interesting, and free!”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

It's well worth it to go to the Currency Museum on a miserable winter's day - the beautiful atrium is filled with greenhouse plants, trees, and a fountain. It's a tiny taste of the tropics in the middle of a storm and very peaceful. The adjoining museum is free and a great way to spend 30-90 minutes. They feature a permanent exhibit which is quite intriguing, and usually have a temporary special exhibit. I've seen exhibits on counterfiting as well as chocolate and cocoa beans as currency. If you are in downtown Ottawa and have a short amount time to kill, this would be an absolute treat. The staff is friendly, there is a coatroom, and a small gift kiosk.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank TurnipseedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I became a coin collector a couple of years ago. This place was a total must for me. The tour was excellent, we had a very knowledgeable guide. Thank you Zoe for making this experience so fun.
The boutique could have more stuff but you can lift a 28lbs gold bar . That's over $750k in your hands !
Friendly staff, including the security people.
Will return.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TorontoFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Currency Museum of the Bank of Canada also viewed

 

Been to Currency Museum of the Bank of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing