We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This hotel is pretty good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ByWard Blue Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ByWard Blue Inn
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Fisherville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This hotel is pretty good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I got this hotel by booking on one of the biggest unknown name discount hotel sites. Frankly I had never heard of it and would not have booked it if the name had been shown. But despite some of the reviews that are around I found the hotel to be good value for what I paid. It is an easy block or two from the Byward market and one of Ottawa's night club areas. Public transit around Ottawa is very good, meaning you do not need a car to get around the City and over to the Quebec side of the river.

My room was room 14, ground floor at the back. The room was quiet, though the hotel was not too busy the early January night I was there and I suspect there could have been more noise if the hotel were more busy. Reception was friendly and helpful, breakfast, included, was good value with juice, fruit, cereals, toast, muffins, eggs, ham, and fried potato chunks. The day I checked in there was also a complimentary afternoon tea with tea, cookies, cheese and crackers, and fruit. Bed was quite comfortable, not top grade but quite adequate. TV was an older model but it worked with lots of channels. Room and all of the hotel I saw was clean. The room floor was bare wood laminate which I think is more sanitary than carpet. The room also included a microwave oven and a bunch of cutlery and crockery in the cupboards. Not a kitchen but fine for heating a snack. Without a table one would probably not want to eat a meal in the room. Shampoo and soap with clean towels in the bathroom. The room was a little cool - turning up the thermostat did not seem to do much - but it was minus 19 degrees outside and in any case I prefer a cooler room. The duvet kept me plenty warm in bed. Bedsheets were clean, I did not see or feel any bugs at all.

On the slight downside, the walls were a bit thin so what little noise there was could be heard, but not too bad. There was no desk but there was an easy chair. I like a desk. I took my laptop into the lounge and worked at the "business centre", which was really just a couple of tables and chairs but no power plug handy. No bar in the hotel but many bars are just a couple of blocks away in the minus 19 degree weather!!! The hotel has no restaurant except for breakfast.

I am no expert in "star ratings" but for a night or two needing a decent sleeping room in Canada's capital I would certainly go back to the Byward Blue.

Room Tip: Room 14 was pretty good for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colinfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    286
    66
    32
    18
See reviews for
91
292
56
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

just spent new yrs in ottawa stayed at the byward blue, the room was nice, place is clean. Staff gets ya what you need, and knows lots about the area. short walk to the market and parliament. will definatley stay there again...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoyToy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

This hotel was listed as a three star, it is definetly not. There are many hotels in Ottawa that are nicer and the same price. The hotel is old, small, and dirty. I am very surprised that people give this place a good review. This is the type of place you would bring a prostitute. Manager said it was a three star because the room had an alarm clock and a balcony. Stay away!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

It is a nice place, rooms are very small. However, it's the parking that is very disappointing.
Space is at a premium in the garage. It should be mentioned that if you have a big vehicle or a truck, your vehicle will get scratched. It has a very low ceiling, and our truck has a big scratch on the roof now. We unfortunately will not be going back. Grace from Courtice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This little 46 room hotel is fair and it could be really great with a little upgrading of the rooms.
Small things such as more lighting in the bathroom and bedroom, an extra waste basket (only one small one in the bathroom). Beds were comfortable and clean and the location is perfect for restaurants and the Byward market is very close by. Easy to walk to the House of Parliament.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

I booked a room for three nights for a business trip because of the location. While the staff were kind and accomodating, the place is poorly maintained: pipes sticking out of walls, windows poorly installed so that cold air leaks in. No part of the building has seen a coat of paint in at least 10 years. There are no in-room sources of information - rates, check out time, emergency exits. The final straw for me was the "clean" bath towel that smelled like cooking oil.

Room Tip: Take a room on the back of the inn - which will be quieter. Rooms on the ground floor may have an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanefromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

The location was the only plus for us;otherwise we found the room sparse (no carpet on the floor), no iron and ironing board and the light in the bathroom made it almost impossible to apply make-up and, for my husband, to shave. We had difficulty getting hand towels even after requesting them--there seemed to be a shortage. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 66 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Les Suites Hotel Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ByWard Blue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ByWard Blue Inn

Property: ByWard Blue Inn
Address: 157 Clarence St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ByWard Blue Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ByWard Blue Inn is the only hotel in Ottawa`s favorite gathering place for cafes, galleries, museums, restaurants, shopping and the ByWard Market. This charming Inn offers to business or pleasure travelers great room rates in a fantastic location. Queen or Twin Bed rooms feature private balconies, ensuite bathrooms, climate control, Internet, Cable TV and complimentary breakfast. All major attractions are within a 5 -15 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your ByWard Blue Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byward Blue Hotel Ottawa
ByWard Blue Inn Ottawa, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing