We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Ottawa”
Review of MeNa

MeNa
Ranked #15 of 2,808 Restaurants in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$98
Cuisines: French, Canadian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: At MeNa, we believe fine dining should be a memorable experience. We make it our job to share pieces of art and culture by creating modern French dishes paired with tasteful Canadian wines to create the ultimate dining experience. By utilizing locally sourced ingredients, our new restaurant in the heart of Little Italy offers many things other do not. With a menu that features a twist on old favorites, exceptional drinks, and a unique tasting menu, MeNa is something that must be experienced and shared with friends. We are deeply rooted in tradition, but always have our eyes open, looking ahead to new flavours and concepts we know our patrons will enjoy. We could not be more driven to offer Ottawa a truly unique and progressive dining experience; we look forward to serving you at MeNa.
Reviewed 26 December 2016

I'm hesitant to tell people about this restaurant. It has seating for no more than 20 guests, so if it suddenly becomes popular, I'm going to have a hard time returning to what has turned into my favourite restaurant in Ottawa.

MeNa is an experience, not just dining. The waiters are polished and professional, and the sommelier knows his wines and comes to the table with a story about each hand-picked vintage to enhance your dining experience. Each paired glass is carefully planned out to compliment the plate in front of you.

But it's beyond the wine. The food. Oh. My. God. The food. You can pick from between a three- and 12-course tasting menu (keep in mind tasting menu means small dishes, so a dish could come out with say, one scallop -- but oh the flavour of that scallop!), and opt-in for the wine pairings.

This is not a restaurant for people who like to consume food. This is a restaurant for people who enjoy texture, smell, taste, complex layers and exceptionally crafted food.

While there may be other restaurants in Ottawa that offer a tasting menu, MeNa has been cemented as my favourite. Its head chef was classically trained in New York City, and it shows with each morsel he creates. Ottawa is very lucky to have him here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DisplacedGothamist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Truly a wonderful review and frankly, a perfect representation of the MeNa Culinary Experience.

We cannot wait to unveil the completely renovated MeNa and our brand new experience this coming May. See you soon for yet another amazing night of food and wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for MeNa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2016

Delicious food, unique menu, passionate servers, great wine. Memorable experience for my wife and I celebrating our anniversary.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Romeo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Let me first start by wishing you, yet again, our best wishes and many many more anniversaries to come. We are thrilled that we were able to make your evening even more special and memorable.

We cannot wait to unveil the completely renovated MeNa and our brand new experience this coming May. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
213
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

I was out with my family and we have been to some amazing places , this is a gem a
must try. The menu is simple you just let the chef create you just tell him how hungry you are. The food was amazing and the presentation spectacular. Let yourself be entertained and simply enjoy the company that you are with, amazing I will go again

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thank you very much for your great praises. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed our culinary experience.

We cannot wait to unveil the completely renovated MeNa and our brand new experience this coming May. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

There's not many restaurants which offer tasting menus in Ottawa, so I wanted to try it out, opting for the 7 course one. The progression of the plates was well done and there was good variety among the dishes. My favourite was the seafood mille-feuille which was delicate and well-presented as a 2nd course appetizer. The plates are indeed smaller, but you'll be full after 7 dishes. It was worth the time and money for me.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kingston Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Truly, an adventure of flavours, smells, textures and fresh ingredients, we are honoured that you enjoyed your experience.

We cannot wait to unveil the completely renovated MeNa and our brand new experience this coming May. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Very creative presentation. Very knowledgable and friendly staff. Uber tasty. Excellent wine list. Hip ambience.

Thank chriskV1527VR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeNaRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at MeNa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

We thank you for your patronage and for taking the time to let us know how your experience was with us.

We cannot wait to unveil the completely renovated MeNa and our brand new experience this coming May. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MeNa also viewed

Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to MeNa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing